Federally inspected establishment
EST. M10620EST. V10620G.E. Hawthorn Meat Company, Inc.
USDA-inspected cattle and hog slaughter and meat processing in Hot Springs, Arkansas.
164 Guy Hawthorn Lane, Hot Springs, Arkansas 71901 · Garland County
At a glance
- ·USDA-inspected slaughter and processing of cattle and hogs, establishment M10620+V10620.
- ·FSIS size class: Very Small, with slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
- ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale.
- ·Reports retail-exempt sales at the Hot Springs location.
- ·Grant of inspection date on file: March 24, 2022.
About G.E. Hawthorn Meat Company, Inc.
G.E. Hawthorn Meat Company, Inc. operates a very small USDA-inspected plant at 164 Guy Hawthorn Lane in Hot Springs, Garland County, Arkansas. The establishment holds numbers M10620 and V10620, with a grant of inspection date on file of March 24, 2022. FSIS lists its activities as meat slaughter and meat processing, with cattle and hogs reported as the species slaughtered under inspection.
The federal record places the plant in slaughter volume category 1.0, meaning under 1,000 head per year. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, as well as retail-exempt sales.
No website text is on file. The website listed for the establishment is a Facebook page, and search snippets describe sausage supplied to the Pancake Shop in Hot Springs and reference humane livestock processing and artisan butchery. Those secondary descriptions are not confirmed by the plant directly. Details beyond the federal record, including hours, pricing, booking practices, and product lists, are not yet on file.
This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.
Services
- Cattle slaughter under USDA inspection
- Hog slaughter under USDA inspection
- Meat processing
- Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animals owned by the customer
- Retail-exempt sales
Species under inspection
Products and retail
- Sausage (referenced in secondary listings)
For farmers and ranchers
The plant is listed with FSIS for both meat slaughter and meat processing, and reports cattle and hogs as the species slaughtered under inspection. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, so a producer may bring animals for processing returned in packages marked Not for Sale for the owner's own use. FSIS classifies the operation as very small, with slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year, so scheduling capacity is limited. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources on file. Farmers should contact the plant at (501) 762-2661 to confirm availability, as listed.
G.E. Hawthorn Meat Company, Inc. reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.
For households
The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which indicates meat sold directly to consumers at the premises. Secondary directory listings describe it as a butcher shop, and one snippet refers to its sausage being served at the Pancake Shop in Hot Springs. Retail hours, halves and quarters, bundles, shipping, and online ordering are not stated in the sources on file. Households should call (501) 762-2661 to confirm what is available for purchase.
If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.
Questions about G.E. Hawthorn Meat Company, Inc.
What animals does this plant slaughter under inspection?
Can a farmer bring their own animals for processing?
Can households buy meat directly?
What are the hours?
Federal record
- Activities
- Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
- Grant on file
- March 24, 2022
- Size class
- Very Small
- Slaughter volume
- Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)
Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.
Other USDA plants near Hot Springs
- Wayne Farms LLC44 mi
Danville · Poultry
- Tyson Foods, Inc51 mi
Dardanelle · Poultry
- Cypress Valley Meat Company52 mi
Pottsville · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb, Poultry · custom-exempt
- Tyson Foods, Inc.55 mi
Pine Bluff · Poultry
- Tyson Foods, Inc.62 mi
Nashville · Poultry
- Tyson Foods, Inc.63 mi
Hope · Poultry