Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M31999A

Thompson Farms

Doing business as Thompson Farms

Family farm in Dixie, Georgia that raises pasture pork and slaughters and processes it in its own federally inspected plant.

2538 Dixie Road, Dixie, Georgia 31629 · Brooks County

thompsonfarms.com

USDA inspectedNonGMO Project certified pork, per the websiteAnimal Welfare certified by Global Animal Partnership, per the website

At a glance

  • ·Vertically integrated: the same family raises the hogs and slaughters and processes them in an onsite federally inspected plant.
  • ·FSIS lists cattle and hogs as species slaughtered under inspection; the website's product line and descriptions center on pork.
  • ·Ships to 12 states, with orders placed after Thursday 4:00pm shipping the following Tuesday.
  • ·Retail available at the farm in Dixie, at Herd and Passel in Thomasville, and at Whole Foods Market in the Florida, South and Mid Atlantic regions.
  • ·Website states pork is raised on pasture, farrow to finish, with no antibiotics or steroids and a NonGMO diet.

About Thompson Farms

Thompson Farms operates a federally inspected slaughter and processing facility at 2538 Dixie Road in Dixie, Brooks County, Georgia, under establishment number M31999A. The plant reports both Meat Slaughter and Meat Processing activities to FSIS, with cattle and hogs listed as species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS classes the establishment as small, with a slaughter volume category of 2.0 and a grant of inspection date on file of March 25, 2021. No custom-exempt activity is reported to FSIS.

The business describes itself as the farmer, butcher, processor and retailer in one family operation. According to its website, hogs are raised farrow to finish on pasture on the family farms, never confined to crates or cages, under a rotational grazing system with rye grass and millet forage plus NonGMO grain. Breeds named include the heritage Duroc and Berkshire, and more recently Iberico. The site states the pork is certified NonGMO by the NonGMO Project and Animal Welfare certified by Global Animal Partnership, and that the pork is raised with no antibiotics or steroids and an all vegetarian NonGMO diet. The onsite butchery produces fresh, smoked and fully cooked items.

Products reach buyers through an on farm shop in Dixie, an online store that ships to a list of eastern and southern states, a family run retail shop called Herd and Passel at the Thomasville Farmers' Market in Thomasville, Georgia, and Whole Foods Market stores in the Florida, South and Mid Atlantic regions, where availability varies by store. The website's contact page invites calls about processing, online orders, special cuts, whole hogs and retail pickup in Dixie, but no booking terms, minimums or cut and wrap fees for outside livestock are stated in the sources on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Cattle and hog slaughter as reported to FSIS
  • Smoking and fully cooked product manufacture
  • On farm retail meat shop
  • Online ordering with shipping
  • Wholesale and retail supply
  • Special cuts and whole hog inquiries by phone, as listed

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssows

Products and retail

  • Smoked ham (not fully cooked)
  • Smoked ham hocks
  • Fresh sausage patties, mild, medium or hot (sugar free)
  • Sugar free bacon
  • Bacon end slices
  • Fresh pork belly, whole or half, skin on or off
  • Fresh pork belly sliced, quarter inch slices, 1 lb packs
  • Smoked andouille sausage links
  • Italian bulk sausage (sugar free)
  • Italian pork sausage links (sugar free)
  • Pork bratwurst links
  • Uncured pork hot dogs (sugar free), 18 oz packages, fully cooked
  • Pork neck bones
  • 1st cut fresh pork chops
  • BBQ sauce, cutting boards and insulated cooler bags

Hours as listed

Thompson Farms, Dixie: Monday through Friday, 8am to 4pm, closed 12 to 1 during lunchtime. Herd and Passel, Thomasville: Tuesday through Friday 10am to 6pm, Saturday 10am to 2pm.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists both slaughter and processing activity for cattle and hogs, and no custom-exempt activity is reported to FSIS. The website presents the plant as an onsite facility used to harvest and process pork raised on the family's own farms rather than as a service plant for outside livestock. The contact page does say to call (229) 263-9074 with questions pertaining to processing, special cuts and whole hogs. Booking procedures, scheduling lead times, minimums, hanging weight terms and cut and wrap fees for customer animals are not stated in the sources on file.

Thompson Farms operates under a federal grant of inspection, so product from this plant can be sold anywhere in the United States, which matters if you sell online or across a state line. FSIS does not list a custom-exempt activity for this plant.

For households

Households can buy directly from the small shop on the farm at 2538 Dixie Road in Dixie, Georgia, or order online for shipping to GA, FL, AL, MS, LA, SC, NC, TN, KY, VA, OH and PA. The site states that orders placed after Thursday at 4:00pm ship out the following Tuesday, and some items are listed as backordered and shipping when back in stock. Pork is also sold at Herd and Passel, a family run shop at the Thomasville Farmers' Market, 502 Smith Avenue, Thomasville, Georgia, which the website says also carries its own beef, local chicken and more. Selected products are sold through Whole Foods Market in the Florida, South and Mid Atlantic regions, with availability varying by store. Halves, quarters or freezer bundles are not mentioned in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Thompson Farms

Does Thompson Farms process livestock for other farmers?
Not stated. FSIS reports no custom-exempt activity, and the website describes the plant as processing the family's own pasture raised hogs. The contact page does list processing, special cuts and whole hogs as phone inquiry topics, so a farmer would need to call (229) 263-9074 to ask.
What species does the plant slaughter?
The federal record lists cattle and hogs as species slaughtered under inspection. The website focuses on pork from the family's pasture raised hogs; its Thomasville shop is described as also selling beef and local chicken.
Can I have meat shipped to my home?
Yes, per the website. It ships to GA, FL, AL, MS, LA, SC, NC, TN, KY, VA, OH and PA. Orders placed after Thursday at 4:00pm are shipped out the following Tuesday.
Are halves or quarters available?
Not stated in the sources on file. The online store lists individual cuts and packaged items such as pork belly by the whole or half belly, and the contact page mentions whole hog questions by phone.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
March 25, 2021
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Small volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://thompsonfarms.com/, https://thompsonfarms.com/pages/about-us) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Dixie