Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M9482

Espey's Meat Market

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant with a butcher shop in Scottdale, Pennsylvania.

319 Espey Market Lane, Scottdale, Pennsylvania 15683 · Westmoreland County

espeys-meat-market.wheree.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Listed with FSIS for both meat slaughter and meat processing under establishment number M9482.
  • ·Grant of inspection on file dated September 17, 2020.
  • ·Classified by FSIS as a very small establishment.
  • ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Species handled are not reported to FSIS.

About Espey's Meat Market

Espey's Meat Market operates at 319 Espey Market Lane in Scottdale, Westmoreland County, Pennsylvania, under USDA FSIS establishment number M9482. The federal record lists the plant for both meat slaughter and meat processing, with a grant of inspection on file dated September 17, 2020. FSIS classifies the operation as very small. Species handled are not reported to FSIS.

In addition to federally inspected work, the establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales. Secondary listings describe it as a family-owned butcher shop in Scottdale and it maintains a Facebook page under the same name.

No website text is on file for this establishment. Details beyond the federal record and these directory listings, including species accepted, hours, pricing, cut and wrap options, and booking practices, are not yet on file. Buyers and producers should contact the plant directly at (724) 887-3226 to confirm what is offered as listed.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter
  • Meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals
  • Retail-exempt sales

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists Espey's Meat Market for both slaughter and processing, and it reports custom-exempt slaughter, so animals owned by a customer can be handled with resulting packages marked Not for Sale. Species accepted are not reported to FSIS, and no information on scheduling lead times, minimums, kill day fees, hanging weight charges, or cut and wrap options is on file. Producers should call (724) 887-3226 to confirm species, availability, and terms as listed.

Espey's Meat Market reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales and secondary directory listings describe it as a family-owned butcher shop and grocery-type retailer in Scottdale, which suggests over-the-counter purchasing. Specific products, bundles, halves and quarters, delivery, or online ordering are not stated in any source on file. Contact the shop directly to confirm what is available.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Espey's Meat Market

Does Espey's Meat Market slaughter animals, or only process them?
The FSIS record lists both meat slaughter and meat processing activities at this establishment.
What species does the plant handle?
Species detail is not reported to FSIS and is not stated in any source on file. Call (724) 887-3226 to ask.
Can a farmer bring an animal for personal use?
The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale. Scheduling terms and fees are not on file.
What are the hours and can I buy meat at the counter?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file. The plant reports retail-exempt sales and secondary listings describe it as a butcher shop, but the specific retail offering is not documented here.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
September 17, 2020
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very Small establishment (FSIS size class)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Scottdale