Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M47439EST. P47439

Indian Creek Meats

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant for cattle and hogs in Poplar Bluff, Missouri.

337 River Walk Ln, Poplar Bluff, Missouri 63901 · Butler County

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Federally inspected for meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing
  • ·Reports slaughtering cattle and hogs under inspection
  • ·Custom-exempt slaughter available for customer-owned animals, packages marked Not for Sale
  • ·Very small establishment, under 1,000 head slaughtered per year
  • ·No website on file; details beyond the federal record are limited

About Indian Creek Meats

Indian Creek Meats operates at 337 River Walk Ln in Poplar Bluff, Missouri, in Butler County. The plant holds federal establishment numbers M47439 and P47439 and is listed with USDA FSIS for meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing. The grant of inspection on file is dated January 10, 2022. FSIS classifies the establishment as very small.

Under inspection, the plant reports slaughtering cattle and hogs. Its FSIS slaughter volume category is 1, meaning under 1,000 head per year. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales.

No website is on file for this establishment. A Facebook page associated with the business references meatballs made with local beef and pork. Details beyond the federal record, including hours, pricing, booking practice, ownership, and cut and wrap options, are not yet on file.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Poultry processing under federal inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for customer-owned animals
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssows

Products and retail

  • Meatballs made with local beef and pork, as referenced on the establishment's Facebook page

For farmers and ranchers

The plant is listed with FSIS for meat slaughter and meat processing and reports slaughtering cattle and hogs under inspection. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, so animals owned by a producer or household can be processed with packages marked Not for Sale. Reported slaughter volume is under 1,000 head per year, consistent with a very small establishment. Booking practice, scheduling lead times, minimums, kill and cut fees, hanging weight pricing, and cut and wrap options are not stated in the sources on file. Farmers should contact the plant at (573) 785-9849 to confirm species accepted and current availability.

Indian Creek Meats reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which indicates some direct sales activity, and a Facebook page associated with the business references meatballs made with local beef and pork. Whether a retail counter is open to walk-in customers, and whether halves, quarters, bundles, delivery, shipping, or online ordering are offered, is not stated in the sources on file. Households should call (573) 785-9849 to confirm what is available.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Indian Creek Meats

What animals does Indian Creek Meats slaughter?
The establishment reports cattle and hogs slaughtered under federal inspection. It is also listed for poultry processing, though poultry slaughter is not among the species reported.
Can I bring my own animal for processing?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Scheduling details, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources on file.
Can households buy meat directly?
The establishment reports retail-exempt sales, and a Facebook page associated with the business references beef and pork meatballs. Whether a retail counter is open to the public is not stated in the sources on file.
What are the hours?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file. The listed phone number is (573) 785-9849.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing
Grant on file
January 10, 2022
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Poplar Bluff