Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. P39

Pine Manor Inc.

Doing business as Crystal Valley Foods; Crystal Valley Poultry; Fawn River Poultry; Katie's Best; Miller Amish Country Farms; Miller Amish Country Foods; Miller Amish Country Poultry; Miller Poultry; Orland Poultry; Pine Manor; Pine Manor Farms; Pine Manor Foods; Pine Manor Poultry

USDA-inspected poultry slaughter and processing plant in Orland, Indiana, selling branded air-chilled chicken.

9622 West County Road 350 North, Orland, Indiana 46776 · Steuben County

pinemanorfarms.com

USDA inspectedGlobal Animal Partnership certified barns (per website)Organic product line named on website (organic boneless skinless chicken thighs)

At a glance

  • ·Reports both poultry slaughter and poultry processing to FSIS under establishment number P39.
  • ·Listed by FSIS in the small size class with slaughter volume category 5.0.
  • ·Federal record lists many trade names, including Miller Poultry, Katie's Best, and Orland Poultry.
  • ·Website states products are 100 percent air-chilled at the facility and sold exclusively through Whole Foods Market.
  • ·No custom-exempt activity is reported to FSIS.

About Pine Manor Inc.

Pine Manor Inc. operates a USDA-inspected poultry plant at 9622 West County Road 350 North in Orland, Steuben County, Indiana, under establishment number P39. The plant reports poultry slaughter and poultry processing to FSIS and is listed in the small size class, with a grant of inspection date on file of September 10, 2018. Its FSIS slaughter volume category is 5.0. The federal record lists a long set of doing-business-as names, including Crystal Valley Foods, Crystal Valley Poultry, Fawn River Poultry, Katie's Best, Miller Amish Country Farms, Miller Poultry, Orland Poultry, and Pine Manor Farms.

The company website describes Pine Manor Farms as an operation established by Milo and Annas Miller in 1942. The site states that Pine Manor began raising and processing chickens in the mid-1970s and added chick hatching a few years later, describing itself as an egg-to-table operation. It reports purchasing Booth Poultry and, in 1992, Martin's Feed Mill, with renovations made to both the processing facility and the feed mill. The website says chickens are raised with family farmers in Michigan and Indiana, that barns are certified by the Global Animal Partnership, and that birds are fed a corn and soy based diet with no antibiotics, hormones, steroids, or artificial ingredients. The site also states that products are 100 percent air-chilled in a monitored cooling room at the facility.

The website is oriented toward branded retail sales rather than local drop-off work. Its home page states that products are available exclusively at Whole Foods Market and directs shoppers to a store locator. No custom-exempt activity is reported to FSIS, and the sources do not describe custom slaughter, on-farm pickup, a retail counter at the plant, or public hours. Details beyond what is stated above are not yet on file.

Services

  • Poultry slaughter under federal inspection
  • Poultry processing under federal inspection
  • Hatchery operation (per website)
  • Feed milling (per website)
  • Air chilling of poultry (per website)
  • Branded retail poultry supply

Species under inspection

chickens

Products and retail

  • Boneless skinless chicken breast
  • Whole fryer
  • Organic boneless skinless chicken thighs
  • Bone-in air-chilled chicken thighs
  • Chicken legs

For farmers and ranchers

No custom-exempt activity is reported to FSIS for this establishment, and the sources do not describe custom slaughter, booking procedures, minimums, fees, or cut and wrap for animals brought in by individual producers. The website instead describes a contract growing model, stating that chicks hatched at the company's own hatchery are placed with a community of farm families in Michigan and Indiana, that the company produces its own feed at its feed mill, and that grower barns are certified by the Global Animal Partnership. Producers interested in that arrangement would need to contact the company directly; terms are not stated in the sources.

Pine Manor Inc. operates under a federal grant of inspection, so product from this plant can be sold anywhere in the United States, which matters if you sell online or across a state line. FSIS does not list a custom-exempt activity for this plant.

For households

The website states that Pine Manor Farms products are available exclusively at Whole Foods Market and provides a store locator that works by zip code, city, and search radius. Named items include boneless skinless chicken breast, whole fryer, organic boneless skinless chicken thighs, bone-in air-chilled chicken thighs, and chicken legs. The sources do not describe an on-site retail store, online ordering, shipping, bulk bundles, or halves and quarters. One customer comment on the website mentions buying the product at Meijer. Contact information listed is 1-800-532-4186, P.O. Box 239, Orland, IN 46776, and info@pinemanorfarms.com, with info@millerpoultry.com also appearing on the contact page.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Pine Manor Inc.

Does Pine Manor Inc. process animals for individual farmers?
The federal record reports no custom-exempt activity, and the sources do not describe custom processing for individual customers. The website describes a contract grower network of family farms in Michigan and Indiana instead.
What species does the plant handle?
Poultry only, per the species reported to FSIS. The website focuses on chicken.
Where can households buy the meat?
The website states products are available exclusively at Whole Foods Market and offers a zip code store locator. One customer comment on the site mentions purchasing at Meijer. No on-site retail store, online ordering, or shipping is described in the sources.
What are the hours?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file.

Federal record

Activities
Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter
Grant on file
September 10, 2018
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Very large volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://pinemanorfarms.com/, https://pinemanorfarms.com/about/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Orland