Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M1329

D&S Quality Beef, LLC

USDA-inspected beef and hog slaughter and processing plant in Albertville, Alabama.

2597 County Road 58, Albertville, Alabama 35951 · DeKalb County

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·USDA FSIS establishment M1329, listed for meat slaughter and meat processing
  • ·Cattle and hogs reported as species slaughtered under inspection
  • ·Very small size class, slaughter volume category under 1,000 head per year
  • ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales
  • ·Grant of inspection on file dated May 9, 2023

About D&S Quality Beef, LLC

D&S Quality Beef, LLC operates at 2597 County Road 58 in Albertville, Alabama, in DeKalb County, under USDA FSIS establishment number M1329. The federal record lists the plant for both meat slaughter and meat processing, with cattle and hogs reported as the species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS classifies the operation as very small, and the reported slaughter volume category is under 1,000 head per year. The grant of inspection on file is dated May 9, 2023.

In addition to federally inspected work, the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer and returns packages marked Not for Sale. It also reports retail-exempt sales. Secondary listings describe D&S Quality Beef, LLC as a family owned business established in 2020 that raises cattle, and the business maintains a website at dsqualitybeef.com and a Facebook page.

No website text was available for this record, so details beyond the federal record and those brief secondary listings are not yet on file. Farmers and household buyers should contact the plant directly at (256) 659-4417 to confirm current services, scheduling, and availability.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

steersheifersbullshogs

Products and retail

  • Beef

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists D&S Quality Beef as a very small establishment performing both slaughter and processing, with cattle and hogs reported as the species slaughtered under inspection and an annual slaughter volume category of under 1,000 head. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, so producers can have their own animals processed and returned in packages marked Not for Sale. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources on file, and no statement about current availability is made here. Call (256) 659-4417 to confirm.

D&S Quality Beef, LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which generally allows direct sales of meat to household buyers at the establishment. Secondary listings describe the business as family owned, established in 2020, and raising its own cattle, and the business maintains a website at dsqualitybeef.com. Specific retail hours, available cuts, bundles, halves and quarters, delivery, shipping, and online ordering are not stated in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about D&S Quality Beef, LLC

What species does this plant slaughter?
The federal record lists cattle and hogs as the species slaughtered under inspection at establishment M1329.
Can I bring my own animal for custom processing?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it processes animals owned by the customer and returns packages marked Not for Sale. Booking details, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources on file. Call (256) 659-4417 to confirm.
Can households buy meat directly?
The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. Retail hours, cuts, bundles, and any delivery or shipping options are not stated in the sources on file.
What are the hours?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file. No claim is made here about whether the plant is currently open or accepting work.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
May 9, 2023
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Albertville