Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M3541

Rancher's Choice Processing

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Bellville, Texas, handling cattle, hogs, and sheep.

219 E Miller Rd., Bellville, Texas 77418 · Austin County

Facebook page

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Establishment number M3541, listed by FSIS for both meat slaughter and meat processing.
  • ·Species slaughtered under inspection as reported to FSIS: cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb.
  • ·Also reports custom-exempt slaughter, with packages marked Not for Sale.
  • ·FSIS size class very small; slaughter volume category 1.0, under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Grant of inspection date on file is January 14, 2026.

About Rancher's Choice Processing

Rancher's Choice Processing is a very small USDA-inspected establishment at 219 E Miller Rd. in Bellville, Austin County, Texas, operating under establishment number M3541. The federal record lists both meat slaughter and meat processing activities, with a grant of inspection date on file of January 14, 2026. Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale.

FSIS places the plant in slaughter volume category 1.0, which covers establishments harvesting under 1,000 head per year. A listing on the Bellville chamber of commerce business directory describes it as a new USDA-certified meat processing facility for cattle and swine with a harvest floor, private labeling capability, and traceability. A separate third party directory entry describes cattle, sheep, goat, and pig slaughter and processing; goat is not among the species reported to FSIS in the federal record.

The website on file is a Facebook page, and no website text was available for this profile. One Facebook snippet indicates the business will help connect buyers with a rancher. Hours, pricing, booking practice, cut and wrap options, and retail sales details are not yet on file beyond the federal record and these brief secondary listings.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • USDA-inspected meat slaughter
  • USDA-inspected meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale)
  • Private labeling (per chamber directory listing)

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssowsferal swinesheeplambs

Products and retail

No retail products on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection, plus custom-exempt slaughter for animals owned by the customer, with those packages marked Not for Sale. This means a producer can generally choose between inspected harvest for meat intended for resale and custom work for personal or owner use, subject to the plant's own scheduling. A chamber of commerce listing describes a harvest floor, private labeling capability, and traceability for cattle and swine. FSIS classes the plant as very small with a slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year, so capacity is limited. Booking lead times, drop-off procedures, kill fees, cut and wrap charges, hanging weight terms, and minimums are not stated in any source on file. Call (504) 444-5202 to confirm current availability, as listed.

Rancher's Choice Processing reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

No retail counter, halves and quarters program, bundle pricing, shipping, or online ordering is described in the sources on file. One Facebook snippet suggests the business will help connect buyers with a rancher to source meat, but no details are given. Households interested in buying should contact the plant directly at (504) 444-5202 or through its Facebook page.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Rancher's Choice Processing

What animals does this plant slaughter under federal inspection?
The FSIS record reports cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. A third party directory also lists goat, but goat is not in the federal record.
Can I bring my own animal for custom processing?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which covers animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Scheduling, fees, and cut and wrap options are not stated in the sources on file.
Does Rancher's Choice Processing sell meat to the public?
No retail counter or direct sales program is described in the sources. A Facebook snippet mentions helping buyers connect with a rancher, but no further detail is available.
What are the hours and is the plant taking new customers?
Hours are not stated in any source on file, and no source confirms current availability. Contact (504) 444-5202 to ask directly.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
January 14, 2026
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Bellville