Federally inspected establishment
EST. M47970I’O Processing, Inc.
USDA-inspected cattle slaughter and meat processing in Kailua-Kona on Hawaii Island.
73-4103 Hawaii Belt Road, Kailua – Kona, Hawaii 96740 · Hawaii County
At a glance
- ·Grant of inspection on file with FSIS dated April 28, 2023.
- ·Listed by FSIS for both meat slaughter and meat processing; cattle reported as the inspected slaughter species.
- ·Very small establishment, slaughtering under 1,000 head per year by FSIS volume category.
- ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.
- ·Two phone numbers appear across sources: (808) 938-3522 in the federal record and (808) 785-0770 on the company website.
About I’O Processing, Inc.
I'O Processing, Inc. operates at 73-4103 Hawaii Belt Road in Kailua-Kona, Hawaii County, under USDA FSIS establishment number M47970. The federal record lists the plant for both meat slaughter and meat processing, with cattle reported as the species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS classifies the establishment as very small, and its slaughter volume category is the lowest tier, under 1,000 head per year. The grant of inspection on file is dated April 28, 2023.
In addition to federally inspected work, the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it also reports retail-exempt sales. The phone number in the federal record is (808) 938-3522. A company website found in search results lists a corporate office at the same street address with the phone number (808) 785-0770.
Secondary listings describe the business as a family-owned facility processing locally sourced meat, and a page on the company site states the facility offers ranchers the ability to process livestock on island rather than paying for shipping. Beyond those items and the federal record, no verified website text is on file, so hours, pricing, booking practices, cut and wrap options, and retail details are not yet documented here.
This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.
Services
- USDA-inspected cattle slaughter
- Meat processing
- Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for customer-owned animals
- Retail-exempt sales
Species under inspection
Products and retail
Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.
For farmers and ranchers
The federal record lists I'O Processing for meat slaughter and meat processing with cattle as the inspected species, and the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter for animals owned by the customer, returned in packages marked Not for Sale. A page attributed to the company states the facility offers ranchers the ability to process livestock on island and avoid shipping costs. FSIS places the plant in the smallest slaughter volume category, under 1,000 head per year, so capacity is limited. Booking procedures, lead times, kill day schedules, minimums, hanging weight fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources on file. Ranchers should contact the plant directly at the numbers listed to confirm whether work is being accepted.
I’O Processing, Inc. reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.
For households
The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which allows direct sales of meat to household buyers, and secondary listings describe it as a family-owned facility processing locally sourced meat. Whether a retail counter is staffed, and whether halves, quarters, bundles, delivery, shipping, or online ordering are offered, is not stated in the sources on file.
If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.
Questions about I’O Processing, Inc.
What animals does this plant slaughter under inspection?
Can a rancher bring an animal for custom processing?
Can households buy meat directly?
What are the hours?
Federal record
- Activities
- Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
- Grant on file
- April 28, 2023
- Size class
- Very Small
- Slaughter volume
- Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)
Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.
Other USDA plants near Kailua – Kona
- Hawaii Island Meat Cooperative16 mi
Kealakekua · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb
- Hawaii Beef Producers, LLC45 mi
Paauilo · Cattle
- Hamakua Meat Processors LLC50 mi
Ookala · Cattle, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Kulana Foods, Ltd.58 mi
Hilo · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb
- KIA LLC69 mi
Kula · Elk, deer, yak
- Nakasone Slaughterhouse80 mi
Pukalani · Hogs · custom-exempt