Federally inspected establishment
EST. M31578EST. P31578Trenton Processing
Doing business as Trenton Processing Center
USDA-inspected slaughter and custom processing plant in Trenton, Illinois, with a retail meat counter.
120 West Broadway, Trenton, Illinois 62293 · Clinton County
At a glance
- ·USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant, FSIS small size class, slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
- ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals and retail-exempt sales.
- ·Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS: cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb. The website also advertises goat and deer processing.
- ·Posted custom price lists dated January 10, 2025 for beef, hog, and lamb and goat work, including private label processing and curing.
- ·Deer processing for hunters, with field-dressed deer accepted, specialty venison products, and seasonal night drop-off availability as described on the site.
About Trenton Processing
Trenton Processing (doing business as Trenton Processing Center) operates at 120 West Broadway in Trenton, Illinois, in Clinton County, under USDA FSIS establishment numbers M31578 and P31578. The federal record lists meat slaughter and meat processing activities, a small size class, and a grant of inspection dated August 16, 2021. Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale, and it also reports retail-exempt sales. Its FSIS slaughter volume category is 1, meaning under 1,000 head per year.
The business describes itself as a wholesale and meat processing plant with a retail shop. Its history page states that Calvin and Loretta Schwend purchased Trenton Frozen Foods in 1964 from Bill Ranz, when the operation butchered about two beef and two hogs a week and rented lockers, and that the business was later renamed Trenton Processing Center. A retail shop was added, and in 1991 the business was sold to three of the founders' five children, who added a wholesale route and a catering business. In 2022 the business was purchased by Cody and Sheldyn Schneider, who state on the site that they are continuing the tradition built by Gary, Jeanette, and Judy.
Published service pages cover custom beef, hog, lamb and goat processing, along with deer processing for hunters. The site lists posted prices as of January 10, 2025, including harvest fees, cutting and packaging by hanging weight, private label processing, sausage, and curing. Retail hours are not stated in the material on file.
Services
- Custom-exempt slaughter and processing
- USDA-inspected meat slaughter
- USDA-inspected meat processing
- Beef processing
- Hog processing
- Lamb and goat processing
- Deer processing for hunters
- Cutting, wrapping, boning, and grinding
- Curing and smoking
- Sausage making
- Private label processing
- Retail meat sales
- Wholesale
- Vacuum packaging
- Shoulder mount preparation, hide and antler saving (deer)
- Catering (added by prior owners, per the history page)
Species under inspection
Products and retail
- Pork sausage
- Sausage with cheese
- Cured ham
- Cured bacon
- Cured jowl
- Cured loin
- Cured hocks
- Beef patties
- Lamb and goat kabob
- Cooked summer sausage
- Country style summer sausage
- Hard salami
- Salami with peppers and cheese
- Plain, Cajun, apple, jalapeno and cheddar, and mushroom and Swiss bratwurst
- Breakfast sausage
- Smokies, regular or hot
- Ground venison and burger blends
- Venison snack sticks
- Meat bundles
For farmers and ranchers
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS and publishes custom processing prices dated January 10, 2025. For hogs: humane harvest fee $50 each, cutting and packaging $1.35 per pound hanging weight, private label $1.45 per pound hanging weight, sausage $0.75 per pound, sausage with cheese $1.25 per pound, harvest and chill $170 each, harvest, chill and primals $200 each, plus cured item fees such as ham $18, bacon $16, jowl $8, loin $20, and hocks $8 per pair. For beef: humane harvest fee $100 each, cutting and packaging $1.35 per pound hanging weight, private label $1.45 per pound hanging weight, patties $0.75 per pound, harvest and chill $200 with the note that the price increases to $500 after slots are filled, harvest, chill and primals $300, and a $35 disposal fee for beef over 30 months. For lamb and goat: humane harvest fee $50 each, cutting and packaging $1.35 per pound hanging weight, private label $1.45 per pound hanging weight, sausage $0.75 per pound, sausage with cheese $1.25 per pound, kabob $0.50 per pound, harvest and chill $100 each, with services subject to a $140 minimum charge. A holding fee applies to orders not picked up within two weeks of being called, and the site states prices may change without prior notice. Beef harvest slots are referenced but a booking procedure, lead time, and drop-off schedule are not stated. Note that goat is not listed among the species slaughtered under inspection in the federal record.
Trenton Processing reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.
For households
The business operates a retail shop at 120 West Broadway and reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. The site invites customers to stop by the store and lists products, sales and specials, and meat bundles, with the contact form offering custom processing, deer processing, and meat bundles as areas of interest. Home page text refers to no hormones, locally raised, and fresh cuts. Halves and quarters for sale, online ordering, delivery, and shipping are not described in the material on file, and retail hours are not stated.
If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.
Questions about Trenton Processing
Does Trenton Processing Center slaughter animals, or only cut and wrap?
What does custom processing cost?
Can I buy retail meat there, and when is it open?
Is meat sold from custom-processed animals?
Federal record
- Activities
- Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
- Grant on file
- August 16, 2021
- Size class
- Small
- Slaughter volume
- Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)
Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://trentonprocessingcenter.com/, https://trentonprocessingcenter.com/history) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.
Other USDA plants near Trenton
- Behrmann Meat & Processing, Inc.6 mi
Albers · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Korte Meat Processing Inc.10 mi
Highland · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Wenneman Meat Company, Inc.17 mi
St. Libory · Cattle, Hogs · custom-exempt
- Triple Sticks Foods LLC20 mi
Belleville · species not reported
- Schubert's Smokehouse Packing Co., Inc.24 mi
Millstadt · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Fred's Meat and Processing32 mi
Ashley · Cattle, Hogs · custom-exempt