Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M33916EST. P33916

Loris Cold Storage and Retail

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Loris, South Carolina, handling cattle and hogs.

2371 Main Street, Loris, South Carolina 29569 · Horry County

Facebook page

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Listed by FSIS for both meat slaughter and meat processing under establishment numbers M33916 and P33916.
  • ·Cattle and hogs reported as species slaughtered under inspection.
  • ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale.
  • ·Reports retail-exempt sales, consistent with direct sales to households.
  • ·FSIS size class very small, with slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.

About Loris Cold Storage and Retail

Loris Cold Storage and Retail operates at 2371 Main Street in Loris, South Carolina, in Horry County. The plant holds federal establishment numbers M33916 and P33916 and is listed by USDA FSIS for meat slaughter and meat processing, with a grant of inspection date on file of December 17, 2013. FSIS classifies the establishment as very small and places its slaughter volume in the lowest category, under 1,000 head per year. Cattle and hogs are the species reported as slaughtered under inspection.

The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales, which is consistent with a counter selling meat directly to households. A directory listing gives a founding year of 1967, which predates the current grant of inspection on file with FSIS. The listed website is a Facebook page, and no website text was available for this record.

Details beyond the federal record and basic directory listings are not yet on file. Specific cuts, bundle offerings, scheduling practices, fees, and hours have not been verified for this profile. Callers can reach the plant at (843) 756-1741.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • USDA-inspected cattle slaughter
  • USDA-inspected hog slaughter
  • Meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animals owned by the customer
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

steersheifersbullshogs

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The plant is listed with FSIS for both meat slaughter and meat processing, and reports custom-exempt slaughter for animals owned by the customer, with packages marked Not for Sale. Cattle and hogs are the species reported as slaughtered under inspection. FSIS places the establishment in the lowest slaughter volume category, under 1,000 head per year, and classifies it as very small, so scheduling capacity is likely limited. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill fees, cut and wrap charges, and hanging weight terms are not stated in the sources on file. Farmers should call (843) 756-1741 to confirm what the plant handles and whether dates are available.

Loris Cold Storage and Retail reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS and is listed in business directories under butcher shop, which indicates meat sold directly to customers at this location. The specific products, cuts, bundles, halves or quarters, delivery, shipping, and online ordering options are not described in any source on file. Buyers should contact the plant directly at (843) 756-1741 or check its Facebook page for current offerings.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Loris Cold Storage and Retail

What animals does this plant slaughter under federal inspection?
The federal record lists cattle and hogs as the species slaughtered under inspection. Other species are not listed.
Can a farmer bring an animal for personal use?
The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, which means it processes animals owned by the customer and marks the packages Not for Sale. Booking details, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources on file.
Can households buy meat directly here?
The plant reports retail-exempt sales and is listed in directories as a butcher shop, so direct sales appear to occur at the location. Specific products and prices are not stated in the sources on file.
What are the hours?
Hours are not stated in any source on file for this record. Directory pages reference hours, but no verified hours were available. Call (843) 756-1741 to confirm.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
December 17, 2013
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Loris