Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M44791

Doublebrook Farm LLC

On-farm USDA-inspected slaughter and processing for Double Brook Farm's own pastured hogs and lambs in Princeton, New Jersey.

37 Bayberry Road, Princeton, New Jersey 08540 · Mercer County

doublebrookfarm.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt processing reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·FSIS-listed for both meat slaughter and meat processing; species reported are hogs and sheep and lamb.
  • ·Very small size class with slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year, as listed.
  • ·On-farm slaughterhouse, so the farm's animals are not trailered to an outside processor, according to the website.
  • ·Whole and half pig and lamb shares include processing and cutting to a customer-completed cut sheet.
  • ·Retail access through Brick Farm Butcher, two farmers markets, and two retail stockists; on-farm sales by appointment only.

About Doublebrook Farm LLC

Doublebrook Farm LLC, establishment M44791, is a very small USDA-inspected meat plant at 37 Bayberry Road in Princeton, Mercer County, New Jersey. FSIS lists it for meat slaughter and meat processing, with hogs and sheep and lamb reported as species slaughtered under inspection, and a grant of inspection date on file of July 20, 2021. The plant also reports custom-exempt processing. Its reported slaughter volume falls in the lowest FSIS category, under 1,000 head per year.

The website on file belongs to Double Brook Farm, a pasture-based livestock farm in Hopewell, New Jersey, that describes itself as raising sheep, pigs, turkeys, chickens, and limited cattle on over 800 acres of owned and leased land using rotational grazing and regenerative practices. The site says the farm began in 2004 and that in 2015 it became one of the only farms in the country with an on-farm USDA inspected slaughterhouse. Sheep and cattle are described as 100 percent grass fed; pigs and poultry are said to supplement foraged diets with a locally grown non-GMO grain blend, with no hormones or antibiotics used. The farm is associated with Brick Farm Butcher retail and Brick Farm Tavern, a restaurant in a renovated 1800s farmhouse.

The available sources describe the facility as processing the farm's own animals for animal shares, large orders, farmers market sales, and wholesale outlets. Nothing in the sources states whether the plant takes in livestock from outside producers, and no processing schedule, fees, or booking window for outside customers is on file. Details beyond what is stated here are not yet on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Custom-exempt processing (as reported to FSIS)
  • On-farm slaughter and butchering of the farm's own hogs and lambs
  • Cut and wrap to customer cut sheet specifications for animal shares
  • Value-added processing including sausage, bacon, and ground meat
  • Freezing and packaging; fresh pickup by prior arrangement

Species under inspection

hogsroaster pigslambs

Products and retail

  • Pork
  • Lamb
  • Chicken
  • Turkey, including heritage turkeys
  • Limited beef
  • Eggs
  • Bacon
  • Ground beef, chicken, turkey, pork, and lamb
  • Several varieties of sausage
  • Raw dog food
  • Whole and half pig shares
  • Whole and half lamb shares

Hours as listed

No plant hours are stated. Farm sales at 37 Bayberry Road are by appointment only. Princeton Farmers Market: Thursdays 10:00 am to 3:00 pm. Lambertville Farmers Market: Sundays 9:00 am to 12:00 pm. Hopewell Fare: open 7 days a week from 7:30 am. Hun-Val Dairy Farm: open 24 hours.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists Doublebrook Farm LLC for meat slaughter and meat processing of hogs and sheep and lamb, and reports custom-exempt processing, with volume under 1,000 head per year. The website presents the facility as an on-farm slaughterhouse built so the farm's own animals do not have to travel to a processor, and the ordering instructions on the site are written for retail customers buying animal shares rather than for producers hauling in livestock. Whether the plant books slaughter or cut and wrap work for outside farms, and any minimums, fees, or lead times, are not stated in the sources on file. A grower would need to contact the plant directly to confirm availability.

Doublebrook Farm LLC reports custom-exempt processing to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The farm sells whole and half pig and lamb shares, described on the site as all of the cuts from the animal, packaged and frozen, with the price including processing at the on-farm USDA inspected facility and cutting to the specifications on the customer's cut sheet, plus value-added options such as sausage, bacon, and ground meat. Ordering is by downloading a fillable cut sheet and order form, emailing it to info@doublebrookfarm.com, then a call from the farm to confirm the order and take a deposit; the balance is paid at pickup at 37 Bayberry Road in Princeton. Questions and custom orders can go to (609) 466-3594. Chickens, turkeys, bulk sausage, and raw dog food are sold as large orders and come frozen; fresh pickup on shares can be arranged by calling ahead, with all sausage frozen regardless. Smaller quantities are sold at Brick Farm Butcher, at the Princeton Farmers Market at Hinds Plaza on Thursdays 10:00 am to 3:00 pm and the Lambertville Farmers Market on Sundays 9:00 am to 12:00 pm, and at Hopewell Fare in Hopewell and Hun-Val Dairy Farm in Ringoes. On-farm purchases of custom cuts and special orders are by appointment only, arranged by email.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Doublebrook Farm LLC

What species does this plant slaughter under federal inspection?
FSIS reports hogs and sheep and lamb. The farm also sells chicken, turkey, and limited beef, but those species are not listed in the federal slaughter record for M44791.
Can an outside farmer bring animals here for processing?
Not stated. The plant reports custom-exempt processing to FSIS, but the website describes the facility as an on-farm slaughterhouse for Double Brook Farm's own animals and gives ordering instructions only for share and large-order customers. Contact the plant to confirm.
How does a household buy a share?
Download and complete the cut sheet and order form from the website, email it to info@doublebrookfarm.com, and a team member calls to confirm the order and take a deposit. Pickup and final payment happen at 37 Bayberry Road in Princeton at an agreed time. Questions can go to (609) 466-3594.
Is the meat fresh or frozen?
The website states all share meat is frozen, though fresh pickup can be arranged by calling ahead at (609) 466-3594. All sausage is frozen. Chickens, turkeys, bulk sausage, and raw dog food ordered as large orders are frozen.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
July 20, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://doublebrookfarm.com/, https://doublebrookfarm.com/shop/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Princeton