Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M47320EST. P47320

Central Wyoming College

Doing business as Rustler Cattle Company

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Riverton, Wyoming, operated as Rustler Cattle Company.

1110 Day Drive, Riverton, Wyoming 82501 · Fremont County

communitycollegereview.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Federal grant of inspection dated August 17, 2023, covering both meat and poultry.
  • ·Reports slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection.
  • ·Also reports custom-exempt slaughter, with packages marked Not for Sale.
  • ·FSIS size class very small, with slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Operated under the name Rustler Cattle Company by Central Wyoming College in Riverton.

About Central Wyoming College

Central Wyoming College, doing business as Rustler Cattle Company, is a very small USDA-inspected meat and poultry establishment at 1110 Day Drive in Riverton, Fremont County, Wyoming. It holds establishment numbers M47320 and P47320, with a grant of inspection dated August 17, 2023. FSIS lists the plant for meat slaughter, meat processing, poultry slaughter, and poultry processing.

The establishment reports slaughtering cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under federal inspection, and its FSIS slaughter volume category is 1, meaning under 1,000 head per year. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the resulting packages are marked Not for Sale. The listed phone number is (307) 855-2257.

The website recorded for this establishment is a national community college directory rather than a site for the plant, so it contains no information about the operation. Search results confirm that Central Wyoming College is a public community college in Riverton, Wyoming. Details beyond the federal record, including hours, pricing, cut and wrap options, retail sales, and booking practices, are not yet on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Poultry slaughter under federal inspection
  • Poultry processing under federal inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssowssheeplambs

Products and retail

No retail products on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The plant is listed with FSIS for both slaughter and processing of meat and poultry, and reports slaughtering cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection. Producers who want animals harvested under inspection for resale, as well as those seeking custom-exempt work for their own use with packages marked Not for Sale, would both be within the activities on file. The volume category of under 1,000 head per year indicates a very small operation, so scheduling capacity may be limited. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill fees, hanging weight rates, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources on file, and a farmer should call (307) 855-2257 to confirm what work is being accepted.

Central Wyoming College reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

Questions about Central Wyoming College

What species can be slaughtered here?
The establishment reports cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb slaughtered under federal inspection. FSIS also lists poultry slaughter and poultry processing activities at this establishment.
Does the plant do custom processing for animals I own?
Yes, the federal record shows the establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer and marks the packages Not for Sale. Fees and scheduling terms are not stated in the sources on file.
Is there a retail counter or are halves and quarters sold?
Not stated. The website recorded for this listing is a community college directory and contains no information about meat sales, so retail availability is unknown.
What are the hours and how do I book?
Hours and booking procedures are not on file. The listed phone number is (307) 855-2257. Nothing in the sources confirms whether the plant is currently accepting new work.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter
Grant on file
August 17, 2023
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.fsis.usda.gov/inspection/apply-grant-inspection/meat-poultry-egg-product-inspection-directory, https://www.communitycollegereview.com/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Riverton