Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M6496EST. P6496EST. V6496

Prairie Meats LLC

Doing business as Brush Locker

USDA-inspected meat and poultry processor in Brush, Colorado, with custom-exempt slaughter as listed.

128 S. Clayton Street, Brush, Colorado 80723 · Morgan County

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Federal grant of inspection date on file: November 12, 2021.
  • ·FSIS size class: Very Small.
  • ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Meat and poultry processing plus voluntary meat slaughter reported to FSIS.
  • ·No website on file; details beyond the federal record are not yet documented.

About Prairie Meats LLC

Prairie Meats LLC, doing business as Brush Locker, operates at 128 S. Clayton Street in Brush, Colorado, in Morgan County. The plant holds federal establishment numbers M6496, P6496 and V6496, with a grant of inspection date on file of November 12, 2021. FSIS classifies it as a very small establishment.

The activities reported to FSIS are meat processing, poultry processing, voluntary processing of meat and voluntary slaughter of meat. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales. Species handled are not reported to FSIS.

No website is on file for this establishment. Secondary directory listings describe Prairie Meats as providing slaughter and processing services in Brush serving northeastern Colorado farms and ranchers, but details such as hours, pricing, booking practices, cut and wrap options and product lists are not yet on file beyond the federal record.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat processing
  • Poultry processing
  • Voluntary meat slaughter
  • Voluntary meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals
  • Retail-exempt sales

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it can process animals owned by the customer with resulting packages marked Not for Sale, alongside federally inspected meat and poultry processing and voluntary meat slaughter. Species accepted are not reported to FSIS, and no information on booking windows, lead times, minimums, kill fees or cut and wrap charges is on file. Farmers should contact the plant at (970) 842-2660 to confirm what species and services are available and whether work is being scheduled.

Prairie Meats LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which generally allows direct sales to household customers, and the trade name Brush Locker appears in the federal record. No retail hours, product list, bundle or half and quarter offerings, delivery or shipping details are on file. Households should call (970) 842-2660 to ask what is available for purchase.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Prairie Meats LLC

Is this plant USDA inspected?
Yes. It appears in the USDA FSIS directory under establishment numbers M6496, P6496 and V6496, with a grant of inspection date on file of November 12, 2021.
Can I bring my own animal for processing?
The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it processes animals owned by the customer and marks the packages Not for Sale. Scheduling terms are not stated in the sources, so contact the plant directly.
What species does it handle?
Species detail is not reported to FSIS. The federal record shows both meat and poultry processing activities, but specific species are not stated in any source on file.
What are the hours and is there a retail counter?
Hours are not stated in the sources. The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, but no retail counter details, product list or prices are on file.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Poultry Processing; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
November 12, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very Small establishment (FSIS size class)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Brush