Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M344

Elmwood Locker Service

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Elmwood, Illinois, handling cattle, hogs, and sheep.

214 South Magnolia Street, Elmwood, Illinois 61529 · Peoria County

Facebook page

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·USDA FSIS establishment M344, listed for Meat Slaughter and Meat Processing.
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection, as reported to FSIS.
  • ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·FSIS size class Very Small, with slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Grant of inspection on file dated April 3, 2019.

About Elmwood Locker Service

Elmwood Locker Service operates at 214 South Magnolia Street in Elmwood, Illinois, in Peoria County, under USDA FSIS establishment number M344. The federal record lists the plant for both meat slaughter and meat processing, with a grant of inspection dated April 3, 2019. FSIS classifies it as a very small establishment, and its slaughter volume falls in the lowest reported category, under 1,000 head per year.

Species slaughtered under federal inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales, which allows direct sales of meat to consumers at the plant.

The website on file is a Facebook page, and no substantive website text is available for this record. A Facebook post referenced in search results mentions the business being open from 7 to 5 on July 3rd and mentions brat flavors, but regular hours, pricing, booking practices, and product lists are not on file. Details beyond the federal record are not yet documented here.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under USDA inspection
  • Meat processing under USDA inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for customer-owned animals
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssowslambs

Products and retail

  • Bratwurst (flavors referenced in a Facebook post, not itemized)

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists Elmwood Locker Service for both slaughter and processing, with cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported as species slaughtered under inspection. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, so animals owned by the customer can be processed with packages marked Not for Sale. FSIS categorizes annual slaughter volume as under 1,000 head, and the size class is Very Small. Booking procedures, lead times, kill day schedules, minimums, hanging weight fees, and cut and wrap options are not stated in any source on file. Farmers should call (309) 742-8929 to confirm availability and terms.

Elmwood Locker Service reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which indicates meat can be sold directly to consumers at the plant. A Facebook post referenced in search results mentions brat flavors and an open period of 7 to 5 on a July 3rd date. Beyond that, no counter product list, bundle or half and quarter offerings, delivery, shipping, or online ordering information is on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Elmwood Locker Service

What species can be slaughtered here under inspection?
The federal record reports cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb as species slaughtered under inspection at establishment M344.
Can a farmer bring an animal for personal use?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Booking details, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources on file.
Can households buy meat directly?
The establishment reports retail-exempt sales, which permits direct sales to consumers. A specific retail product list, hours, or ordering method is not on file.
What are the hours?
Regular hours are not stated in the available sources. One Facebook post referenced in search results mentions being open from 7 to 5 on July 3rd, which is not a general schedule. Call (309) 742-8929 to confirm.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
April 3, 2019
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Elmwood