Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M1173EST. P1173

Big Valley Meats

Very small USDA-inspected poultry slaughter and meat processing plant in Houston, Minnesota, with custom work and retail sales.

16231 County Rd 26, Houston, Minnesota 55943 · Houston County

bigvalleymeats.org

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt processing reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·Federal record lists poultry slaughter, poultry processing, and meat processing, with poultry as the only inspected slaughter species.
  • ·Slaughter volume category 1 under FSIS, meaning fewer than 1,000 head per year, and a Very Small size class.
  • ·Custom pork processing listed at $160 and sheep, lamb, or goat at $150, cut, sealed, and frozen, marked Not for Sale.
  • ·Poultry processing has no stated minimum bird count, but chickens 10 pounds or more are not accepted and birds are chilled only with same day pickup.
  • ·Deer processing is offered with a $175 basic skinning and deboning price, a 12 pound venison minimum for made products, and a stated policy that venison batches are not mixed between customers.

About Big Valley Meats

Big Valley Meats operates at 16231 County Rd 26 in Houston, Houston County, Minnesota, under USDA FSIS establishment numbers M1173 and P1173. The federal record lists meat processing, poultry processing, and poultry slaughter activities, a size class of Very Small, and a grant of inspection date on file of 2025-03-26. Poultry is the only species reported as slaughtered under federal inspection, at a volume category of 1, meaning fewer than 1,000 head per year. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale.

The establishment website describes farm to table beef, pork, and poultry products and states that it offers both custom and USDA poultry processing, with availability by phone. Priced service pages cover poultry and turkey processing, deer processing, and custom pork, lamb or sheep, and goat processing. The pork collection page states that the pigs are locally sourced pasture pigs and that the meat is USDA inspected and vacuum sealed. The site also promotes pasture raised chicken and Thanksgiving turkey orders, and notes that inventory is being changed, with snack sticks and summer sausage listed as coming soon.

Contact numbers on file are (507) 896-3340 from the federal record and 507-313-5752 for Molly, listed on the website for product availability and deer processing questions. Business hours, founding date, and ownership details are not stated in the sources on file.

Services

  • Poultry slaughter under federal inspection
  • Poultry processing
  • Meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing, packages marked Not for Sale
  • Custom poultry processing, including non-inspected birds
  • Turkey processing
  • Deer and venison processing, including deboning, grinding, and smoked products
  • Custom pork processing, cut, sealed, and frozen
  • Custom sheep, lamb, and goat processing
  • On farm service within and beyond 50 miles of Houston
  • Vacuum sealing
  • Retail sales through an online store
  • Shipping

Species under inspection

chickensturkeys

Products and retail

  • Ground beef and hamburger patties
  • Beef steaks including strip, rib, sirloin, chuck, flat iron, round eye, tenderized, and ribeye
  • Beef chuck roast, boneless arm roast, brisket, shaved prime rib, stew meat, soup bones
  • Pork chops, pork steak, pork sirloin and sirloin roast, pork tenderloin, side pork, fresh ham steaks, St. Louis style ribs
  • Bacon, bratwurst, cheddar brats, breakfast links
  • Leaf lard, pork fat, pork liver
  • Half pork bundle
  • Pasture raised chicken and turkey
  • Venison ring bologna, hot dogs, summer sausage, snack sticks, brats, breakfast sausage
  • Snack sticks and summer sausage listed as coming soon

For farmers and ranchers

The website lists custom processing prices labeled Not for Sale. Pork processing is $160, processed, cut, sealed, and frozen, with vacuum sealing at two per package. Sheep, lamb, and goats are $150 processed, cut, sealed, and frozen. Listed extras include smoked products at $1.25 per pound, brats at $1.89 per pound, seasoned pork at $1.89 per pound, and boneless hams and chops for $25 extra. On farm service is $75 per location within 50 miles of Houston, with $0.25 per mile beyond 50 miles. For poultry, the site states there is no minimum number of birds, that chickens 10 pounds or more will not be accepted, that USDA inspected birds are $7.25 each, non-inspected broilers, stew hens, and roosters are $6 each, ornamental birds are $10 each, and any bird with a dressed weight under 4.5 pounds is $8, excluding ornamental birds. Birds are cleaned, sealed, and labeled, are chilled only, and must be picked up the same day. Turkey processing is $1 per pound dressed weight. Giblet charges are listed separately, and the site notes that USDA inspected uncleaned gizzards are dyed black. Booking terms and scheduling lead times are not stated.

Big Valley Meats reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

Big Valley Meats sells beef, pork, and poultry through an online store, with free shipping on orders of $200 or more. Listed beef items include ground beef at $7.75, hamburger patties at $9.50, and various steaks and roasts up to $47.50 in the beef collection, with most items shown out of stock at the time the site was fetched. Pork items include chops, steaks, sirloin, leaf lard, and pork fat, plus a half pork bundle listed at $400. The site states that inventory is being changed, that most of the inventory is gone, and asks customers to reach out about products and availability, with a phone number for Molly at 507-313-5752. Pasture raised chicken and Thanksgiving turkey orders are mentioned. A retail storefront, pickup location details, and hours are not stated.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Big Valley Meats

What animals can be slaughtered here under inspection?
The federal record reports poultry as the only species slaughtered under federal inspection. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packaged Not for Sale. The website lists custom processing for pork, sheep, lamb, goat, and deer.
Where is deer dropped off, and what does it cost?
The website deer page states deer are accepted at the Money Creek location only, whole or deboned, with basic skinning and deboning at $175, basic plus at $200, and a $125 nonrefundable deposit required at drop off. A Facebook search snippet references deer at the Houston location, so callers should confirm the drop off point. The site lists CDW testing as available and accepts whole registered donation deer for local food shelves.
Can I buy meat directly as a household?
Yes as listed. The website sells beef, pork, and poultry online, with free shipping on orders of $200 or more and a half pork bundle listed at $400. The site notes most inventory is gone during a product change and asks customers to call about availability.
What are the hours and who owns the plant?
Hours, founding date, and ownership are not stated in the federal record or the website text on file. Listed phone numbers are (507) 896-3340 and 507-313-5752.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter
Grant on file
March 26, 2025
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://bigvalleymeats.org/, https://bigvalleymeats.org/collections/beef) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Houston