Federally inspected establishment
EST. M9287EST. V9287Ovid Meat Co., LLC
Doing business as D & L Meat Co.
USDA-inspected slaughter and meat processing plant in Ovid, Colorado, in Sedgwick County.
115 Main Street, Ovid, Colorado 80744 · Sedgwick County
At a glance
- ·Federal grant of inspection dated July 13, 2021; FSIS size class Very Small.
- ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison under inspection, as reported to FSIS.
- ·Listed for export certification in addition to slaughter and processing.
- ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.
- ·No website on file; hours, pricing, and product details are not yet on file.
About Ovid Meat Co., LLC
Ovid Meat Co., LLC, doing business as D & L Meat Co., operates at 115 Main Street in Ovid, Colorado, in Sedgwick County. The plant holds federal establishment numbers M9287 and V9287, with a grant of inspection date on file of July 13, 2021. FSIS lists it under the size class Very Small.
The federal record lists the establishment for Meat Slaughter, Meat Processing, Voluntary Slaughter and Voluntary Processing for meat, and Certification for Export. Species reported slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison. FSIS places the plant in slaughter volume category 1.0, meaning under 1,000 head per year. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.
No website is on file for this establishment. A processor directory listing describes D & L Meat Company as offering custom beef and hog processing for farmers, which is consistent with the custom-exempt slaughter reported to FSIS. Beyond the federal record and that listing, details such as hours, pricing, booking lead times, cut and wrap options, and retail inventory are not yet on file.
This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.
Services
- Meat slaughter under federal inspection
- Meat processing under federal inspection
- Custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals
- Voluntary slaughter and voluntary processing of meat
- Export certification
- Retail-exempt sales
Species under inspection
Products and retail
Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.
For farmers and ranchers
The plant reports both inspected slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, so producers may be able to have animals harvested either for sale by the carcass or cut, or as custom work returned in packages marked Not for Sale. Species reported slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison. A processor directory listing describes custom beef and hog processing for farmers. Slaughter volume is in the FSIS category of under 1,000 head per year, so capacity is limited. Booking procedures, scheduling lead times, minimums, kill fees, hanging weight charges, and cut and wrap details are not stated in the sources on file. Producers should call (970) 463-5657 to confirm current availability.
Ovid Meat Co., LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.
For households
The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which generally indicates some direct sales of meat to household customers at the plant. The sources on file do not name specific products, cuts, bundles, halves or quarters, online ordering, delivery, or shipping. Buyers should call (970) 463-5657 to ask what is available.
If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.
Questions about Ovid Meat Co., LLC
What species does this plant slaughter?
Can I bring my own animal for custom processing?
Can households buy meat directly from the plant?
Is the plant currently taking appointments?
Federal record
- Activities
- Certification - Export; Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
- Grant on file
- July 13, 2021
- Size class
- Very Small
- Slaughter volume
- Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)
Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.
Other USDA plants near Ovid
- Wisdom Natural Poultry39 mi
Haxtun · Poultry
- Defiance 326, LLC52 mi
Sterling · Cattle, Hogs · custom-exempt
- Troudt Meats, LLC60 mi
Otis · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Swine & Bovine Processing, LLC60 mi
Wray · Cattle, Bison · custom-exempt
- Colorado Lamb Processors81 mi
Brush · Sheep and lamb
- Prairie Meats LLC81 mi
Brush · species not reported · custom-exempt