Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M6463EST. V6463

Praire Meats, LLC

Doing business as Brush Locker

USDA-inspected hog slaughter and meat processing in Brush, Colorado, operating as Brush Locker.

29429 CR "R", Brush, Colorado 80723 · Morgan County

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·FSIS-listed for both meat slaughter and meat processing, establishment M6463+V6463.
  • ·Hogs are the species reported to FSIS as slaughtered under inspection.
  • ·Reports custom-exempt processing in addition to inspected work.
  • ·Very Small size class; slaughter volume category 3.0, above the under 1,000 head tier.
  • ·No website on file; directory listings differ on street address, showing 128 S Clayton St in Brush versus the county road address in the FSIS record.

About Praire Meats, LLC

Praire Meats, LLC, doing business as Brush Locker, is a USDA-inspected meat plant at 29429 CR "R" in Brush, Morgan County, Colorado. The establishment holds FSIS establishment numbers M6463 and V6463, with a grant of inspection on file dated February 9, 2015. FSIS lists the plant under Meat Processing, Meat Slaughter, Voluntary Processing - Meat, and Voluntary Slaughter - Meat, and classes it as Very Small.

The species reported to FSIS as slaughtered under inspection is hogs. The plant also reports custom-exempt processing, the category used for animals owned by a farmer or household and returned to that owner rather than sold. Its FSIS slaughter volume category is 3.0, above the smallest tier of under 1,000 head per year. The listed phone number is (970) 380-5153.

No website is on file for this establishment, and details beyond the federal record are not yet on file. Secondary directory listings for a Prairie Meats in Brush describe slaughter and processing services for area farms and ranchers, and one listing shows an address at 128 S Clayton St rather than the county road address in the FSIS directory. Hours, pricing, booking practices, retail sales, and cut and wrap options are not documented in the sources reviewed here.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Voluntary slaughter and voluntary processing, meat
  • Custom-exempt processing

Species under inspection

hogssowsroaster pigs

Products and retail

No retail products on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record shows a Very Small plant with both slaughter and processing activities, with hogs reported as the species slaughtered under inspection, plus custom-exempt processing for owner-returned meat. Its slaughter volume category of 3.0 places it above the smallest reported tier. Booking windows, scheduling lead times, kill day availability, minimums, per-head fees, and cut and wrap details are not stated in the sources on file. Farmers should contact the plant at (970) 380-5153 to confirm what species and dates it handles, since only hog slaughter appears in the FSIS record.

Praire Meats, LLC reports custom-exempt processing to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

Questions about Praire Meats, LLC

What animals does this plant slaughter?
The species reported to FSIS as slaughtered under inspection is hogs. No other species is listed in the federal record, and the sources do not state whether cattle, lambs, or goats are handled.
Can a farmer have an animal processed for personal use?
The establishment reports custom-exempt processing to FSIS, which covers animals processed and returned to the owner rather than sold. Scheduling terms, fees, and minimums are not stated in the sources on file.
Is there a retail counter or are bundles sold to households?
Nothing in the federal record or the available search results states that retail cuts, halves, quarters, bundles, delivery, or shipping are offered. That information is not yet on file.
What are the hours and the correct address?
Hours are not stated in any source reviewed. The FSIS directory lists 29429 CR "R", Brush, CO 80723, while a third party directory listing for Prairie Meats shows 128 S Clayton St, Brush, CO 80723. Callers can verify at (970) 380-5153.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
February 9, 2015
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Medium volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Brush