Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M3550

West River Meats LLC

USDA-inspected cattle slaughter and custom beef and pork processing in Rutland, Iowa, with a retail storefront.

101 Sheridan Ave, Rutland, Iowa 50582 · Humboldt County

westrivermeat.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·FSIS lists both Meat Processing and Meat Slaughter activities; cattle are the reported species slaughtered under inspection.
  • ·Very Small size class with slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales to FSIS.
  • ·Website states beef is aged a minimum of 14 days and is sold in quarters, halves, and wholes.
  • ·Retail storefront with a large walk-in freezer opened in 2024, per the company website.

About West River Meats LLC

West River Meats LLC operates at 101 Sheridan Ave in Rutland, Humboldt County, Iowa, under USDA establishment number M3550. The federal record lists the plant for both Meat Processing and Meat Slaughter, classes it as Very Small, and shows a grant of inspection date of July 8, 2025. Cattle are the species reported slaughtered under inspection, at a volume category of under 1,000 head per year. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and returned in packages marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.

The company website describes the business as locally sourced, working with area livestock producers for beef and pork. According to the About page, owner Don Thul grew up raising cattle and pigs in northwest Iowa, worked for Iowa Beef Producers for eighteen years, and opened Thul's West River Meats in 2001. That facility was lost to a fire in 2015. The site states Don built a new facility one block east of the prior location in Rutland, and that a new storefront with a large walk-in freezer opened in 2024. The site cites over 40 years in the meat industry in one place and over 30 years of experience in meat processing in another.

For processing, the website states beef is aged a minimum of 14 days under controlled temperature and humidity, and that pork is cut once it reaches prime temperature. Beef is offered in quarters, halves, and wholes; pork in halves and wholes. Custom processing is described for beef, pork, lamb, and bison, though the federal record lists only cattle as slaughtered under inspection. Hours are not stated in the material on file.

Services

  • Cattle slaughter under USDA inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale packaging)
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Beef processing, cut and wrap
  • Pork processing, cut and wrap
  • Custom processing of beef, pork, lamb, and bison as described on the website
  • Dry aging of beef, minimum 14 days
  • Cold smoking (ring bologna listed)
  • Retail storefront with walk-in freezer

Species under inspection

steersheifers

Products and retail

  • Sirloin tip roast
  • Mangalitsa (Mangelista) pork chops
  • Ground beef and beef patties
  • Cold smoked ring bologna
  • Brisket
  • Thick-cut bacon

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports both USDA-inspected cattle slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, so producers can have their own animals processed and returned in Not for Sale packaging. FSIS classes the establishment as Very Small with a slaughter volume category under 1,000 head per year, which indicates limited annual capacity. The website states that custom processing is offered for beef, pork, lamb, and bison and asks producers to contact the plant for information; note that the federal record lists only cattle as slaughtered under inspection. Beef is aged a minimum of 14 days, and beef and pork cut sheets are posted on the website for cut and packaging selections. Split orders are accepted if contact information for all customers is provided. The website asks that finished orders be picked up promptly after notification. Booking lead times, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources on file; processing and pricing information is referenced on the beef and pork cut sheets.

West River Meats LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

A storefront opened in 2024 and includes a large walk-in freezer, and the plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, so retail purchases are described in the sources. Named items include ground beef and beef patties, brisket, sirloin tip roast, thick-cut bacon, cold smoked ring bologna, and Mangalitsa pork chops. Households can also buy beef in quarters, halves, or wholes, and pork in halves or wholes, with cut and packaging choices from the posted cut sheets. One customer comment on the website notes beef wrapped in plastic and paper rather than vacuum sealed. Online ordering, delivery, and shipping are not mentioned in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about West River Meats LLC

Is West River Meats USDA inspected?
Yes. The FSIS directory lists the establishment as M3550 in Rutland, Iowa, with a grant of inspection date of July 8, 2025, covering Meat Processing and Meat Slaughter.
Can I bring my own animal for processing?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. The website says custom processing is offered for beef, pork, lamb, and bison and asks customers to contact the plant. Availability, scheduling lead time, and fees are not stated in the sources on file.
What species are slaughtered here?
FSIS reports cattle as the species slaughtered under inspection. The website describes custom processing of beef, pork, lamb, and bison, so the two records differ on scope; contact the plant to confirm.
What are the hours and prices?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file. The website references beef and pork cut sheets for processing and pricing information, but no prices appear in the fetched text. The listed phone number is (515) 368-3022.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
July 8, 2025
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.westrivermeat.com/, https://www.westrivermeat.com/about/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Rutland