Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M46942EST. P46942

Maple Wind Farm

Vermont livestock farm with its own USDA poultry slaughter and meat processing plant and an on-farm market in Richmond.

1149 East Main Street, Richmond, Vermont 05462 · Chittenden County

maplewindfarm.com

USDA inspected

At a glance

  • ·Federally inspected for poultry slaughter, poultry processing, and meat processing; poultry is the only species reported slaughtered under inspection.
  • ·The website states the farm built its own USDA facility with an air-chilling system for poultry, described as the only one in Vermont.
  • ·On-farm market in Richmond listed as open 8am to 8pm daily, with online pre-orders for next day pickup.
  • ·Free local delivery over $60 and free UPS shipping over $149, as listed on the website.
  • ·Classified by FSIS as very small, with slaughter volume category 3.0.

About Maple Wind Farm

Maple Wind Farm operates a USDA-inspected establishment at 1149 East Main Street in Richmond, Vermont, in Chittenden County. The federal record lists establishment numbers M46942 and P46942, with FSIS activities of meat processing, poultry processing, and poultry slaughter. Poultry is the only species reported slaughtered under inspection, the plant is classified as very small, its slaughter volume category is 3.0, and the grant of inspection on file dates to February 2, 2022. No custom-exempt activity is reported to FSIS.

The farm's website describes a pasture-based, regenerative operation serving its community since 1999, raising pastured chicken, pastured pork, pastured turkey, grass-fed beef, and eggs. The site states that the farm built its own USDA meat processing facility, which uses an air-chilling system for poultry rather than ice water chilling, described on the site as the only such system in the state. The site also states that USDA inspection allows shipping across state lines and enables other local farmers to access the facility's standard of processing, and that pork is cut and packaged on site along with house made specialty pork products.

The website promotes a community equity offering described as an opportunity to invest in the farm, and mentions a CSA model, events, recipes, and a blog. Terms specific to processing other producers' animals, such as booking, minimums, or cut and wrap fees, are not stated in the material on file.

Services

  • Poultry slaughter under federal inspection
  • Poultry processing
  • Meat processing
  • Pork cutting and packaging
  • On-farm retail market
  • Online ordering with next day pickup
  • Local delivery
  • UPS shipping
  • CSA shares

Species under inspection

chickensturkeys

Products and retail

  • Whole chicken, halves, breasts, breast roast, tenders, thighs, drumsticks, leg quarters, wings, ground chicken, chicken sausages, livers, hearts, feet, backs for broth
  • Ground turkey
  • Pastured pork: sliced bacon, bacon ends and tips, slab belly, ground pork, bone-in rib and loin chops, country style ribs, spare ribs, boneless shoulder roast, stew and kabob meat, tenderloin, leaf lard, linked and loose sausages
  • House made specialty pork products
  • Summer sausage
  • Grass-fed beef: ground, brisket, shank, oxtail, bones, suet, stew meat, flank, flatiron, hanger, minute, skirt, and filet mignon steaks
  • Pastured eggs
  • PasturePet pet treats and chicken pet food
  • Curated Vermont partner products

Hours as listed

On-farm market: open 8am to 8pm daily, as listed on the website.

For farmers and ranchers

The website states that USDA inspection at the farm's facility enables other local farmers to access a high standard of processing, and the federal record confirms poultry slaughter plus meat and poultry processing under establishment numbers M46942 and P46942. Poultry is the only species listed as slaughtered under inspection, so red meat animals appear to be handled as processing rather than slaughter. No custom-exempt activity is reported to FSIS, which means work for a farmer's own freezer under a custom exemption is not part of the federal record here. Scheduling, lead times, minimum bird counts, kill fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources on file; the site directs inquiries by email to orders@maplewindfarm.com.

Maple Wind Farm operates under a federal grant of inspection, so product from this plant can be sold anywhere in the United States, which matters if you sell online or across a state line. FSIS does not list a custom-exempt activity for this plant.

For households

Households can buy directly through the on-farm market, described on the website as located in the big red barn about one mile from downtown Richmond, with easy parking, an expanded selection of the farm's meats, and curated products from other local producers. The website says the full range of cuts can be ordered online for next day pickup in the store. Site banners list free local delivery on orders over $60 and free UPS shipping on orders over $149, and the farm describes shipping to New England. Individual cuts are priced online, with examples including whole chicken from $24.00, boneless skinless chicken breast from $10.85, ground beef from $12.50, and bone-in pork rib and loin chops from $16.50. CSA shares are listed from $250.00. Halves and quarters of beef or pork are not mentioned in the material on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Maple Wind Farm

Does Maple Wind Farm process animals for other farmers?
The website states that USDA inspection at its facility enables other local farmers to access a high standard of processing. Specific booking procedures, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources on file, and the plant reports no custom-exempt activity to FSIS.
What species are slaughtered at this plant?
The federal record lists poultry as the only species slaughtered under inspection. The establishment is also listed for meat processing and poultry processing, and the website says pork is cut and packaged on site.
Can I buy meat directly, and can it be shipped?
Yes, as listed. The on-farm market in Richmond is listed open 8am to 8pm daily, online orders can be picked up the next day, local delivery is free over $60, and UPS shipping is free over $149, with the site describing shipping to New England.
Are bulk halves or quarters available?
Not stated. The website lists individual cuts and CSA shares from $250.00, but does not mention halves or quarters.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter
Grant on file
February 2, 2022
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Medium volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.maplewindfarm.com/, https://www.maplewindfarm.com/collections/retail-store) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Richmond