Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M51306EST. V51306

Powell Meat Company LLC

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plus a retail meat counter in Clinton, Missouri.

117 W Rives Rd, Clinton, Missouri 64735 · Henry County

powellmeatcompany.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptHACCP and SSOP food-safety programs, per the website

At a glance

  • ·FSIS grant of inspection on file since August 23, 2021; very small size class.
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats under inspection; voluntary rabbit slaughter and processing also listed.
  • ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Website states a USDA inspector is on site five days a week.
  • ·Retail counter, catering, special orders, and curbside pickup described on the website.

About Powell Meat Company LLC

Powell Meat Company LLC operates at 117 W Rives Rd in Clinton, Missouri, in Henry County, under USDA FSIS establishment numbers M51306 and V51306. The federal record lists meat slaughter and meat processing along with voluntary processing and voluntary slaughter for meat and for rabbit. Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats. FSIS classes the plant as very small, with a slaughter volume category of under 1,000 head per year, and shows a grant of inspection date of August 23, 2021. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packaged marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.

The company website describes a USDA-certified facility offering slaughtering services for beef, hogs, lamb, and goats, and states that a USDA inspector is on site five days a week. The About page says the business was founded in Clinton in 2017 and expanded in 2020 to add processing rooms, and describes locally owned and operated ownership along with HACCP, SSOP, and USDA inspection protocols. The site says the business serves home cooks, restaurateurs, and farmers seeking custom processing. Customer reviews posted on the site also mention deer processing, though the federal record covers meat and rabbit activities only.

Alongside processing, the site describes a retail butcher counter with fresh steaks, specialty burgers, handcrafted sausages, snack sticks, jerky, and brats, plus catering, special orders such as prime rib roasts, curbside pickup, and seafood dates announced on its Facebook page. Pricing is not published; the site directs buyers to call for current prices.

Services

  • USDA-inspected slaughter (cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, goats)
  • Meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animal owners
  • Voluntary processing and voluntary slaughter, meat and rabbit
  • Retail meat counter
  • Downloadable, customizable cut sheets
  • Catering
  • Special orders
  • Curbside pickup with phone or online payment

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssowsroaster pigslambsgoats

Products and retail

  • Fresh cut steaks
  • Specialty burgers
  • Handcrafted sausages
  • Brats
  • Snack sticks
  • Jerky
  • Beef, pork, and lamb
  • Prime rib roast (special order)
  • Seafood (as announced on Facebook)
  • Flavors including apple gouda, jalapeno cheddar, and philly

Hours as listed

The Our Hours page lists Spring Hours of Monday through Saturday 8am to 6pm and Sunday 10am to 5pm. The Contact Us page lists different hours: M-T 8am to 6pm, F 8am to 8pm, Sat 8am to 5pm, Sunday 10am to 4pm. Buyers should confirm by phone.

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports USDA-inspected slaughter of cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats to FSIS, and also reports custom-exempt slaughter in which the customer owns the animals and packages are marked Not for Sale. The website states a USDA inspector is on site five days a week and invites farmers seeking custom processing to schedule by phone at 660-383-9001 or by text at 660-290-2899, with customizable cut sheets available for download from its Forms page. Booking lead times, minimums, kill fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources. FSIS lists the plant in the smallest slaughter volume category, under 1,000 head per year.

Powell Meat Company LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website describes a retail butcher counter with fresh steaks, specialty burgers, sausages, snack sticks, jerky, and brats in a range of flavors, and notes seafood availability announced through its Facebook page. Special orders such as prime rib roasts can be placed for pickup on a chosen day, and curbside service is offered with payment online or by phone. Catering for events such as weddings and parties is also listed. The site says to call for current pricing on any item. Halves and quarters, delivery, and shipping are not mentioned in the sources.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Powell Meat Company LLC

Can I bring my own animal for processing?
The federal record shows the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning animals owned by the customer are processed and packaged marked Not for Sale. The website invites farmers seeking custom processing to call 660-383-9001 or text 660-290-2899 and to download cut sheets from its Forms page. Whether it is currently accepting bookings is not stated.
What species are slaughtered here?
Cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats are reported to FSIS as slaughtered under inspection, and voluntary slaughter and processing of rabbit is also listed. The website names beef, hogs, lamb, and goats. Customer reviews on the site mention deer processing, but the sources do not confirm wild game handling as a listed service.
Are prices or scheduling fees published?
No. The website says to call for current pricing on any item, and no processing fees, minimums, or lead times are stated in the sources.
What are the hours?
The two website pages differ. The Our Hours page lists Monday through Saturday 8am to 6pm and Sunday 10am to 5pm as spring hours, while the Contact Us page lists M-T 8am to 6pm, F 8am to 8pm, Sat 8am to 5pm, and Sunday 10am to 4pm. Calling ahead is advised.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Processing - Rabbit; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Rabbit
Grant on file
August 23, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.powellmeatcompany.com/, https://www.powellmeatcompany.com/our-hours) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Clinton