Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M47533EST. V47533

Montana Premium Processing Cooperative

Member-owned USDA-inspected slaughter and processing cooperative in Havre, Montana.

230 25th Avenue, Havre, Montana 59501 · Hill County

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·USDA-inspected slaughter and processing under establishment numbers M47533 and V47533.
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison under inspection, as reported to FSIS.
  • ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Very small plant, FSIS volume category 1, under 1,000 head slaughtered per year.
  • ·Member-owned agriculture cooperative according to secondary listings; no website text on file.

About Montana Premium Processing Cooperative

Montana Premium Processing Cooperative operates a very small USDA-inspected plant at 230 25th Avenue in Havre, Hill County, Montana, under establishment numbers M47533 and V47533. The federal record lists meat slaughter and meat processing, plus voluntary slaughter and voluntary processing of meat. The grant of inspection on file is dated June 22, 2023.

Species reported to FSIS for slaughter under inspection are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison. The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it also reports retail-exempt sales. Its FSIS slaughter volume category is 1, under 1,000 head per year.

Secondary listings describe the operation as a Montana registered agriculture cooperative that is member-owned and service based, offering custom beef, hog and lamb processing for producers in the area. No website text is on file for this record, so details beyond the federal record and those brief listings, including hours, pricing, booking practices, and retail offerings, are not yet on file.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Voluntary slaughter and voluntary processing of meat
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale packaging)
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssowssheeplambsbison

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The plant is set up for producers hauling live animals: FSIS lists slaughter under inspection for cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison, and the establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter for animals owned by the customer, returned in packages marked Not for Sale. Secondary directory listings describe custom beef, hog and lamb processing and a service based, member-owned cooperative model. FSIS places annual slaughter volume under 1,000 head, so scheduling capacity is limited. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill fees, cut and wrap charges, and whether cooperative membership is required are not stated in the sources on file. Call (406) 899-2644 to confirm availability, as listed.

Montana Premium Processing Cooperative reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which allows direct sales of meat to household buyers at the plant. The sources on file do not state retail counter hours, whether halves and quarters or bundles are sold, or whether delivery or shipping is offered. Households wanting inspected, labeled product should confirm what is available by phone.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Montana Premium Processing Cooperative

What species can be slaughtered here?
FSIS records list cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison slaughtered under inspection.
Can a producer bring an animal for personal use?
Yes, the establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale. Fees, minimums, and scheduling are not stated in the sources on file.
Can households buy meat directly from the plant?
The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which permits direct retail sales. Specific products, counter hours, and shipping are not stated in the sources on file.
What are the hours and how do I book?
Hours and booking procedures are not on file. The listed phone number is (406) 899-2644. No claim is made here about current availability.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
June 22, 2023
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Havre