Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M31999EST. P31999

Thompson Farms Country Cured Meats

Doing business as Thompson Farms

Pasture-raised pork farm with an on-farm USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Dixie, Georgia.

2538 Dixie Rd, Dixie, Georgia 31629 · Brooks County

thompsonfarms.com

USDA inspectedNonGMO Project certified (per website)Animal Welfare certified by Global Animal Partnership (per website)

At a glance

  • ·Listed with FSIS for both meat slaughter and meat processing, small size class, grant of inspection date on file 2021-03-29.
  • ·Slaughter and processing occur on the same farm where the hogs are raised, according to the website.
  • ·Ships to 12 states, with orders after Thursday 4:00pm shipping the following Tuesday.
  • ·Two retail outlets described: the on-farm shop in Dixie and Herd and Passel in Thomasville.
  • ·No custom-exempt activity is reported to FSIS; the plant reports retail-exempt sales.

About Thompson Farms Country Cured Meats

Thompson Farms Country Cured Meats, doing business as Thompson Farms, is a USDA-inspected establishment at 2538 Dixie Rd in Dixie, Brooks County, Georgia. It holds meat and poultry establishment numbers M31999 and P31999 and is listed with FSIS for both meat slaughter and meat processing. FSIS classifies the plant as small, with a grant of inspection date on file of March 29, 2021. Species detail is not reported to FSIS. The plant reports retail-exempt sales and does not report custom-exempt activity.

The website describes a vertically integrated family business that raises, harvests, processes, and sells its own pork. The company states it raises pigs on pasture from farrow to finish, using breeds including Duroc, Berkshire, and, more recently, Iberico, with rotational grazing and NonGMO grain. Harvest and processing take place in the federally inspected facility on the farm. The site says the business has produced pork for retail and wholesale, locally and across the U.S., for the last two decades, and that products are sold online, at a shop on the farm, at the family's Herd and Passel meat shop in Thomasville, and through Whole Foods Market in the Florida, South, and Mid Atlantic regions.

The site states the pork is raised with no antibiotics or steroids and on an all vegetarian NonGMO diet, that it is certified NonGMO by the NonGMO Project, and that the operation is Animal Welfare certified by Global Animal Partnership. Beyond the pork program, the online store lists category tabs for beef and poultry, and the Thomasville shop is described as selling its own beef and local chicken alongside Thompson Farms pork. Details on services to outside livestock owners are limited to what appears on the contact page.

Services

  • Meat slaughter (as listed with FSIS)
  • Meat processing (as listed with FSIS)
  • On-farm retail meat shop
  • Online ordering with shipping
  • Wholesale sales
  • Fresh, smoked, and fully cooked product manufacturing
  • Special cuts and whole hog inquiries by phone

Products and retail

  • Smoked ham (not fully cooked)
  • Smoked ham hocks
  • Fresh sausage patties, mild, medium, or hot (sugar free)
  • Sugar free bacon
  • Bacon end slices
  • Fresh pork belly, whole or half, skin on or off
  • Fresh pork belly sliced at 1/4 inch
  • Smoked andouille sausage links
  • Italian bulk sausage (sugar free)
  • Italian pork sausage links (sugar free)
  • Pork bratwurst links
  • Uncured pork hot dogs (sugar free), fully cooked
  • Pork neck bones
  • 1st cut fresh pork chops
  • BBQ sauce
  • Insulated cooler bags and cutting boards

Hours as listed

Thompson Farms, Dixie: Mon - Fri, 8am-4pm, closed 12-1 during lunchtime. Herd and Passel, Thomasville: Tues - Fri 10am-6pm, Saturday 10am-2pm.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists this establishment for meat slaughter and meat processing under inspection, and no custom-exempt activity is reported to FSIS. The website presents the plant as an on-farm facility used to harvest and process pork raised on the company's own farms, and does not describe booking, minimums, kill dates, or cut and wrap fees for outside livestock. The contact page does invite calls at (229) 263-9074 for questions pertaining to processing, special cuts, and whole hogs, so a producer would need to call to learn whether outside animals are taken and on what terms. Nothing further about services to outside farmers is on file.

Thompson Farms Country Cured Meats operates under a federal grant of inspection, so product from this plant can be sold anywhere in the United States, which matters if you sell online or across a state line. FSIS does not list a custom-exempt activity for this plant.

For households

Households can order online for shipping, and the site states it ships to GA, FL, AL, MS, LA, SC, NC, TN, KY, VA, OH, and PA, with orders placed after Thursday at 4:00pm shipping the following Tuesday. There is a small retail shop at the farm in Dixie, Georgia, and retail pickup in Dixie can be arranged by phone. Products are also sold at Herd and Passel, a farm direct meat shop at the Thomasville Farmers' Market at 502 Smith Avenue, Thomasville, Georgia, which carries the pork along with its own beef and local chicken. The site also says products reach Whole Foods Market stores in the Florida, South, and Mid Atlantic regions, with availability varying by store. Individual cuts are priced per package online, for example fresh pork belly averaging 10 lbs whole and 5 lbs half; halves and quarters of animals are not described. Some items are listed as backordered.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Thompson Farms Country Cured Meats

Will Thompson Farms process a hog or steer that I raise?
Not stated. The federal record shows no custom-exempt activity, and the website describes the plant as processing the family's own pasture-raised pork. The contact page invites calls at (229) 263-9074 about processing, special cuts, and whole hogs, so a producer would need to ask directly.
What species does the plant handle?
Species detail is not reported to FSIS. The website is centered on pork, and the online store also lists beef and poultry categories; the Thomasville shop is described as selling its own beef and local chicken.
Can I buy meat directly, and can it be shipped?
Yes as listed. The site sells individual cuts online and states it ships to GA, FL, AL, MS, LA, SC, NC, TN, KY, VA, OH, and PA. There is also a shop on the farm in Dixie and retail pickup by arrangement.
Are half or whole animal packages available to households?
Not stated. The website lists individual retail items and whole or half pork bellies, but does not describe halves or quarters of carcasses or bundle boxes.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
March 29, 2021
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Small establishment (FSIS size class)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://thompsonfarms.com/, https://thompsonfarms.com/pages/about-us) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Dixie