Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M45422EST. V45422

Saba Livestock

USDA-inspected halal beef and lamb slaughter and processing plant in Orland, California.

1230 Highway 99 W., Orland, California 95963 · Glenn County

sabafarm.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptHalal

At a glance

  • ·Federally inspected for cattle, sheep, and lamb slaughter plus meat processing, as listed by FSIS.
  • ·Reports both halal slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals.
  • ·Listed by the company as the Orland wholesale site of Saba Meat and Poultry, which also operates retail counters in Oakland, San Francisco, and Stockton.
  • ·FSIS size class small, slaughter volume category 2.0.
  • ·FSIS lists the address ZIP as 95963 while the company website shows 96021 for the same street address.

About Saba Livestock

Saba Livestock operates a small USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant at 1230 Highway 99 W. in Orland, Glenn County, California, under establishment number M45422+V45422. The federal record lists meat slaughter, voluntary meat slaughter, meat processing, and meat identification activities, with a grant of inspection on file dated October 16, 2015. Cattle, sheep, and lamb are reported as the species slaughtered under inspection. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and it reports halal slaughter to FSIS. Its FSIS slaughter volume category is 2.0, above the smallest reported tier of under 1,000 head per year.

The Orland site is listed on the sabafarm.com website as the wholesale location of Saba Meat and Poultry, a family owned business that the site says began in 1998 and has grown to retail and wholesale locations including Oakland, San Francisco, Sacramento, and Stockton. The website states that the Sacramento and Orland wholesale locations are USDA-approved facilities. The company describes zabiha halal, hand slaughtered practice, states it is certified halal by HFSAA, and says animals are processed at the point of sale so that most product is sold fresh rather than frozen. Customers are described as able to view the animals and the process and to specify cuts.

Two details differ between sources. FSIS lists the Orland address with ZIP code 95963, while the company website lists the same street address with ZIP code 96021. The website is organized around the multi-location Saba Meat and Poultry retail and wholesale business rather than the Orland plant specifically, so plant-level details such as hours, scheduling, kill days, and fees for farmers are not stated in the material on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Voluntary slaughter, meat
  • Meat processing
  • Meat identification
  • Custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale
  • Halal slaughter
  • Cutting to customer specification (as described by the company website)
  • Wholesale supply to affiliated retail locations

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullssheeplambs

Products and retail

  • Beef leg
  • Beef steak
  • Beef mix
  • Cross shank, chamorro
  • Boneless beef chuck steak
  • Boneless beef ribeye roll
  • Beef stomach
  • Beef shoulder
  • Beef bone
  • Beef tripe
  • Cow feet
  • Liver
  • Beef tongue
  • Ground beef
  • Long ribs
  • Oxtail
  • Whole lamb
  • Lamb neck
  • Lamb leg
  • Lamb head
  • Lamb mix
  • Lamb feet
  • Lamb liver
  • Lamb shoulder
  • Lamb chops

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record shows Saba Livestock is approved for meat slaughter and processing and reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Species reported slaughtered under inspection are cattle, sheep, and lamb. The plant also reports halal slaughter. Nothing in the sources on file states booking procedures, lead times, kill day schedules, minimums, hanging weight or per-head fees, cut and wrap charges, or whether livestock from outside producers is accepted, so a producer should call (530) 865-4440 to confirm before hauling.

Saba Livestock reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The Orland site is listed on the company website as a wholesale location, with phone numbers (530) 865-4440 and (530) 517-2111 and email sabalivestock@gmail.com. Affiliated retail counters selling Saba beef, lamb and goat, poultry, and rabbit are listed in Oakland, San Francisco, and Stockton, with a second wholesale location in Sacramento. The company describes made-to-order processing, product that is generally not frozen, and cuts done to customer preference. Halves, quarters, bundle pricing, delivery, and shipping are not addressed in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Saba Livestock

Does Saba Livestock do halal slaughter?
Yes. The plant reports halal slaughter to FSIS, and the company website describes zabiha halal, hand slaughtered practice and states certification by HFSAA.
Can I bring my own animal for processing?
The federal record indicates the establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale. Scheduling, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources on file, so call the plant to confirm.
What species are slaughtered here?
Cattle, sheep, and lamb are the species reported to FSIS as slaughtered under inspection at the Orland establishment. The company website also lists poultry, rabbit, and goat across its other locations, but the federal record for this establishment covers meat only.
What are the hours and is there a retail counter in Orland?
Hours are not stated in any source on file. The website lists Orland as a wholesale location and lists separate retail addresses in Oakland, San Francisco, and Stockton. Whether the Orland site sells to walk-in households is not stated.

Federal record

Activities
Identification - Meat; Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
October 16, 2015
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Small volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.fsis.usda.gov/inspection/fsis-inspected-establishments/saba-livestock, https://www.sabafarm.com/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Orland