Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M47273EST. V47273

Prairie Meats, Inc.

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Olivia, Minnesota, known for smoked products and custom work.

2505 W. Lincoln Ave, Olivia, Minnesota 56277 · Renville County

prairiemeatsinc.net

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptHalal

At a glance

  • ·Federally inspected for both slaughter and processing, with a grant of inspection dated October 16, 2021.
  • ·Reports slaughter of cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison, plus halal slaughter, to FSIS.
  • ·Handles custom-exempt work on customer-owned animals, returned marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Website identifies smoked products, custom processing, cuts of meat, and a rub and seasoning line as its focus.
  • ·Company website was under construction at the time of fetch, so hours, prices, and ordering details are not on file.

About Prairie Meats, Inc.

Prairie Meats, Inc. operates a federally inspected meat plant at 2505 W. Lincoln Ave in Olivia, Renville County, Minnesota. The establishment holds FSIS establishment numbers M47273 and V47273, with a grant of inspection dated October 16, 2021. FSIS lists it under meat processing, meat slaughter, and voluntary processing and slaughter of meat, and classifies it as Very Small. The plant reports slaughtering cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison under inspection, and reports halal slaughter. Its FSIS slaughter volume category is 2.0.

According to the company website, the family's roots go back to the early 1900s, when a grandfather fattened beef cattle in the Midwest on prairie grasses and grains along the Redwood River. The owners purchased the business formerly known as Doug's Danube Locker, which the site says served the community with meats, custom processing, and customer service for over 30 years, and then built the federally inspected plant in Olivia. The website states the business is most recognized for smoked products, custom processing, and cuts of meat, and that it also produces a rub and seasoning line. It describes partnerships with restaurants, gas stations, and grocery stores.

The website was under construction at the time of fetch, with a new site announced as coming soon. It lists shipping and return policies and social media accounts under the handle @prairiemeatsinc. Hours, pricing, booking procedures, and scheduling details are not stated in the sources on file. A third-party business directory listing describes the operation as a retail store and custom butchering business.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing of customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Halal slaughter as reported to FSIS
  • Voluntary processing and voluntary slaughter of meat
  • Smoking and seasoning of meat products
  • Wholesale supply to restaurants, gas stations, and grocery stores as described on the website

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowscalveshogssheeplambsbison

Products and retail

  • Smoked meats
  • Seasoned meat products
  • Cuts of beef, pork, lamb, and bison
  • Rubs and seasonings
  • Beef sticks (referenced in a company social media snippet)

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports to FSIS that it slaughters cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison under inspection, and that it also performs custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are returned in packages marked Not for Sale. Halal slaughter is reported to FSIS. The website says the business is recognized for custom processing and carries that work forward from the former Doug's Danube Locker. Booking windows, lead times, minimums, hanging weight fees, cut and wrap charges, and kill days are not stated in the sources on file. Farmers would need to contact the plant at (320) 523-7060 to confirm scheduling and terms as listed.

Prairie Meats, Inc. reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

A third-party business directory describes Prairie Meats as a retail store and custom butchering operation, and the plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. The website emphasizes smoked products, seasoned products, cuts of meat, and a rub and seasoning line, and notes that products are also carried by partnering restaurants, gas stations, and grocery stores. Shipping and return policy pages exist on the site, though the site was under construction when fetched and the policy details, an online store, and any half or quarter bundles are not described in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Prairie Meats, Inc.

What species does Prairie Meats slaughter?
The establishment reports cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison to FSIS as species slaughtered under inspection.
Can a farmer bring in an animal for personal use?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer and returns packages marked Not for Sale. Scheduling, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources on file.
Is halal slaughter available?
The establishment reports halal slaughter to FSIS. Details on certifying body or which species are handled halal are not stated in the sources on file.
Is there a retail counter, and what are the hours?
FSIS records show retail-exempt sales, and a third-party directory lists the business as a retail store and custom butchering operation. Hours are not stated in the sources on file. The phone number listed is (320) 523-7060.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
October 16, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Small volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.prairiemeatsinc.net/, https://www.prairiemeatsinc.net/About-Us.php) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Olivia