Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M783EST. P783EST. V783

Harris Ranch Beef Company

Large USDA-inspected cattle slaughter and beef processing plant in Selma, California, with a halal program.

16277 S McCall Ave. PO Box 220, Selma, California 93662 · Fresno County

harrisranchbeef.com

USDA inspectedHalalFSIS export certification activity

At a glance

  • ·FSIS size class large, slaughter volume category 4.0, with cattle the only species reported slaughtered.
  • ·Export certification is listed in the federal record, and the website says halal beef is approved for export to Muslim countries.
  • ·Halal program in place since 1992 with a designated certifier and contact phone line.
  • ·No custom-exempt processing reported to FSIS, so this is not listed as a farm custom kill plant.
  • ·Products reach households through supermarkets and an online store rather than a plant retail counter described in the sources.

About Harris Ranch Beef Company

Harris Ranch Beef Company operates a USDA-inspected establishment at 16277 S McCall Ave. in Selma, Fresno County, California, under establishment numbers M783, P783 and V783. The federal record lists meat slaughter, meat processing, poultry processing and export certification activities, with cattle reported as the species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS classifies the plant as large and places it in slaughter volume category 4.0. The grant of inspection date on file is August 29, 2019. No custom-exempt activity is reported to FSIS, and the plant reports halal slaughter.

The company website describes a branded beef business rather than a local kill floor for individual customers. It states that Harris Ranch pioneered a branded beef program in 1982 and supplies retail supermarkets, foodservice operators and export customers. The site says the company processes the high volumes required by some of the largest distributors in the United States and also handles smaller, customized orders. Cattle are described as grass raised and grain finished, with corn brought from the Midwest to the company feedlot. A separate Harris Feeding Company operation, animal welfare and sustainability pages are referenced on the site.

The halal program, according to the website, was established in 1992 and has been supervised and certified since then by Amin Attia, former president of the Islamic Center of Central California. The site states the slaughter method used is approved and licensed by Al-Azhar El-Sharif Mosque in Cairo and the Islamic Service Center of America, that halal beef is approved for export to Muslim countries, and that not all Harris Ranch products are available as halal. Hours, ownership structure and any arrangements for accepting outside livestock are not stated in the sources on file. One secondary search listing associates the Selma facility with Central Valley Meat Co., but the company website does not state this.

Services

  • Cattle slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry processing (listed by FSIS)
  • Export certification
  • Halal slaughter
  • Branded beef programs for retail supermarkets
  • Foodservice beef supply
  • Direct to consumer online store
  • Case-ready ground beef production

Species under inspection

steersheifersdairy cows

Products and retail

  • Harris Ranch Angus Beef, USDA Choice and Select
  • Harris Ranch Beef, non breed-specific, USDA Prime, Choice and Select
  • Harris Ranch Natural Black Angus Beef, USDA certified (HRA)
  • Harris Ranch Certified Premium Beef (HRC)
  • Certified Angus Beef
  • Frozen ground beef patties, 1/4 lb 73/27 and 1/3 lb 81/19
  • Angus ground beef chubs, 1 lb 90/10
  • Ground beef chubs in 1, 2, 3 and 5 lb sizes at 73/27, 81/19, 85/15 and 93/7
  • Certified Angus Beef chuck patties, frozen, 80/20, in 3, 4, 5.33, 6 and 8 oz
  • 1 lb IQF block bulk ground beef
  • Halal fresh boxed beef
  • Halal frozen ground beef patties, 81/19, 9 pack
  • Halal ground beef chubs, 1 lb and 3 lb, 81/19
  • Corned beef briskets and rounds
  • Tri tip roast
  • Porterhouse steaks
  • Cowboy Flavor roasting and grilling spice, 16 oz
  • Mitchell's Seasoning Blend, 5.5 oz
  • 80/20 ground chuck and 90/10 ground sirloin

For farmers and ranchers

The sources do not describe custom or private label slaughter for individual farmers and ranchers. FSIS reports no custom-exempt activity at this establishment, and no booking process, lot minimums, kill fees or cut and wrap charges are stated. The website says Harris Ranch partners with cattle ranchers whose cattle contribute to its programs and that the company handles both very large distributor volumes and smaller customized orders, but it does not state terms for accepting outside livestock. Producers should contact the plant at (559) 896-3081 or 800-742-1955 to ask whether any arrangement is available.

Harris Ranch Beef Company operates under a federal grant of inspection, so product from this plant can be sold anywhere in the United States, which matters if you sell online or across a state line. FSIS does not list a custom-exempt activity for this plant.

For households

Household buyers can find Harris Ranch beef in retail stores through the store locator on the company website, or order from the company online shop, which the site says ships to the door and offers cuts including tri tip roast and porterhouse steaks. The website does not describe a retail counter at the Selma plant, nor halves, quarters or bulk freezer bundles. For halal orders, store locations or questions, the website lists Amin Attia at 1.877.464.2525 or 559.299.6759.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Harris Ranch Beef Company

Does Harris Ranch Beef Company process animals for individual farmers?
Not according to the record on file. FSIS reports no custom-exempt activity, and the website describes retail, foodservice and export beef programs rather than customer owned livestock processing. Anyone with cattle to place should call (559) 896-3081 to ask directly.
Is the beef halal?
Some of it. The plant reports halal slaughter to FSIS, and the website says the halal program has been supervised and certified by Amin Attia since 1992. The site also states plainly that not all products produced by Harris Ranch are available as halal.
Can a household buy directly?
The website lists an online store that ships cuts such as tri tip roast and porterhouse steaks, plus a store locator for retail locations. No on-site retail counter or plant hours are stated in the sources.
What species are handled here?
Cattle are the only species reported slaughtered under inspection. FSIS also lists poultry processing activity at the establishment, but the website describes only beef products.

Federal record

Activities
Certification - Export; Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing
Grant on file
August 29, 2019
Size class
Large
Slaughter volume
Large volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.harrisranchbeef.com/, https://www.harrisranchbeef.com/retail/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Selma