Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M2764EST. V2764

Corsentino Meat Processing, LLC

Doing business as Hwy 10 Meat Processing

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant on State Hwy 10 in Walsenburg, Colorado.

2681 State Hwy 10, Walsenburg, Colorado 81089 · Huerfano County

hwy10meatprocessing.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt slaughter reported (Not for Sale packaging)Retail-exempt sales reported

At a glance

  • ·FSIS very small establishment; reported slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb slaughtered under inspection; bison, lamb, and goat processing listed on the price list.
  • ·Both inspected and custom-exempt work reported to FSIS, with retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Beef dry-aged fourteen days, with prolonged aging at $10 per day as listed.
  • ·As listed on the website, wild game is not being accepted for processing in 2026.

About Corsentino Meat Processing, LLC

Corsentino Meat Processing, LLC, doing business as Hwy 10 Meat Processing, operates at 2681 State Hwy 10 in Walsenburg, Huerfano County, Colorado, under establishment numbers M2764 and V2764. The federal record lists Meat Processing, Meat Slaughter, Voluntary Processing - Meat, and Voluntary Slaughter - Meat, with a grant of inspection date on file of January 21, 2026. FSIS classes the plant as very small, and its reported slaughter volume category is under 1,000 head per year. Species reported slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales.

The plant's website describes a family-owned and operated facility in southern Colorado run by fourth generation farmers, serving ranchers, hunters, and anyone wanting home grown meat. The site announces that the operation is now USDA certified and directs customers to call the office to schedule an appointment. A related page refers to Corsentino Cattle and states that the family owns the entire process from cattle to custom cuts. Beef is dry-aged fourteen days as listed, with prolonged aging available for an added daily fee.

Published price lists cover beef, pork, lamb and goat, and bison processing, plus wild game rates. As listed on the prices page, the plant is not currently processing wild game for 2026. The site notes that smoked and cured products, including hams, bacon, Canadian bacon, snack sticks, and summer sausage, are not USDA. The FSIS record gives the street address as 2681 State Hwy 10, which matches the website contact page; site metadata elsewhere lists 2689 State Hwy 10. Hours of operation are not stated in the sources on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Voluntary slaughter and voluntary processing (meat)
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale packaging)
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Beef slaughter and cut and wrap
  • Pork slaughter and processing
  • Lamb and goat processing
  • Bison slaughter and processing
  • Kill and chill service
  • Dry aging of beef, fourteen days, with prolonged aging available
  • Cooler and freezer holding (fees apply)
  • Carcass splitting and quartering
  • Offal processing
  • Online cut sheet submission
  • Wild game processing (listed as not currently accepted for 2026)

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssowssheeplambs

Products and retail

  • Beef steaks including rib-eye, T-bone, NY strip, filet, top sirloin, flank, and skirt
  • Beef roasts including chuck, brisket, top round, bottom round, eye of round, arm
  • Stew meat, cross cut shanks, ribs, ground beef
  • Offal: tail, tongue, liver, heart, bones
  • Snack sticks
  • Summer sausage
  • Pork chops, shoulder, loin, spare ribs
  • Fresh and smoked hams
  • Bacon, Canadian bacon, jowl
  • Pork sausage
  • Added beef fat for grinding

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS as well as inspected slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb, with a reported volume of under 1,000 head per year. The website asks customers to call the office to schedule an appointment, and the contact form asks for the animals, the number of head, and the preferred month to get on the books. Published rates as listed include a beef slaughter fee of $95 plus $1.20 per pound processing with a 500 pound minimum carcass weight and a 1,000 pound live weight minimum, with a $75 additional fee for beef under that weight; pork at an $85 slaughter fee plus $1.15 per pound processing with a 200 pound live weight minimum and a $50 additional fee under that; lamb and goat processing at $200; and bison at a $175 slaughter fee plus $1.70 per pound processing with a 500 pound minimum carcass weight. Emergency appointments are $50. Added fat is $3 per pound, sausage has a 25 pound minimum, and snack sticks and summer sausage start at $4.49 and $3.99 per pound with 25 pound minimums. Splitting a carcass is $25 and quartering is $100. Cooler only is $15 per day, and freezer storage is $10 per day beginning five days after the first pick-up call. Cut sheets must be received within five days of drop-off or a standard cut is done, unmarked items become ground, offal must be selected on the day of drop-off, and any meat left after 30 days becomes property of the plant. Prices are stated to be subject to change.

Corsentino Meat Processing, LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The federal record shows retail-exempt sales reported to FSIS, but the sources on file do not describe a retail counter, bundles, delivery, shipping, or online meat sales, so those details are not yet on file. Households buying a whole or half animal from a producer can use the plant's online beef and pork cut sheets, which allow selection of steak or chop thickness, packages per cut, ground beef pounds per package, roast weights, offal, and snack stick or summer sausage. Beef is dry-aged fourteen days as listed. Smoked and cured items such as hams, bacon, Canadian bacon, snack sticks, and summer sausage are noted on the price list as not USDA. Prompt pick-up is requested because freezer space is limited.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Corsentino Meat Processing, LLC

What animals does this plant slaughter?
Cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb are reported to FSIS as slaughtered under inspection. The website price list also shows bison slaughter and processing, and lamb and goat processing.
Can I bring my own animal for my own freezer?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. The website asks customers to call the office to schedule an appointment and to submit animal type, count, and preferred month through the contact form.
Does it process deer, elk, or other wild game?
Wild game rates are published for antelope, elk, bear, and deer, but the price list states the plant is not currently processing any wild game for 2026.
What are the hours and is the plant taking new bookings?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file, and the registry does not confirm current availability. The website directs customers to call (719) 890-4581 or email Hwy10meats@gmail.com to schedule.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
January 21, 2026
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.fsis.usda.gov/inspection/fsis-inspected-establishments/corsentino-meat-processing-llc, https://www.hwy10meatprocessing.com/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Walsenburg