Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M40147EST. P40147EST. V40147

This Old Farm Meats and Processing

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Colfax, Indiana, with cut forms for beef, pork, and lamb.

9572 W. County Road 650 South, Colfax, Indiana 46035 · Clinton County

thisoldfarm.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptHalalKosher

At a glance

  • ·FSIS Very Small establishment in Clinton County, Indiana, with meat and poultry slaughter and processing plus voluntary rabbit slaughter and processing.
  • ·Reports cattle, hog, sheep and lamb, and bison slaughter under inspection, along with custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Reports both halal and kosher slaughter to FSIS.
  • ·Publishes detailed beef, pork, and lamb cut forms with per pound slaughter and processing fees and estimated whole animal costs.
  • ·Website describes a home farm running 250 Katahdin ewes with a goal of 600 lambs per year, plus a network of partner farms.

About This Old Farm Meats and Processing

This Old Farm Meats and Processing operates at 9572 W. County Road 650 South in Colfax, Clinton County, Indiana, under establishment numbers M40147, P40147, and V40147. FSIS lists the plant for meat and poultry slaughter and processing plus voluntary meat, poultry, and rabbit slaughter and processing, with a grant of inspection date on file of 2021-08-26. The federal record classifies the plant as Very Small and reports cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison slaughtered under inspection, with a slaughter volume category of 2.0. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, retail-exempt sales, and both halal and kosher slaughter.

The company website presents three parts of the business: the home farm, TOFI Packing, and retail meat sales. The site states This Old Farm has served local meat and family farms since 2009 and describes the farm as raising grass-fed Katahdin sheep, with 250 ewes and a goal of 600 lambs per year sold as breeding stock, live animals, whole and half lamb orders, into halal markets, and by the pound at its butcher shops. The site says the farm works with a partnership of local farms, buying livestock from some and service processing for others that have their own markets, and that it works with its own halal certified slaughter facility. TOFI Packing is described as offering animal harvest, food service portion control, retail ready packaging, and co-packing for farms, restaurants, retail locations, and brands.

Detailed cut forms and fee schedules are published for beef, pork, and lamb. Beef options run from a Basic butcher recommended sheet through All Grind, Customized, and Wholesale tiers, with estimated processing costs quoted on a 700 pound hanging weight. Pork options run from Butcher Basic through All Grind, Peoples Choice, Customized, and Wholesale, quoted on a 175 pound hanging weight. Hours of operation, retail counter addresses, and shipping terms beyond the statement that pickup is available at three locations and that wholesale buyers can be shipped to their dock are not stated in the material on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry slaughter and processing
  • Voluntary slaughter and processing of meat, poultry, and rabbit
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale)
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Halal slaughter
  • Kosher slaughter
  • Dry aging (minimum 6 days standard on beef)
  • Vacuum packaging
  • Smoking and curing (ham, bacon, hocks)
  • Sausage making and seasoning
  • Patties and tenderized cuts
  • Food service portion control
  • Retail ready packaging
  • Co-packing
  • Specialty labeling (full custom orders)
  • Offal packaging on request
  • Freezer storage after grace period (fee-based)

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogssowssheeplambsbison

Products and retail

  • Beef: boneless ribeye, NY strip, filet, sirloin steak, chuck roast, rump roast, brisket, sirloin tip roast, short ribs, ground beef
  • Beef specialty: tomahawk steaks, flanken-style ribs, chuck steaks, hot dogs, beef jerky
  • Pork: chops, belly, ribs, tenderloin, butt roasts, ground pork, baby back ribs, boneless chops
  • Pork specialty: smoked bacon, smoked ham, jowl bacon, St. Louis style spareribs, country ribs, pork steaks, fresh ham cutlets, leaf fat, bologna, salami
  • Sausage: Farmer's Mild Breakfast, sweet and sassy sage, Italian (hot or mild), jalapeno, Sugar Free Garden Sage, Hint of Maple
  • Lamb (whole and half orders)
  • Live lambs, meat lambs, feeders, and Katahdin breeding stock (ewes and rams)
  • Anatolian Shepherd livestock guardian dogs

For farmers and ranchers

The plant is listed with FSIS for meat and poultry slaughter and processing and reports custom-exempt slaughter, so animals owned by the customer can be processed and returned in packages marked Not for Sale. Species reported slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison. Published cut forms cover beef, pork, and lamb, with tiers from butcher recommended basics to full wholesale customization. Beef fees listed include a $48.40 admin fee per order, slaughter at $.19 per pound hanging carcass weight with a $121 minimum and a standard minimum 6 day dry age, processing at $.77 per pound hanging weight with a $385 minimum including vacuum packing, a $19.97 federal inspection fee, $40 waste removal per beef, $39.93 for beef over 30 months, and $19.97 per animal for offals, plus $.08 per pound surcharges on beef over 1600 pounds live weight. Pork fees listed include the same $48.40 admin fee, slaughter at $.31 per pound hanging weight with a $46.59 minimum, processing at $.74 per pound hanging weight with a $115 minimum, the $19.97 inspection fee, smoked ham and hock at $2.20 per pound green weight, jowl and belly bacon sliced at $3.50 per pound green weight, offals at $7.99 per animal, and a surcharge on hogs over 350 pounds live weight. Full custom beef orders under three head and full custom pork orders under five head incur a $50 addition to the admin fee, and extra fees apply to wholesale cut instructions below those thresholds unless the farmer is in the Letter of Intent Program. Changes after submission or after the slaughter appointment carry a change order fee of $11 to $12.10. A 7 day grace period follows each order complete notification, after which storage runs $5.70 per day for loose box orders under 14 boxes or $9 per pallet per day for palletized orders. The site says the company buys livestock from some partner farms and service processes for others that have their own markets. Booking procedure and lead times are not stated in the material on file.

This Old Farm Meats and Processing reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website invites buyers to purchase locally raised meat for the family table or freezer with pickup at any of three locations, though the addresses of those locations are not stated in the material on file. Lamb is sold from the home farm as whole and half orders and by the pound at the company butcher shops. Households buying a half hog or a quarter beef can use the simplified Butcher's Basic cut forms, which the site describes as the lowest cost option with no extra fees, or step up to Butcher's Basic with Addons, Butcher's Premium, or Peoples Choice for bacon, smoked ham, seasoned sausage, patties, and bone-in cuts. Sausages are described as leaving out MSG and preservatives where possible, using natural sugars except for the Sugar Free Garden Sage, with the Hint of Maple option containing artificial maple flavor. An Order Online link appears in the site navigation. Home delivery and shipping to households are not described; the site mentions shipping to the dock for wholesale, retail, restaurant, and institutional buyers.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about This Old Farm Meats and Processing

What species does this plant slaughter under federal inspection?
FSIS records list cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison slaughtered under inspection. The establishment is also listed for poultry slaughter and processing and for voluntary rabbit slaughter and processing.
Can a farmer bring animals for custom processing?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. The website publishes cut forms and fee schedules for beef, pork, and lamb. Whether the plant is currently accepting bookings is not stated in the material on file.
What will processing cost?
For beef, the site lists a $48.40 admin fee per order, slaughter at $.19 per pound hanging weight ($121 minimum), processing at $.77 per pound hanging weight ($385 minimum) including vacuum packing, a $19.97 federal inspection fee, and $40 waste removal, with a whole beef on 700 pounds hanging weight estimated at about $1.20 to $1.27 per pound depending on cut form. For pork, slaughter is listed at $.31 per pound hanging weight ($46.59 minimum) and processing at $.74 per pound hanging weight ($115 minimum), with whole hog estimates on 175 pounds hanging weight ranging from $1.54 to about $3.10 per pound depending on cut form. Prices shown on the website may change.
Is there a retail store and can meat be shipped?
The website says customers can buy locally raised meat and pick it up at any of three locations, and it references company butcher shops selling lamb by the pound. The addresses and hours of those locations are not stated in the material on file. Shipping is mentioned for wholesale, retail, restaurant, and institutional buyers to their dock; household shipping is not described.
Is halal or kosher processing available?
The federal record shows the establishment reports both halal and kosher slaughter, and the farm page states This Old Farm works with its own halal certified slaughter facility. Certifying bodies and scheduling details are not stated in the material on file.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Processing - Poultry; Voluntary Processing - Rabbit; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Poultry; Voluntary Slaughter - Rabbit
Grant on file
August 26, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Small volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.thisoldfarm.com/, https://www.thisoldfarm.com/farm/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Colfax