Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M9442EST. P9442

Groff Meats Inc.

USDA-inspected butcher shop in Elizabethtown, PA, with slaughter, processing, and a retail counter.

33 North Market Street, Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania 17022 · Lancaster County

groffs-meats.lucky-three-seven.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt slaughter reported to FSISRetail-exempt sales reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·Listed with FSIS for meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing, small size class, grant of inspection dated 2004-09-28.
  • ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Website names hickory smoked sweet bologna, smoked pork sausage, country sausage, hams, and bacon among its specialties.
  • ·Custom cuts, special orders, whole or half animals, and bulk meat bundles are described on the website.
  • ·Hours, prices, species accepted, and processing fees are not stated in the sources on file.

About Groff Meats Inc.

Groff Meats Inc. operates at 33 North Market Street in Elizabethtown, Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, under USDA FSIS establishment numbers M9442 and P9442. The federal record lists meat processing, meat slaughter, and poultry processing activities, with a grant of inspection dated September 28, 2004, and a small size class. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales. Species detail is not reported to FSIS.

The website on file describes a family-owned butcher shop that has served the Elizabethtown area for decades, selling fresh cuts of beef, pork, and chicken along with smoked specialties. Named items include hickory smoked sweet bologna, ring bologna, smoked pork sausage, country sausage in several flavors, Cajun sausage, chorizo, smoked hams, bacon, hog maw, steaks, ham loaf, and deli items such as chicken salad. The site also mentions frozen grocery products, cheeses, and a small grocery section, and customer comments reference Pennsylvania Dutch preserves, sauces, noodles, and chicken pie.

The website describes custom meat cuts, special orders, bulk meat bundles priced lower per pound, and weekly specials. Beyond these general descriptions, the site does not publish hours, prices, booking lead times, or scheduling details, and no shipping or delivery service is stated. One customer comment says shipping out of state cost a great deal, which is not confirmed by the establishment itself. Details beyond the federal record and these general website statements are not yet on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale packaging)
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Custom meat cuts and special orders
  • Smoking and curing of meats
  • Retail butcher counter
  • Bulk meat bundles

Products and retail

  • Hickory smoked sweet bologna
  • Ring bologna
  • Smoked pork sausage
  • Country sausage in several flavors
  • Cajun sausage
  • Chorizo
  • Smoked ham and half ham
  • Ham loaf
  • Bacon
  • Steaks and fresh beef cuts
  • Fresh pork cuts
  • Chicken
  • Hog maw
  • Chicken salad and deli items
  • Cheeses
  • Frozen grocery products

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record shows Groff Meats Inc. reports custom-exempt slaughter, processing animals owned by the customer and returning packages marked Not for Sale, and the establishment is listed for meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing under inspection. The website states customers can request specific cuts or purchase whole or half animals. Species accepted are not reported to FSIS, and the sources do not state scheduling lead times, booking procedures, minimums, kill fees, hanging weight rates, or cut and wrap charges. A producer would need to call (717) 367-1246 to confirm what the plant handles and whether dates are available, as listed.

Groff Meats Inc. reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website describes an in-store retail butcher counter where customers select cuts in person or place orders for specific items, with staff available for special requests. Bulk meat bundles and weekly specials are described as ways to buy larger quantities at a lower price per pound, and whole or half animals are said to be available for purchase. Payment methods listed include cash, credit and debit cards, Apple Pay, and Google Pay. For larger or bulk orders, the site recommends calling ahead. No online ordering, delivery, or shipping service is stated in the sources.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Groff Meats Inc.

Does Groff Meats slaughter animals for farmers?
The FSIS record lists meat slaughter and poultry processing activities and reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning animals owned by the customer are processed and returned in packages marked Not for Sale. Species accepted are not reported to FSIS, so a producer should call to confirm.
Can a household buy meat directly at the shop?
Yes as described. The website presents an in-store butcher counter with fresh beef, pork, and chicken, smoked specialties, deli items, cheeses, and frozen groceries, plus bulk meat bundles and weekly specials.
What are the hours?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file. The listed phone number is (717) 367-1246.
Does the shop ship or deliver?
No shipping or delivery service is stated by the establishment. One customer comment refers to shipping out of state being expensive, but that is not confirmed by the shop, and the website directs customers to visit in person or call ahead for larger orders.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing
Grant on file
September 28, 2004
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Small establishment (FSIS size class)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://groffs-meats.lucky-three-seven.com/, https://groffs-meats.lucky-three-seven.com/about) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Elizabethtown