Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M2049EST. P2049

Iowa State University Meat Laboratory

University-run USDA-inspected slaughter and processing lab in Ames, Iowa, with retail meat sales.

194 Meat Lab, Ames, Iowa 50011 · Story County

Facebook page

USDA inspected

At a glance

  • ·Federal grant of inspection on file since June 19, 2020, covering meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing.
  • ·Reports slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection.
  • ·FSIS size class very small, with slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·No custom-exempt slaughter or processing reported to FSIS.
  • ·Part of the Iowa State University animal science program, combining processing with teaching and research.

About Iowa State University Meat Laboratory

The Iowa State University Meat Laboratory operates under federal grant of inspection as establishment M2049+P2049 at 194 Meat Lab, Ames, Iowa, in Story County. It reports meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing activities to FSIS, and is classified as a very small establishment. Species slaughtered under inspection are reported as cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The slaughter volume category on file is the lowest tier, under 1,000 head per year. The grant of inspection date on file is June 19, 2020. No custom-exempt activity is reported.

The laboratory is part of the Iowa State University Department of Animal Science. University pages describe it as a federally inspected facility with slaughtering and processing capabilities, and note that it combines processing operations with teaching and research. Department and Extension pages also reference meat sales and meat science short courses, and a Facebook post refers to the lab hosting meat industry attendees. The address given on some secondary listings is 188 Meat Laboratory, while the federal record lists 194 Meat Lab.

The website on file is a Facebook page, and no website text was available for this record. Details beyond the federal record and these brief secondary references, including hours, booking practices, fees, cut and wrap options, and the full product list, are not yet on file.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry processing
  • Retail meat sales, as referenced by the university
  • Meat science short courses
  • Teaching and research use of processing operations

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifershogssheeplambs

Products and retail

No retail products on file.

For households

University pages reference meat sales through the Meats Laboratory, but the specific counter hours, product list, bundle or half and quarter options, and any delivery or shipping are not stated in the sources on file. Buyers would need to contact the laboratory at (515) 294-5321 for current sales information.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Iowa State University Meat Laboratory

What species are slaughtered here under inspection?
The establishment reports cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb to FSIS. Poultry processing is listed as an activity, but poultry slaughter is not among the reported species slaughtered.
Does the laboratory do custom-exempt processing for farmers?
No custom-exempt activity is reported to FSIS. Booking practices, minimums, and fees for producer animals are not stated in the sources on file.
Can households buy meat directly?
University pages reference meat sales through the Meats Laboratory. Hours, products, and ordering details are not stated in the sources on file. The listed phone number is (515) 294-5321.
Which address is correct?
The federal record lists 194 Meat Lab, Ames, IA 50011. A secondary directory listing gives 188 Meat Laboratory, Ames. Both appear in the material on file.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing
Grant on file
June 19, 2020
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Ames