Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M2530

Moosehead Meats

USDA-inspected slaughter and meat processing plant in Smyrna, Maine, serving Aroostook County farmers.

2664 US Route 2, Smyrna, Maine 04780 · Aroostook County

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Federal establishment number M2530, grant of inspection dated May 20, 2024.
  • ·Both slaughter and processing are listed with FSIS; cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb are the reported species.
  • ·Also reports custom-exempt slaughter, with product packaged Not for Sale.
  • ·FSIS size class Very Small, with annual slaughter volume under 1,000 head.
  • ·No website on file; contact by phone at (207) 757-7028.

About Moosehead Meats

Moosehead Meats is a very small USDA-inspected establishment at 2664 US Route 2 in Smyrna, Maine, in Aroostook County, operating under establishment number M2530. The federal record lists both meat slaughter and meat processing activities, with a grant of inspection dated May 20, 2024. Species reported to FSIS as slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The plant is in the lowest FSIS slaughter volume category, under 1,000 head per year.

The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it handles animals owned by the customer and returns the meat in packages marked Not for Sale. Secondary reporting from October 2024 describes the plant as a custom meat processing operation opened by Amish farmers in Smyrna that processes beef, pork, lamb, and goat, some of it for sale. A 2025 case study describes the plant as established to serve Amish and non-Amish farmers while operating under USDA inspection. Goat is not listed among the species reported to FSIS in the federal record on file.

No website is on file for this establishment, and details beyond the federal record and these secondary mentions are not yet on file. Hours, pricing, scheduling practices, retail sales, and cut and wrap options have not been documented here. Farmers and household buyers should contact the plant directly at (207) 757-7028 to confirm current services and availability.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • USDA-inspected meat slaughter
  • USDA-inspected meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals

Species under inspection

beef cattleheifersbullsdairy cowshogssowssheeplambs

Products and retail

No retail products on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb as species slaughtered under inspection, and the plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter for animals owned by the customer, returned in packages marked Not for Sale. Secondary reporting describes beef, pork, lamb, and goat processing at the site. FSIS classifies the plant as very small with an annual slaughter volume under 1,000 head, so capacity is limited. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources on file. Call (207) 757-7028 to confirm scheduling and species accepted, as listed.

Moosehead Meats reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

Questions about Moosehead Meats

What animals does Moosehead Meats slaughter?
The federal record lists cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb as species slaughtered under inspection. A secondary news report also mentions goat processing, which does not appear in the FSIS species list on file. Confirm directly with the plant.
Can I bring my own animal for custom processing?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer and returns the meat marked Not for Sale. Booking details, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources on file.
Does Moosehead Meats sell meat to the public?
No retail counter, bundles, delivery, or online ordering are documented in the sources on file. A secondary report notes that some of the meat processed there is for sale, but no retail details are confirmed.
What are the hours?
Hours are not stated in any source on file. The listed phone number is (207) 757-7028.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
May 20, 2024
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Smyrna