Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M45729EST. P45729EST. V45729

Westcliffe Meats

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing for beef, bison, yak, pork, lamb and goat in Westcliffe, Colorado.

1358 CR 140, Westcliffe, Colorado 81252 · Custer County

westcliffemeats.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Very small FSIS establishment with meat and poultry slaughter and processing activities, plus voluntary rabbit slaughter, as listed.
  • ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter (Not for Sale) and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Published price list and online cut sheets for beef, pork, lamb and goat, plus a wild game cut sheet page.
  • ·Handles beef, bison, yak, pork, domestic elk, lamb and goat, per the website; FSIS lists cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, bison, and elk or deer.
  • ·Product is vacuum sealed and boxed, with custom labels available on request.

About Westcliffe Meats

Westcliffe Meats is a very small USDA-inspected plant at 1358 CR 140 in Westcliffe, Custer County, Colorado, operating under establishment numbers M45729, P45729 and V45729. The FSIS directory lists activities covering meat slaughter and processing, poultry slaughter and processing, meat identification, and voluntary slaughter and processing of meat and rabbit. The grant of inspection on file is dated October 26, 2021. The plant reports slaughtering cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, bison, and elk or deer under inspection, with a slaughter volume category of under 1,000 head per year. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale, and retail-exempt sales.

The website describes the business as a locally owned and operated meat packing plant at the foot of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains, in operation since 2015, and states it is the only USDA inspected facility in the Wet Mountain Valley, serving Custer County and surrounding areas. It describes a safe and humane handling processing program. Species listed on the website include beef, bison, yak, pork, and other species. Products are vacuum sealed and boxed, and custom labels are available on request.

Published pricing and detailed cut sheets are posted for beef, pork, lamb and goat, along with a wild game cut sheet page. The site also states that various retail cuts are available for purchase. Details beyond the federal record and the website text above, such as delivery, shipping, or online retail ordering, are not on file.

Services

  • USDA-inspected slaughter
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry slaughter and processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale)
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Voluntary slaughter and processing, including rabbit
  • Vacuum sealing and boxing
  • Custom labeling on request
  • Curing, smoking and sausage mixing for hogs
  • Ground beef with added beef fat
  • Patty making
  • Wild game processing

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogssowssheeplambsbisonelkyak

Products and retail

  • Retail cuts
  • Beef: chuck roast, arm roast, flat iron, chuck tender, shank, brisket, ribeye, rib steak, rib roast, New York strip, filet, T-bone, flank steak, skirt steak, back ribs, short ribs, minute steak, stew meat, sirloin steak, tri-tip, sirloin tip, top round, bottom round, eye of round, ground beef, bone marrow, knuckle and soup bones, dog bones
  • Beef specialty cuts on request: fajita meat, flanken or Korean short ribs, tomahawks, cowboy steaks
  • Pork: butt roast, shoulder roast, shoulder steak, country style ribs, spare ribs, tenderloin, pork chops, bacon, whole ham, ham roast, ham steak, hocks, jowl, ground pork
  • Pork sausage: breakfast sausage, Italian sausage, chorizo, brats
  • Lamb and goat: neck, shoulder roast, shoulder blade chop, arm chop, shoulder stew meat, sirloin chop, leg of lamb, shank, rib chop or rack, riblets, loin chop, ground
  • Bison, yak and domestic elk processing

Hours as listed

8 am to 4 pm Monday - Friday

For farmers and ranchers

The website posts per-head and per-pound pricing. Beef is $125 slaughter per head plus $1.25 per pound carcass weight processing, with a 500 pound minimum carcass weight charged, $15 extra slaughter fee for carcasses over 1,000 pounds hanging weight, $15 extra for horns over 36 inches, $50 for skinning the head, $2.00 per pound for adding beef fat to ground, patties at a $125 minimum then $1.25 per batch, and $0.25 per pound extra for non standard cutting outside the plant cut sheet. Bison is $150 slaughter with $1.55 per pound processing and a 500 pound minimum carcass weight; yak uses the same rates with a 300 pound minimum. Domestic elk under USDA inspection is $165 per head slaughter and $2 per pound processing. Lamb and goat are $160 per animal. Hogs are $100 slaughter, $1.15 per pound processing, $1.25 per pound curing, $2.50 per pound smoking, and $1.50 per pound for mixing sausage, with 25 pound minimums on breakfast, Italian, chorizo and brat sausage. The beef cut sheet states no custom quarters. Online cut sheets are provided for beef, pork, lamb and goat, and a wild game cut sheet page is posted. After notification of pickup, an additional fee of $5.00 per day is charged after 7 days until meat is picked up. Booking procedures and scheduling lead times are not stated in the sources.

Westcliffe Meats reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website states that Westcliffe Meats has various retail cuts available for purchase, and the plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. Finished product is vacuum sealed and boxed. Household buyers who are receiving meat from a farmer's animal can be named as the recipient on the beef, pork, or lamb and goat cut sheets, and boxing options on the beef sheet include whole beef, whole beef boxed in halves or quarters, half beef, and half beef boxed in quarters, though the beef cut sheet states no custom quarters are sold. Retail prices, bundles, delivery, shipping, and online ordering are not stated in the sources.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Westcliffe Meats

What species can I bring for slaughter?
FSIS lists cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, bison, and elk or deer as species slaughtered under inspection, along with poultry slaughter and voluntary rabbit slaughter. The website adds yak and lists beef, bison, yak, pork, and other species.
What does processing cost?
The website posts $125 per head beef slaughter plus $1.25 per pound carcass weight processing with a 500 pound minimum; bison $150 plus $1.55 per pound; yak $150 plus $1.55 per pound with a 300 pound minimum; domestic elk $165 plus $2 per pound; lamb or goat $160 per animal; hogs $100 plus $1.15 per pound, with added fees for curing, smoking and sausage mixing. Prices are as posted on the website and are not confirmed as current.
Can I buy meat directly from the plant?
The website states that various retail cuts are available for purchase, and the establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. Specific retail prices, product availability, delivery and shipping are not stated in the sources.
What happens if I am late picking up my order?
The pork and lamb and goat cut sheets state that once the customer is notified of pickup, an additional fee of $5.00 per day is charged after 7 days until the meat is picked up.

Federal record

Activities
Identification - Meat; Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Rabbit
Grant on file
October 26, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.westcliffemeats.com/, https://www.westcliffemeats.com/pricing) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Westcliffe