Federally inspected establishment
EST. M47656EST. V47656Prime Country Meats
USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Horatio, Arkansas, offering both inspected and custom work.
526 Clear Creek Rd, Horatio, Arkansas 71842 · Sevier County
At a glance
- ·USDA FSIS establishment M47656 and V47656, grant of inspection dated March 3, 2023.
- ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison under inspection, as reported to FSIS.
- ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.
- ·Very small establishment with slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
- ·Website on file is a Facebook page; no site text was available, so details beyond the federal record are limited.
About Prime Country Meats
Prime Country Meats operates at 526 Clear Creek Rd in Horatio, Arkansas, in Sevier County, under USDA FSIS establishment numbers M47656 and V47656. The federal record lists the plant for meat slaughter and meat processing, along with voluntary slaughter and voluntary processing of meat. Its grant of inspection on file is dated March 3, 2023, and FSIS classifies it as a very small establishment.
Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison. A secondary listing describes the plant as a family-owned USDA slaughter facility processing goats, hogs, beef, and water buffalo, which goes beyond the species set in the federal record. The plant reports both custom-exempt slaughter, where animals owned by the customer are returned in packages marked Not for Sale, and retail-exempt sales. FSIS places its slaughter volume in category 1.0, meaning under 1,000 head per year.
The website on file is a Facebook page, and no website text was available for this record. Secondary listings describe the operation as a small processing facility owned and operated by Walt and Kayli DeShazo offering both USDA and custom processing. Details beyond the federal record, including hours, pricing, scheduling, and product lists, are not yet on file.
This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.
Services
- USDA-inspected meat slaughter
- USDA-inspected meat processing
- Voluntary slaughter of meat
- Voluntary processing of meat
- Custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals
- Retail-exempt sales
Species under inspection
Products and retail
Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.
For farmers and ranchers
The federal record lists Prime Country Meats for both USDA-inspected slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter, so animals can be processed either for sale under inspection or returned to the owner in packages marked Not for Sale. Species reported to FSIS for slaughter are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison; a secondary directory listing also mentions goats and water buffalo. The plant is classified as very small with a slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year, so scheduling capacity is limited. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources on file. Farmers should call (870) 784-1792 to confirm current availability and species accepted.
Prime Country Meats reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.
For households
The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which allows direct sales of meat to household customers at the establishment. Specific retail counter hours, cut selections, bundle or half and quarter offerings, delivery, shipping, and online ordering are not stated in the sources on file. Buyers can contact the plant at (870) 784-1792 or check its Facebook page for current offerings.
If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.
Questions about Prime Country Meats
Does Prime Country Meats do custom processing for farmers?
What animals does the plant slaughter?
Can I buy meat directly from the plant?
What are the hours and how do I book?
Federal record
- Activities
- Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
- Grant on file
- March 3, 2023
- Size class
- Very Small
- Slaughter volume
- Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)
Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.
Other USDA plants near Horatio
- Pilgrim's Pride Corporation7 mi
De Queen · Poultry
- Tyson Foods, Inc.21 mi
Grannis · Poultry
- Tyson Foods, Inc.27 mi
Nashville · Poultry
- Tyson Foods, Inc.42 mi
Hope · Poultry
- Prewitt Farms Cattle & Meat Market59 mi
Doddridge · species not reported · custom-exempt
- Tyson Foods, Inc.68 mi
Waldron · Poultry