Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M21699EST. P21699EST. V21699

Molokai Livestock Cooperative

USDA-inspected cooperative slaughter and processing plant in Ho'olehua on Molokai, Hawaii.

3355 Maunaloa Highway, Ho'olehua, Hawaii 96729 · Maui County

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·USDA grant of inspection date on file: March 24, 2021.
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and elk or deer under inspection.
  • ·FSIS size class Very Small, with reported slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Offers both USDA-inspected and custom-exempt (Not for Sale) slaughter, and reports retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Located on Molokai at 3355 Maunaloa Highway, Ho'olehua, HI 96729. Phone (808) 567-6994.

About Molokai Livestock Cooperative

Molokai Livestock Cooperative operates a very small USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant at 3355 Maunaloa Highway in Ho'olehua, Hawaii, in Maui County. It holds establishment numbers M21699, P21699 and V21699, with a grant of inspection date on file of March 24, 2021. FSIS lists its activities as meat processing, meat slaughter, voluntary processing of meat and voluntary slaughter of meat.

The plant reports slaughtering cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and elk or deer under inspection. Its FSIS slaughter volume category is 1, meaning under 1,000 head per year. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales.

No website is on file for this establishment. Secondary directory listings repeat the same address and phone number, with one listing giving the address as 3367 Maunaloa Highway, and describe the operation as a cooperative. Details beyond the federal record, including hours, pricing, booking practices, cut and wrap options and retail offerings, are not yet on file.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under USDA inspection
  • Meat processing under USDA inspection
  • Voluntary slaughter and voluntary processing of meat
  • Custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssowssheepdeer and reindeer

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The establishment reports both USDA-inspected slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter, so animals can be handled either for sale into commerce or as customer-owned processing with packages marked Not for Sale. Species reported to FSIS are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and elk or deer. Reported slaughter volume is under 1,000 head per year and the plant is classed by FSIS as very small, so capacity is limited. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill fees and cut and wrap charges are not stated in any source on file. Farmers should call (808) 567-6994 to confirm what work is being taken, as listed.

Molokai Livestock Cooperative reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which allows some direct sales to household customers, but no source on file describes a retail counter, halves or quarters, bundles, online ordering, delivery or shipping. Households interested in buying should contact the plant directly by phone to ask what is available.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Molokai Livestock Cooperative

What animals does this plant slaughter?
The species reported to FSIS are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and elk or deer.
Can I bring my own animal for processing?
The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer and marks the packages Not for Sale. Scheduling terms, fees and minimums are not stated in any source on file.
Can households buy meat directly?
The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, but no source on file describes a retail counter, bundles, delivery or shipping. Contact the plant by phone to ask.
What are the hours and is the plant taking new work?
Hours are not stated in any source on file, and no source indicates current availability. The listing reflects the federal record as listed. Call (808) 567-6994 to confirm.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
March 24, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Ho'olehua