Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M47612EST. V47612

Premium California Foods

USDA-inspected cattle and lamb slaughter and processing in Winton, California, with halal slaughter reported.

5881 N. Winton Way, Winton, California 95388 · Merced County

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptHalal

At a glance

  • ·Federal grant of inspection dated August 16, 2022.
  • ·Slaughters cattle and sheep and lamb under inspection, per FSIS.
  • ·Reports halal slaughter, custom-exempt slaughter, and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·FSIS size class Very Small; slaughter volume category 3.0, above 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Two phone numbers appear across sources: (209) 358-3535 in the federal record and (209) 652-9239 in a secondary directory.

About Premium California Foods

Premium California Foods operates at 5881 N. Winton Way in Winton, Merced County, California, under USDA FSIS establishment numbers M47612 and V47612. The federal record lists meat slaughter, voluntary meat slaughter, meat processing, and meat identification activities, with a grant of inspection dated August 16, 2022. FSIS classifies the plant as Very Small and places it in slaughter volume category 3.0, above the smallest tier of under 1,000 head per year.

Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle and sheep and lamb. The establishment reports halal slaughter, custom-exempt slaughter of animals owned by the customer with packaging marked Not for Sale, and retail-exempt sales. The federal phone number on file is (209) 358-3535; a secondary directory listing shows (209) 652-9239 and the email Info@PremiumCalFoods.com.

No website was on file for this record, and no website text was available for review. Secondary search snippets reference a site at premiumcalfoods.com describing services from livestock procurement to custom cuts, and a directory entry describing slaughter and processing services serving the broader Central Valley. Details beyond the federal record, including hours, pricing, booking practices, and retail offerings, are not yet on file.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Voluntary slaughter, meat
  • Meat processing
  • Meat identification
  • Custom-exempt slaughter for animal owners
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Halal slaughter
  • Livestock procurement (per secondary listing)
  • Custom cuts (per secondary listing)

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowssheeplambs

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists cattle and sheep and lamb as species slaughtered under inspection, along with custom-exempt slaughter in which the customer owns the animal and the packaged meat is marked Not for Sale. Halal slaughter is reported. FSIS lists the plant as Very Small with a slaughter volume category of 3.0, meaning it handles more than 1,000 head per year. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill fees, cut and wrap charges, and hanging weight policies are not stated in the available sources. Producers should contact the plant directly at the numbers on file to confirm whether it is taking work, as listed.

Premium California Foods reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, and a secondary directory entry describes it as offering custom cuts, but no retail counter hours, product list, bundle or half and quarter pricing, delivery, shipping, or online ordering is stated in the available sources. Households interested in buying should contact the establishment directly to confirm what is available.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Premium California Foods

What animals does this plant slaughter?
Cattle and sheep and lamb, according to the species reported to FSIS. No other species are listed in the federal record.
Is halal slaughter available?
The establishment reports halal slaughter to FSIS. Details on certifying body, supervision, or which species are handled halal are not stated in the available sources.
Can a farmer bring an animal for personal use?
The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Scheduling, fees, and minimums are not stated in the available sources.
Does it sell meat directly to households?
Retail-exempt sales are reported to FSIS, and a secondary listing mentions custom cuts, but no retail hours, products, prices, or shipping information is on file.

Federal record

Activities
Identification - Meat; Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
August 16, 2022
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Medium volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Winton