Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M5777A

University of Missouri Meat Market

Doing business as Mizzou Meat Market

Student-run, USDA-inspected butcher shop and slaughter plant at the University of Missouri in Columbia.

1406 East Rollins Street, Columbia, Missouri 65211 · Boone County

mizzoumeatmarket.wordpress.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt processing reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·Federally inspected under establishment number M5777A, with a grant of inspection dated June 22, 2020.
  • ·Reports slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb, at under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Student-run teaching facility of the University of Missouri College of Agriculture, Food, and Natural Resources.
  • ·Published per-pound retail price lists for beef and pork, plus holiday pre-orders for smoked turkey, ham, and prime rib.
  • ·Website states bundle orders are not being accepted and quarter beef bundles are unavailable at this time.

About University of Missouri Meat Market

The University of Missouri Meat Market, doing business as Mizzou Meat Market, holds federal establishment number M5777A and is listed with USDA FSIS at 1406 East Rollins Street, Columbia, Missouri, in Boone County. FSIS records list both meat slaughter and meat processing activities, a Very Small size class, and a grant of inspection dated June 22, 2020. The plant reports slaughtering cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection, with a reported slaughter volume category of under 1,000 head per year. It also reports custom-exempt processing.

The market's website describes it as a fully functional USDA-inspected facility operated by students of the College of Agriculture, Food, and Natural Resources, with the stated purpose of giving students hands-on experience in producing cuts and in running a business. The site lists harvest, processing, and retail sales as its services. Contact information on the site varies by page: the home and contact pages give 147 Eckles Hall, Columbia, MO 65211, while the About page lists 1102 Ashland Road, Columbia, MO 65201. The FSIS address on file is 1406 East Rollins Street. The phone number, (573) 882-0591, is the same in the federal record and on the website.

Retail price lists on the site cover a wide range of beef and pork items, and the site notes that availability and pricing can vary and asks customers to call about current stock. A bundles page states that bundle orders are not being accepted and that quarter beef bundles are unavailable, while also describing the contents of a quarter beef bundle and a half hog bundle. Holiday pre-order forms are shown for smoked turkey, smoked ham, green ham, and prime rib. Beyond these details, no further information is on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Custom-exempt processing
  • Custom processing of customer-owned beef and pork
  • Retail meat sales
  • Smoking and cured products (smoked turkey, smoked ham)
  • Sausage and bratwurst making

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogslambs

Products and retail

  • Beef steaks: tenderloin, porterhouse, T-bone, strip, ribeye, flat iron, top sirloin, tip, eye of round, bottom round, top round, flank, skirt, cubed, sirloin tip filet
  • Beef roasts: tenderloin, strip loin, ribeye roll, sirloin, brisket, eye of round, top and bottom round, boneless chuck, tip, arm, tri-tip, shoulder tender, flat iron
  • Ground beef, lean ground beef, ground beef patties, stew meat, kabob meat
  • Beef offal and specialty items: liver, tongue, heart, oxtail, sweetbread, hanging tender, cheek meat, tendons, soup bones, short ribs, back ribs, shank
  • Beef fat, raw beef bones, beef tallow
  • Pork chops: boneless, bone-in, sirloin, shoulder steak, cutlets
  • Pork roasts: tenderloin, boneless loin, boneless sirloin, Boston butt
  • Spareribs, baby back ribs, rib ends
  • Bratwurst including Tiger Tail with cheese, Spicy Tiger Tail with cheese and jalapeno, regular, apple, and Italian sausage bratwurst
  • Chorizo, pork sausage, pork sausage with sage, Italian sausage chub
  • Ground pork, ground pork patties, ground pork patties with bacon
  • Fresh pork belly, sliced pork side
  • Smoked whole turkey, whole smoked ham, green ham, prime rib roast

Hours as listed

The website gives conflicting hours: the home page lists store hours of Wednesday and Friday, 12:00 PM to 5:00 PM, while the About page lists Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday, 11:00 AM to 6:00 PM. Buyers should call to confirm.

For farmers and ranchers

The website invites customers wanting to process their own beef or pork to make contact through a form, and provides beef, pork, and lamb cut sheets for customers who already have a processing date set. It states that all bundles, special orders, and custom processing must be paid for upon pick up. The federal record shows slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection, custom-exempt processing, and a slaughter volume of under 1,000 head per year, so capacity is small. Booking lead times, drop-off scheduling, minimums, kill fees, and cut and wrap rates are not stated in the sources.

University of Missouri Meat Market reports custom-exempt processing to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The shop sells retail beef and pork by the pound, with published per-pound price lists for steaks, roasts, ground products, offal, ribs, chops, sausages, and bratwurst. The site notes that availability and pricing can vary and asks buyers to call (573) 882-0591 about current stock. Holiday pre-order forms are posted for smoked turkey, smoked ham, green ham, and prime rib, with names taken on waiting lists. The bundles page states that bundle orders are not being accepted and that quarter beef bundles are unavailable at this time, though it describes the contents of a quarter beef bundle and a half hog bundle. Delivery and shipping are not mentioned.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about University of Missouri Meat Market

Does this plant slaughter animals, or only cut and wrap?
FSIS lists both meat slaughter and meat processing for establishment M5777A, with cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported as species slaughtered under inspection. The website also lists harvest, process, and sell among its services.
Can I bring my own animal for custom processing?
The website invites customers wanting to process their own beef or pork to contact the shop through its form, and posts beef, pork, and lamb cut sheets for those with a processing date set. The federal record shows custom-exempt processing. Scheduling lead times, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources.
Which address and hours are correct?
The sources disagree. FSIS lists 1406 East Rollins Street, Columbia, MO 65211. The website contact page lists 147 Eckles Hall, Columbia, MO 65211, and the About page lists 1102 Ashland Road, Columbia, MO 65201. Hours are listed as Wednesday and Friday, 12:00 PM to 5:00 PM on the home page and Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday, 11:00 AM to 6:00 PM on the About page. Calling (573) 882-0591 to confirm is advised.
Are halves, quarters, or bundles available?
The website's bundles page states that bundle orders are not being accepted and that quarter beef bundles are unavailable at this time, while still describing the contents of a quarter beef bundle and a half hog bundle. Current availability is not stated.
Does the shop ship or deliver?
Shipping and delivery are not mentioned in the sources. Only in-store hours, order forms, and pick up of bundles, special orders, and custom processing are described.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
June 22, 2020
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://mizzoumeatmarket.wordpress.com/, https://mizzoumeatmarket.wordpress.com/about/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Columbia