Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M27236EST. V27236

Sunnyside Meats, Inc.

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing for beef, hog, lamb, and goat in Durango, Colorado.

253 County Road 216, Durango, Colorado 81303 · La Plata County

sunnysidemeats.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptAnimal Welfare Approved, inspected annually per the website

At a glance

  • ·USDA-inspected slaughter of cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats, plus voluntary rabbit slaughter and processing.
  • ·Custom-exempt (Not For Sale) processing and retail-exempt sales both reported to FSIS.
  • ·Sausage making, curing, and smokehouse services listed on the website.
  • ·Animal Welfare Approved certification for humane handling and holding areas, per the website.
  • ·Very small plant with a reported slaughter volume of under 1,000 head per year.

About Sunnyside Meats, Inc.

Sunnyside Meats, Inc. operates at 253 County Road 216 in Durango, La Plata County, Colorado, under USDA establishment numbers M27236 and V27236. The federal record lists meat processing, meat slaughter, and voluntary processing and slaughter for meat and rabbit, with a grant of inspection date on file of December 16, 2020. FSIS classifies the plant as very small, and its reported slaughter volume category is under 1,000 head per year. Species reported slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.

The company website describes the business as Southwest Colorado's USDA inspected livestock processing facility, family owned since 2002, serving ranchers throughout the Four Corners region including southwestern Colorado, northern New Mexico, and Arizona. Listed services are USDA inspected processing, Not For Sale processing, and sausage making, curing, and smokehouse work. Under USDA inspection the site names beef, hog, lamb, and goat. The site states the facility is inspected annually by Animal Welfare Approved, an independent accredited program, and is certified for humane livestock handling techniques and for its livestock receiving and holding accommodations.

The website references processing forms that can be filled out online, online harvest appointment scheduling, posted processing prices for 2026, policy documents dated July 30, 2024, a storage fee document, and a deposit agreement to be downloaded, signed, and returned to the office. A Local Producers page names East Pines Beef of Cortez, Colorado, and Windrift Farms pork of the Uncompahgre Valley as partner producers, and states that meats from local producers are available at wholesale prices from the packing house. Details beyond what is stated here are not on file.

Services

  • USDA inspected slaughter and processing
  • Custom-exempt (Not For Sale) processing
  • Voluntary slaughter and processing, including rabbit
  • Sausage making
  • Curing and smokehouse
  • Online processing forms and harvest appointment scheduling

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogssowsroaster pigssheeplambsgoats

Products and retail

  • Beef
  • Pork
  • Lamb
  • Goat

Hours as listed

Mon-Fri 8am-5pm, as listed on the website.

For farmers and ranchers

The plant is set up for producers hauling cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, or goats, and reports both USDA-inspected slaughter for resale and custom-exempt slaughter where the customer owns the animal and packages are marked Not for Sale. The website says harvest appointments are scheduled online and processing forms can be completed online. It also posts processing prices for 2026, new policies dated July 30, 2024, a storage fee document, and a deposit agreement that must be downloaded, signed, and returned to the office. Specific minimums, lead times, and fee amounts are not stated in the material on file. FSIS lists the plant as very small with a slaughter volume category of under 1,000 head per year, so producers should confirm capacity directly.

Sunnyside Meats, Inc. reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, and the website states that a variety of meats from local producer partners is available at wholesale prices from the packing house, referring buyers to a Wholesale and Retail page. Named producer partners include East Pines Beef of Cortez, Colorado, and Windrift Farms pork. Halves and quarters, bundles, delivery, shipping, and online ordering are not described in the sources on file. Note that Sunnyside Farms Market, a separate storefront on Escalante Drive in Durango, appears in search results and is not the same address as this processing facility.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Sunnyside Meats, Inc.

What species can be slaughtered here under inspection?
Cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats are reported to FSIS as slaughtered under inspection. The federal record also lists voluntary slaughter and processing for rabbit. The website names USDA beef, hog, lamb, and goat.
Can I bring my own animal for my freezer?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. The website lists Not For Sale Processing among its services. Availability of appointments is not stated.
How do I book a harvest date?
The website says harvest appointments can be scheduled online and processing forms can be filled out online, and that a signed deposit agreement is returned to the office. Lead times, minimums, and deposit amounts are not stated in the sources on file. The listed phone number is (970) 385-0230.
Can households buy meat directly?
The establishment reports retail-exempt sales, and the website states meats from local producer partners are available at wholesale prices from the packing house. Retail hours for a counter, bundles, delivery, or shipping are not stated beyond the posted office hours of Monday to Friday, 8am to 5pm.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Processing - Rabbit; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Rabbit
Grant on file
December 16, 2020
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://sunnysidemeats.com/, https://sunnysidemeats.com/about-us/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Durango