Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M1697EST. P1697

Edgewood Locker Inc.

USDA-inspected slaughter and custom processing in Edgewood, Iowa, with a retail store and shipping.

609 West Union Street, Edgewood, Iowa 52042 · Clayton County

edgewoodlocker.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt slaughter reported to FSISRetail-exempt sales reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·FSIS grant covers meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing; species slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb.
  • ·Slaughter volume category 1, under 1,000 head per year, classified small by FSIS.
  • ·Website describes custom processing of beef, pork, lamb, goat, and deer, including deer season work.
  • ·Blast freezer installed in 2023 for rapid freezing of fresh cuts and ground beef, per the website.
  • ·Retail store plus online pickup ordering and nationwide UPS shipping in coolers with dry ice or ice packs.

About Edgewood Locker Inc.

Edgewood Locker Inc. operates at 609 West Union Street in Edgewood, Iowa, in Clayton County, under USDA establishment numbers M1697 and P1697. The federal record lists meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing, with a grant of inspection date on file of 2024-05-01. FSIS classifies the plant as small and places its slaughter volume in category 1, under 1,000 head per year. Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packaged marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.

The company website describes custom processing of beef, pork, lamb, goat, and deer, and calls itself an eastern Iowa headquarters for deer processing. Note that goat and deer are not among the species listed in the FSIS slaughter record, which covers cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The beef processing page states over 55 years of experience custom processing beef, a recent expansion of the processing facility, and installation of a blast freezer in 2023 to rapidly freeze fresh cuts and ground beef after packaging. Fresh cuts and ground beef are sent out in cardboard trays and processed items in boxes or paper bags. Cutting instructions can be submitted online at any time or finalized by telephone.

A retail store in Edgewood was remodeled to double its square footage and carries fresh beef and pork cuts, bacon, brats, snack sticks, summer sausage, jerky, hot dogs, smoked hams, heat and serve items, cheese, meat rubs, sauces, seasonings, gift boxes, and wines from Eagles Landing Winery, Promise Land Winery, and Cedar Ridge Distillery. Products are also carried at other retail locations mapped on the website, and the plant ships nationally. A Facebook post reproduced on the site refers to the business as family owned and locally owned.

Services

  • USDA-inspected meat slaughter
  • USDA-inspected meat processing
  • Poultry processing (per FSIS activity listing)
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing, packaged Not for Sale
  • Custom beef, pork, lamb, goat, and deer processing
  • Deer processing
  • Retail meat sales
  • Online cutting instruction submission
  • Slaughter date scheduling requests
  • Wholesale ordering and retailer program
  • Fundraising sales
  • Gift boxes and gift certificates
  • Shipping to home via UPS Ground
  • Store pickup ordering
  • Plant tours

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifershogslambs

Products and retail

  • Beef steaks including ribeye, T-bone, porterhouse, New York strip, flank, flat iron, tri-tip, sirloin
  • Beef roasts, brisket, prime rib, short ribs, soup bones, stew meat, ground beef
  • Beef offal including heart, liver, tongue, tail
  • Pork chops, tenderloin, loin roasts, ribs, shoulder roasts, ground pork, rendered lard
  • Bacon varieties including smoked, pepper, Cajun, apple cinnamon, jalapeno, Canadian style, cottage, beef bacon
  • Bratwurst in many flavors
  • Snack sticks including honey pork and beef with cheese
  • Summer sausage and Old World summer sausage salami
  • Beef jerky, Cajun and teriyaki jerky
  • Hot dogs and old fashioned franks
  • Smoked hams, ham steaks, ham hocks, smoked pork chops, dried beef
  • Ring bologna, Polish sausage, ham loaf, meatloaf mix
  • Heat and serve items including BBQ beef, taco meat, roast beef and gravy
  • Cheese, cheese curds, cheese spreads, meat rubs, sauces, seasonings
  • Wines from Eagles Landing Winery, Promise Land Winery, and Cedar Ridge Distillery
  • Gift boxes and gift certificates

Hours as listed

Not stated in the material on file. The website has an hours page and states the store is open year-round on Saturdays and seasonally on Sundays, with hours that change through the seasons.

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning animals owned by the customer are processed and returned in packages marked Not for Sale, and it also holds federal grants for meat slaughter and processing. The website invites farmers to submit a slaughter date scheduling request through an online form and to download an animal info sheet to fill out with their customers' information before drop off, which the site says helps expedite intake. Cutting instructions may be placed by telephone with staff or submitted online at any time through the beef cutting instructions form. The site lists beef, pork, lamb, goat, and deer processing pages, plus processing sheets and product description sheets with pricing linked as PDFs, which are not reproduced here. The beef page cites more than 15 sausage and processed items available on custom beef, a blast freezer installed in 2023, and packaging of fresh cuts and ground beef in cardboard trays rather than customer coolers. Specific minimums, deposits, kill day schedules, and lead times are not stated in the material on file.

Edgewood Locker Inc. reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

A retail store at the Edgewood plant sells fresh beef and pork cuts, bacon, brats, sticks, summer sausage, jerky, hot dogs, smoked and heat and serve items, cheese, seasonings, and wine, with a current retail price list linked on the site. Buyers can order online for store pickup or use the ship to home store, which lists bundles such as the Edgewood's Finest Brat Sampler at 91 dollars, Breakfast Box at 89 dollars, Bacon Lover's Box at 88 dollars, Brat Sampler at 127 dollars, Stick Sampler at 84 dollars, and a 30 dollar gift certificate. The site states that as a USDA inspected plant it can ship throughout the United States, usually by UPS Ground on Mondays in coolers with dry ice or ice packs, with shipping charged in addition to product cost, and asks customers in Arizona, California, Florida, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington to call rather than order online. Products are also stocked at other retail locations shown on a map, with a recommendation to call ahead for hours and availability. Sales of halves and quarters are not described in the material on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Edgewood Locker Inc.

What animals does this plant slaughter under federal inspection?
FSIS records list cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The website also advertises goat and deer processing, which are not reflected in the FSIS slaughter species list.
Can a farmer have their own animal processed here?
Yes, as listed. The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, with packages marked Not for Sale. The website provides a slaughter date scheduling request form, an animal info sheet for farmers, and online or phone cutting instructions. Minimums and lead times are not stated.
Can I buy meat without bringing an animal?
Yes, as listed. There is a retail store in Edgewood, an online store pickup order form, a ship to home store with sampler boxes and gift certificates, and other retail locations that carry Edgewood Locker products.
Does the plant ship, and where?
The website says that as a USDA inspected plant it ships throughout the United States, usually UPS Ground on Mondays in coolers with dry ice or ice packs. Customers in Arizona, California, Florida, Idaho, Oregon, or Washington are asked to call instead of ordering online.
What are the hours and prices?
Exact hours and prices are not reproduced in the material on file. The website states weekend hours year-round on Saturdays and seasonally on Sundays, with seasonal changes, and links to current retail and processing price sheets. Shipped bundle prices range from 84 to 127 dollars as listed.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing
Grant on file
May 1, 2024
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://edgewoodlocker.com/, https://edgewoodlocker.com/edgewood-locker-retail-store/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Edgewood