Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M34729

White Oak Pastures

On-farm USDA-inspected beef abattoir and direct-to-consumer meat business in Bluffton, Georgia.

22775B US Highway 27, Bluffton, Georgia 39824 · Early County

whiteoakpastures.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCertified Grassfed by the American Grassfed Association (cattle, per website)

At a glance

  • ·Federal record lists both meat slaughter and meat processing, with cattle as the only species slaughtered under inspection.
  • ·FSIS slaughter volume category 1, under 1,000 head per year, with small size class.
  • ·Custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales are both reported to FSIS.
  • ·Website describes an on-farm, USDA-inspected, zero-waste abattoir with hand butchering.
  • ·Direct-to-consumer shipping with free ground network shipping over $249, as listed.

About White Oak Pastures

White Oak Pastures operates a USDA-inspected meat plant at 22775B US Highway 27 in Bluffton, Early County, Georgia, under establishment number M34729. The federal record lists both meat slaughter and meat processing activities, a small size class, and a grant of inspection dated July 16, 2021. Cattle are the only species reported slaughtered under federal inspection, and the FSIS slaughter volume category is 1, meaning under 1,000 head per year. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.

The company website describes White Oak Pastures as a six generation family farm established in 1866, and states that its cattle are grass-fed and grass-finished and are processed in an on-farm, USDA-inspected, zero-waste abattoir so that the beef never leaves the farm's possession until it is en route to customers. The site states that steaks, roasts, organs, and bones are hand-butchered with a knife, that livestock are raised without antibiotics, steroids, or added growth hormones, and that the cattle are Certified Grassfed by the American Grassfed Association. Beef is described as unaged unless specifically marked otherwise.

Beyond beef, the website sells heritage pork, pastured chicken, turkey, guinea, rabbit, grassfed lamb and goat, spring-raised trout, honey, and artisan goods including sausages, gourmet grinds, jerky, bone broths, seasonings, and freeze-dried organ supplements. The site does not state which of those species are handled at the federally inspected establishment; the federal record reports cattle slaughter only. The farm also lists a general store, farm tours, a dining experience, cabin rentals, and an education center. Retail hours, custom booking procedures, and cut and wrap fees are not stated in the sources on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection (cattle)
  • Meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale packaging)
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Hand butchering of steaks, roasts, organs, and bones
  • Online retail ordering and shipping
  • On-farm general store
  • Farm tours, dining, and cabin rentals

Species under inspection

beef cattleheifersbulls

Products and retail

  • Grassfed ground beef, including 80/20 blend and organ blend
  • Grassfed beef steaks, including NY strip and tenderloin tips and tails
  • Briskets, ribs, and roasts
  • Beef bones, organs, fat, and tallow
  • Freeze-dried organ supplements
  • Heritage pork, including bacon, belly, chops, grinds, and sausages
  • Pastured chicken, turkey, and guinea, whole, halves, and parts
  • Grassfed lamb and goat
  • Pastured rabbit
  • Spring-raised trout
  • Sausages, gourmet grinds, jerky, bone broths and soups
  • Seasonings, sauces, and marinades
  • Honey and jarred or preserved goods
  • Meat bundles and subscription boxes

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record shows White Oak Pastures reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer and returns packages marked Not for Sale. Cattle are the only species reported slaughtered under inspection, and reported slaughter volume is under 1,000 head per year, which is a small footprint. The website describes the abattoir as an on-farm facility used for the farm's own grass-fed and grass-finished cattle and does not describe booking windows, minimums, scheduling contacts, hanging weight pricing, or cut and wrap fees for outside livestock. Producers should contact the plant at (229) 641-2081 to confirm whether outside custom work is available, as listed.

White Oak Pastures reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website operates an online store with cuts sold by the pack and by bundle, plus subscription boxes. Shipping terms stated on the site are free shipping on ground network orders over $249 and $15 perishable shipping on ground network orders over $149. Listed prices on the pages fetched include grassfed ground beef 80/20 at $13.99 per one pound pack, grassfed ground beef organ blend at $11.99 per one pound pack, steak bites at $23.99 per one pound pack, and an eight ounce NY strip steak at $21.99. The site references a general store, farm tours, and a dining experience in Bluffton, and invites visitors to the farm. Halves and quarters of beef are not described in the sources on file, though the product filters include bulk and cow kit categories. Retail hours are not stated.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about White Oak Pastures

Does White Oak Pastures process animals for other farmers?
The federal record shows the establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, which covers animals owned by the customer and returned marked Not for Sale. The website describes the abattoir in connection with the farm's own cattle and does not state terms for outside animals. Call (229) 641-2081 to confirm.
What species are slaughtered under federal inspection here?
FSIS lists cattle only. The website sells pork, poultry, lamb, goat, rabbit, and trout, but does not state where those species are slaughtered or processed.
Can households buy meat directly?
Yes, according to the website, which runs an online store with individual cuts, bundles, and subscription boxes, and references an on-farm general store. Free shipping is stated for ground network orders over $249, with $15 perishable shipping over $149.
What are the retail hours?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file.
Is the beef grassfed and certified?
The website states all cattle are grass-fed and grass-finished, Certified Grassfed by the American Grassfed Association, and raised without antibiotics, steroids, or added growth hormones.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
July 16, 2021
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://whiteoakpastures.com/, https://whiteoakpastures.com/collections/shop-by) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Bluffton