Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M639EST. V639

Carteret Abattoir

USDA-inspected cattle and sheep slaughter and meat processing in Carteret, New Jersey.

2 Roosevelt Avenue, Carteret, New Jersey 07008 · Middlesex County

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptHalalKosher

At a glance

  • ·USDA grant of inspection on file dated April 22, 2022, for meat slaughter and meat processing.
  • ·Slaughters cattle and sheep and lamb under inspection.
  • ·Reports both halal and kosher slaughter.
  • ·Accepts custom-exempt work on customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale.
  • ·No website on file; hours, prices, and product details are not documented.

About Carteret Abattoir

Carteret Abattoir operates at 2 Roosevelt Avenue in Carteret, Middlesex County, New Jersey, under USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service establishment numbers M639 and V639. The federal record lists the plant for both meat slaughter and meat processing, with a grant of inspection date on file of April 22, 2022. FSIS classifies it as a small establishment, and its reported slaughter volume category is 3.0, above the smallest tier of under 1,000 head per year.

Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle and sheep and lamb. The establishment reports both halal and kosher slaughter. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it will process animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales. The phone number on the federal record is (646) 206-8356. Secondary business directory listings show the same Roosevelt Avenue address and, in one case, a different phone number beginning 732-541.

No website is on file for this establishment, and no website text was available. Details beyond the federal record, including hours, pricing, booking practices, cut and wrap options, ownership, and founding date, are not yet on file.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • USDA-inspected cattle slaughter
  • USDA-inspected sheep and lamb slaughter
  • Meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animal owners
  • Halal slaughter
  • Kosher slaughter
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

steersheifersbullssheeplambs

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists Carteret Abattoir for meat slaughter and meat processing of cattle and sheep and lamb, and the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, so animals owned by a farmer can be processed with packages marked Not for Sale for the owner's own use. Halal and kosher slaughter are both reported to FSIS. Booking practices, lead times, minimums, hanging or kill fees, and cut and wrap details are not stated in any source on file. Farmers should call (646) 206-8356 to confirm species accepted, scheduling, and whether work is being taken, as listed.

Carteret Abattoir reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which generally indicates some direct sale of meat at the plant, but no source on file describes a retail counter, halves or quarters, bundles, delivery, shipping, or online ordering. Households interested in buying should contact the plant directly using the phone number on the federal record.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Carteret Abattoir

What animals does Carteret Abattoir slaughter?
The species reported to FSIS are cattle and sheep and lamb. No other species are listed on the federal record.
Is halal or kosher slaughter available?
The establishment reports both halal and kosher slaughter to FSIS. Specific certifying authorities or supervising agencies are not stated in the sources on file.
Can a farmer bring their own animal for processing?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Scheduling, minimums, and fees are not stated in any source on file.
What are the hours, and can meat be bought directly?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file. The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, but no source describes a retail counter, bundles, or shipping. Contact (646) 206-8356 to confirm.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
April 22, 2022
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Medium volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Carteret