Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M936EST. P936

Hometown Meat Market LLC

USDA-inspected beef and pork slaughter, custom processing, and a retail meat counter in Luling, Texas.

380 Business Park Blvd., Luling, Texas 78648 · Caldwell County

hometownmeatmarket.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Slaughters cattle and hogs under federal inspection; also listed for poultry processing.
  • ·FSIS Very Small class with slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Website lists a processing price sheet, beef and pork cut sheets, and incoming animal affidavits for download.
  • ·Retail counter plus online ordering with shipping across the continental United States.

About Hometown Meat Market LLC

Hometown Meat Market LLC operates at 380 Business Park Blvd. in Luling, Caldwell County, Texas, under FSIS establishment numbers M936 and P936. The federal record lists meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing activities, with cattle and hogs reported as species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS classifies the plant as Very Small and places its slaughter volume in the lowest category, under 1,000 head per year. The grant of inspection on file dates to December 19, 2023. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale, and retail-exempt sales.

According to the company website, the facility grew out of 2 Bar C Ranch, owned by Clyde Sommerlatte, whose Black Angus herd expanded in 2019 and outpaced available processing capacity in Central Texas. Clyde and a former business partner built the plant, and Hometown Meat Market opened in 2022. The site states that the business provides custom processing for producers and families and sells high quality proteins to the public. It says 2 Bar C Black Angus cattle are pasture raised in Texas on rotational grazing, finished on locally sourced grains, and processed at the plant, and that they are not given mRNA vaccines or growth hormones.

The website describes a stocked retail counter with fresh and frozen meats, a smokehouse, online ordering, and shipping across the continental United States. It also notes that the Luling Chamber named the business Breakout Business 2025 and that SNAP EBT is accepted. A search snippet describes the operation as family owned. Details beyond the federal record and the company website are not on file.

Services

  • USDA-inspected cattle and hog slaughter
  • Meat processing and fabrication
  • Poultry processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale packaging)
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Smokehouse products
  • Vacuum packaging
  • Private labeling
  • Boxing of final product
  • Cooler space for aging carcasses
  • Animal tracking from harvest to pick-up
  • Custom and hard-to-find cuts on request
  • Retail meat counter
  • Online ordering
  • Local delivery
  • Shipping within the continental United States

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullssows

Products and retail

  • 2 Bar C Black Angus beef
  • Pork cuts
  • Chicken
  • Texas-raised quail
  • Tomahawk ribeye
  • Heart-shaped ribeye
  • Thor's Hammer
  • Smoked bacon
  • Sausage
  • Jerky
  • Snack sticks

Hours as listed

The website states store hours of 8:00 am to 6:00 pm on the day the page was captured and notes that hours of operation were extended in 2025. A notice on the page states the market would be closed for Labor Day, Monday September 7. Full weekly hours are not stated.

For farmers and ranchers

The website states the plant was built to serve area producers and lists minimum wait time for booking animals to harvest, high quality fabrication, cooler space to age animals, tracking of animals from harvest to pick-up, vacuum packaging, private labeling, and boxing of final product. Downloadable documents on the site include a processing price sheet, a beef affidavit, a beef cut sheet, an affidavit for incoming pork, and a pork cut sheet. The federal record shows cattle and hogs slaughtered under inspection, a Very Small size class, and slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year, along with reported custom-exempt slaughter for animals owned by the customer. Specific booking minimums, lead times, and fees are not stated in the sources beyond the downloadable price sheet. Contact the plant at (830) 351-6446 to confirm current scheduling and terms, as listed.

Hometown Meat Market LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website describes a retail store in Luling with counters of fresh and frozen meats, including beef, pork, chicken, and Texas-raised quail, plus other local and Texas products and gift items. Online ordering is available, with orders designated for pickup, local delivery, or shipment to the door anywhere in the continental United States, including gift bundles. The site says SNAP EBT is now accepted and invites customers to call about custom cuts for special occasions. Halves and quarters are not mentioned in the sources.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Hometown Meat Market LLC

Does Hometown Meat Market slaughter animals, or only cut and wrap?
The federal record lists meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing, with cattle and hogs reported as species slaughtered under inspection. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals.
Can I buy meat directly as a household?
Yes, as listed. The website describes a retail store in Luling with fresh and frozen meats, online ordering with pickup, local delivery, or shipping in the continental United States, and acceptance of SNAP EBT.
What does it cost to have an animal processed?
Prices are not stated in the sources. The website offers a downloadable processing price sheet along with beef and pork cut sheets and incoming animal affidavits.
Is the plant halal, kosher, or certified organic?
No halal, kosher, or organic certification is stated in the sources. The federal record shows USDA FSIS inspection under establishment number M936+P936. The website states the 2 Bar C cattle are not given mRNA vaccines or growth hormones, which is a producer claim rather than a certification named in the sources.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing
Grant on file
December 19, 2023
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://hometownmeatmarket.com/, https://htmeats.com/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Luling