Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M20263EST. V20263

Halal Farms U.S.A. Inc.

Doing business as Rahmat Meat

Halal slaughter and processing plant in Shannon, Illinois, selling whole lamb, goat, and beef.

22 West Badger St., Shannon, Illinois 61078-0008 · Carroll County

myhalalfarms.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptHalalExport certification listed as an FSIS activity

At a glance

  • ·FSIS-inspected slaughter and processing plant, small size class, slaughter volume category 3.0.
  • ·Reports halal slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals to FSIS.
  • ·Species slaughtered under inspection reported to FSIS: cattle, sheep and lamb; the website also advertises goat and veal.
  • ·Sells whole lamb, whole goat, and whole, half, or quarter beef, described as fresh and never frozen.
  • ·Website states the animals come from American farmers, most of them local Amish farms.

About Halal Farms U.S.A. Inc.

Halal Farms U.S.A. Inc., doing business as Rahmat Meat, is a USDA-inspected meat slaughter and processing establishment at 22 West Badger St. in Shannon, Illinois, in Carroll County. It operates under establishment numbers M20263 and V20263, with a grant of inspection date on file of November 17, 2021. FSIS lists its activities as meat slaughter, meat processing, and export certification, and classes the plant as small, with a slaughter volume category of 3.0. The establishment reports halal slaughter to FSIS and also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale.

The species reported to FSIS as slaughtered under inspection are cattle and sheep and lamb. The company website describes whole goat and Nannie's goat as products alongside whole lamb and beef, and offers veal upon request, so buyers looking for goat should confirm directly how and where that work is handled. The website states the business is family owned and operated and has been in business since 1997, while the federal grant of inspection on file dates to 2021.

The website says the company works directly with American farmers, with most animals raised by local Amish farmers, and describes its products as fresh and never frozen. A secondary listing describes the plant as equipped to handle both large and small slaughtering processes. A third party directory lists a nearby address of 4 E Badger St. in Shannon; the address on the federal record is 22 West Badger St. Hours, pricing, booking lead times, and cut and wrap details are not stated in the sources on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale
  • Halal slaughter
  • Export certification
  • Complete beef slaughtering service

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheiferscalvesbob vealsheeplambs

Products and retail

  • Whole lamb
  • Whole goat
  • Nannie's goat
  • Whole, half, or quarter beef
  • Veal upon request

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it will process animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, in addition to inspected slaughter of cattle and sheep and lamb. FSIS also lists export certification among its activities. The website invites ranchers and farmers to contact the business by phone at (847) 361-5296 or by email at info@halalfarmsusa.com, and a secondary page states the plant is equipped to handle both big and small slaughtering processes. Booking procedures, scheduling lead times, minimums, kill fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources on file.

Halal Farms U.S.A. Inc. reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website offers whole lamb, whole goat, and beef in whole, half, or quarter portions, with veal available upon request, and states that products are fresh and never frozen. All slaughter is described as 100 percent Zabiha and halal. Orders are placed by inquiry through the website's Place an Order page or by phone or email; the site shows a cart, but no prices, retail counter hours, delivery, or shipping arrangements are stated in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Halal Farms U.S.A. Inc.

Does this plant slaughter goats?
The website lists whole goat and Nannie's goat among its products, but the species reported to FSIS as slaughtered under inspection are cattle and sheep and lamb. Buyers should confirm goat availability with the plant directly.
Is the meat halal?
Yes as stated. The establishment reports halal slaughter to FSIS, and the website describes its products as 100 percent Zabiha and halal.
Can a farmer bring their own animals?
The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Scheduling, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources on file.
What are the hours and prices?
Not stated. The sources on file do not list business hours or prices. The phone number on both the federal record and the website is (847) 361-5296.

Federal record

Activities
Certification - Export; Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
November 17, 2021
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Medium volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.fsis.usda.gov/inspection/fsis-inspected-establishments/halal-farms-u.s.a.-inc., https://www.myhalalfarms.com/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Shannon