Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M3450

Homestead Butchering

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Richland, PA, serving direct market farmers.

87 Wintersville Road, Richland, Pennsylvania 17087 · Berks County

pahomesteadbutchering.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt slaughter reportedRetail-exempt sales reported

At a glance

  • ·FSIS Very Small plant with a grant of inspection dated October 17, 2025.
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats under inspection; reported volume under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Website describes an all new facility opened mid-September and says the shop is ideal for direct market farmers.
  • ·Cut sheets are submitted online, with published example yields for beef quarters, halves, and wholes and for half and whole hogs.
  • ·Two phone numbers are on file: (717) 371-8919 with FSIS and (717) 970-5077 on the website.

About Homestead Butchering

Homestead Butchering operates at 87 Wintersville Road in Richland, Berks County, Pennsylvania, under USDA establishment number M3450. The federal record lists the plant for both Meat Slaughter and Meat Processing, with a grant of inspection date of October 17, 2025. FSIS classifies the plant as Very Small, and its reported slaughter volume falls in the lowest category, under 1,000 head per year. Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats.

The plant's website describes it as PA Homestead Butchering LLC, a family owned and run USDA-certified butcher shop with an all new facility that opened in mid-September. The site states the business handles beef and pork processing, describes itself as ideal for direct market farmers, and also offers custom, uninspected butchering. That matches the federal record, which shows both custom-exempt slaughter, where packages are marked Not for Sale, and retail-exempt sales.

Contact details differ between sources. FSIS lists a phone number of (717) 371-8919, while the website lists (717) 970-5077 and the email john@pahomesteadbutchering.com. Pricing figures are not readable in the material on file, and no information about shipping, retail counter stock, or booking lead times is stated.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under USDA inspection
  • Meat processing under USDA inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and butchering for customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Beef and pork cutting and wrapping
  • Online cut sheet submission
  • Curing and smoking (bacon, ham, Canadian bacon)
  • Sausage making
  • Lard rendering

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogssowslambsgoats

Products and retail

  • Ribeye steaks
  • Prime rib roasts
  • T-bone, porterhouse, NY strip, and filet mignon
  • Sirloin and flat iron steaks
  • Chuck, bottom round, top round, and sirloin tip roasts
  • Brisket
  • Short ribs
  • Flank and skirt steak
  • Ground beef in 1 lb or 2 lb packages
  • Burger patties
  • Snack sticks
  • Sweet bologna
  • Jerky, stew cubes, chipped beef, soup bones, marrow bones
  • Nitrite-free hickory smoked bacon
  • Pork chops and loin roasts
  • Canadian bacon
  • Boston butt and arm (picnic) roasts
  • Pork tenderloin
  • Spare ribs and baby back ribs
  • Boneless and bone-in ham, ham steaks, chipped ham
  • Rope sausage, breakfast sausage, loose sausage, smoked sausage
  • Hamloaf and pork roll
  • Rendered pork lard

Hours as listed

Monday through Friday 8:00 am to 5:00 pm; Sunday closed. The home page lists Saturday as closed, while the pricing page lists Saturday as appointment only.

For farmers and ranchers

The website states the shop handles beef and pork processing and is ideal for direct market farmers, and that custom, uninspected butchering is also offered. Under the federal record, the plant slaughters cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats under inspection, and also reports custom-exempt slaughter in which the animal remains the customer's property and the packages are marked Not for Sale. Cut sheets are submitted through the website, which publishes example yield lists for beef quarters, halves, and wholes and for half and whole hogs, based on 1 inch steaks, 3 lb roasts, and 3/4 inch pork chops. The site notes that beef hanging weights from 400 lb to 1,200 lb are not uncommon and that yields vary greatly by animal. Booking procedures, scheduling lead times, minimums, kill fees, and per pound cut and wrap charges are not stated in the material on file; the pricing page text on file does not include readable prices.

Homestead Butchering reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, and the website describes it as a butcher shop offering hand-selected meats sourced from trusted farms. Households buying a quarter, half, or whole beef, or a half or whole hog, from a farmer can review the published example cut lists and submit cutting instructions through the website. Whether the shop maintains a stocked retail case, sells bundles directly, or offers delivery or shipping is not stated in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Homestead Butchering

What animals can be slaughtered here?
Cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats are the species reported to FSIS for slaughter under inspection. The website mentions beef and pork processing specifically.
Can I have an animal processed for my own freezer?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it can process animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. The website also states it offers custom, uninspected butchering. Scheduling details are not stated in the sources on file.
What does it cost?
Prices are not available in the material on file. The website has a pricing page, but no readable price figures appear in the fetched text.
Which phone number should I call?
FSIS lists (717) 371-8919. The website lists (717) 970-5077 and the email john@pahomesteadbutchering.com. Both are on file; the sources do not explain the difference.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
October 17, 2025
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.fsis.usda.gov/inspection/fsis-inspected-establishments/homestead-butchering, https://www.pahomesteadbutchering.com/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Richland