Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M3386

Farmers Union Processing & Meats

Custom-exempt and USDA-inspected slaughter and processing for cattle, hogs, and sheep in Staples, Minnesota.

901 Praire Ave NW, Staples, Minnesota 56479 · Wadena County

farmersunionmeats.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt slaughter reported to FSISRetail-exempt sales reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·FSIS establishment M3386, small size class, listed for both meat slaughter and meat processing
  • ·Facility of more than 10,000 square feet handling cattle, hogs, and sheep
  • ·Published per head slaughter fees and per pound processing and grinding fees for beef, pork, and sheep
  • ·Online and printable beef, pork, and lamb cutting order forms
  • ·The website says the plant offers custom-exempt and USDA-inspected processing and is working toward USDA certification

About Farmers Union Processing & Meats

Farmers Union Processing + Meats operates at 901 Praire Ave NW in Staples, Wadena County, Minnesota, under USDA FSIS establishment number M3386. The federal record lists the plant for meat slaughter and meat processing, classifies it as a small establishment, and shows a grant of inspection date on file of July 27, 2026. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.

The website describes a facility of more than 10,000 square feet serving cattle, hog, and sheep producers, with slaughter, fabrication, portion cutting, and grinding in one location. It states the plant accepts livestock from throughout the state of Minnesota for custom-exempt processing, and describes itself as offering both custom-exempt and USDA-inspected processing while working toward USDA certification. Ground was broken in June 2025, and news coverage reports the facility opened for business June 2, with a grand opening held Tuesday, August 18.

The site names project partners including the Minnesota State Agricultural Centers of Excellence, Region 5 Development Commission, the United States Economic Development Administration, USDA Agricultural Marketing Service, the Agricultural Utilization Research Institute, Happy Dancing Turtle, the Minnesota Department of Agriculture, Central Telephone Company, the Small Business Development Center, and Cass County. Hours of operation are not stated in the sources on file.

Services

  • Custom-exempt slaughter
  • USDA-inspected processing as described by the plant
  • Beef, pork, and lamb slaughter
  • Fabrication
  • Portion cutting
  • Grinding
  • Online and downloadable cutting order forms
  • Retail-exempt sales as reported to FSIS

Products and retail

  • Beef steaks including ribeye, strip loin, sirloin, tenderloin, chuck eye, and round
  • Beef roasts, brisket, and sirloin tip
  • Ground beef in 1 lb, 5 lb, bulk, and patties
  • Beef value added items including marrow bones, soup bones, short ribs, tri-tip, hanger, skirt, flank, fajita, stir fry, stew, steak tips, heart, liver, kidney, tongue, oxtail, and suet
  • Pork Boston butt, picnic, loin chops, tenderloin, ribs including baby back, spare, and St. Louis style
  • Bone-in ham roasts and steaks
  • Pork belly, side pork uncured, shanks, and ground pork
  • Lamb shoulder, leg, loin chops, rib chops, sirloin, shanks, spareribs, riblets, stew, neck slices, and ground lamb

For farmers and ranchers

The plant states it accepts livestock from throughout Minnesota for custom-exempt processing of cattle, hogs, and sheep, with slaughter, fabrication, portion cutting, and grinding available at one location. Posted pricing lists a beef slaughter fee of $65 per head, beef processing at $0.92 per pound, and beef grinding at $0.40 per pound; pork slaughter at $45 per head, pork processing at $0.92 per pound, and pork grinding at $0.55 per pound; and a sheep slaughter fee of $125 per head. Beef, pork, and lamb cutting order forms can be submitted online or downloaded, filled out, and dropped off at livestock delivery. The site directs producers to contact the facility about scheduling. Head minimums, lead times, and hanging weight billing details beyond the posted per pound and per head fees are not stated in the sources on file.

Farmers Union Processing & Meats reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The sources describe the business primarily as custom-exempt processing for livestock owners, with packages from custom work marked Not for Sale under federal rules. The federal record also shows the establishment reports retail-exempt sales. The sources on file do not state retail counter hours, halves or quarters for sale, bundles, delivery, or shipping.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Farmers Union Processing & Meats

What species does this plant handle?
The website states the facility serves cattle, hog, and sheep producers, and it publishes beef, pork, and lamb cutting order forms. Species detail is not reported to FSIS in the federal record.
What does processing cost?
The website lists beef at a $65 per head slaughter fee, $0.92 per pound processing, and $0.40 per pound grinding; pork at $45 per head slaughter, $0.92 per pound processing, and $0.55 per pound grinding; and sheep at a $125 per head slaughter fee. Custom options may carry additional charges.
Can a household buy meat directly here?
The federal record shows the establishment reports retail-exempt sales, but the sources on file do not describe a retail counter, hours, bundles, halves or quarters, delivery, or shipping. Meat from custom-exempt work is marked Not for Sale and belongs to the animal's owner.
Is the plant open and accepting livestock?
As listed, the site says it is accepting livestock from throughout Minnesota for custom-exempt processing and directs producers to contact the facility about scheduling. Current capacity, booking windows, and hours are not stated in the sources on file.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
July 27, 2026
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Small establishment (FSIS size class)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.farmersunionmeats.com/, https://mfu.org/https-mfu-org-mfu-foundation-meat-processing-staples/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Staples