Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M47993EST. P47993EST. I47993EST. V47993

Mason Hills LLC

USDA-inspected very small cattle slaughter and meat processing plant in Grand Bay, Alabama.

11652-A Wheatcroft Rd N, Grand Bay, Alabama 36541 · Mobile County

masonhillsfarm.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptHalalKosher

At a glance

  • ·Grant of inspection on file dated July 10, 2023
  • ·Cattle slaughter reported under inspection, under 1,000 head per year
  • ·Custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales both reported
  • ·Halal and kosher slaughter both reported to FSIS
  • ·Farm website lists beef and pork in an online shop

About Mason Hills LLC

Mason Hills LLC is a USDA-inspected establishment at 11652-A Wheatcroft Rd N in Grand Bay, Alabama, in Mobile County. It holds establishment numbers M47993, P47993, I47993 and V47993, with a grant of inspection on file dated July 10, 2023. FSIS lists its activities as meat slaughter, meat processing, poultry processing, identification of meat and poultry, and imported product. FSIS classifies the plant as very small.

Cattle are the species reported slaughtered under inspection, and the plant falls in FSIS slaughter volume category 1, meaning under 1,000 head per year. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, as well as retail-exempt sales. Halal slaughter and kosher slaughter are both reported to FSIS.

The website on file, masonhillsfarm.com, presents Mason Hills Farm as a family farm in Grand Bay along the Alabama Gulf Coast, with an online shop organized into beef and pork sections and a stated focus on pasture-raised, all-natural beef. A Facebook listing associated with the farm mentions local delivery within 50 miles. The fetched website pages returned mostly page templates and styling code, so specific service terms, pricing, scheduling, cut and wrap details and hours are not on file beyond what is described here.

Services

  • Cattle slaughter under federal inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry processing
  • Identification of meat and poultry
  • Imported product handling
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Halal slaughter
  • Kosher slaughter

Species under inspection

beef cattle

Products and retail

  • Beef
  • Pork

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record shows cattle as the species slaughtered under inspection, with a volume category of under 1,000 head per year and a very small size class, so scheduling capacity is likely limited. The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it will process animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it also reports halal and kosher slaughter. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, hanging weight fees, kill day schedules and cut and wrap options are not stated in the sources on file. Farmers should call (251) 865-7748 to confirm species accepted and current availability, as listing status does not indicate the plant is accepting work.

Mason Hills LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, and the Mason Hills Farm website runs an online shop with beef and pork categories. Search results describe the operation as a family farm in Grand Bay selling pasture-raised, all-natural beef to Grand Bay and Mobile County, and a Facebook listing associated with the farm mentions local delivery within 50 miles. Bundle contents, halves and quarters, shipping and pickup arrangements are not stated in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Mason Hills LLC

What species does Mason Hills LLC slaughter?
Cattle are the only species reported slaughtered under inspection in the federal record. The plant is also listed for poultry processing and identification of poultry, but poultry slaughter is not reported.
Can I bring my own animal for processing?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale. Booking steps, minimums and fees are not stated in the sources on file, so call (251) 865-7748 to confirm.
Is halal or kosher slaughter available?
Both halal slaughter and kosher slaughter are reported to FSIS. Details on which days or under whose certification are not stated in the sources on file.
Can households buy meat directly?
Retail-exempt sales are reported to FSIS, and the Mason Hills Farm website operates an online shop with beef and pork sections. A Facebook listing associated with the farm mentions local delivery within 50 miles. Retail hours are not stated in the sources on file.

Federal record

Activities
Identification - Meat; Identification - Poultry; Imported Product; Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing
Grant on file
July 10, 2023
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.masonhillsfarm.com/, https://www.masonhillsfarm.com/shop-all) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Grand Bay