Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M244EST. V244

Tyson Fresh Meats, Inc.

Doing business as IBP, Inc.; Tyson Foods, Inc.

Large USDA-inspected hog slaughter and pork processing plant in Storm Lake, Iowa.

1009 Richland Street, Storm Lake, Iowa 50588 · Buena Vista County

Facebook page

USDA inspectedFSIS export certification activity

At a glance

  • ·Hog slaughter and pork processing under USDA inspection, establishment numbers M244 and V244.
  • ·FSIS size class: Large, with slaughter volume category 4.0.
  • ·Approved for export certification activity per FSIS.
  • ·No custom-exempt processing reported to FSIS.
  • ·Website on file is a Facebook page; no site text available for this record.

About Tyson Fresh Meats, Inc.

Tyson Fresh Meats, Inc. operates a hog slaughter and pork processing plant at 1009 Richland Street in Storm Lake, Buena Vista County, Iowa. The federal record lists the establishment under numbers M244 and V244, with doing-business-as names IBP, Inc. and Tyson Foods, Inc. FSIS activities on file are meat slaughter, meat processing, and export certification, and the grant of inspection date on file is September 11, 2020.

FSIS classifies the plant in its largest size class, and its reported slaughter volume category is 4.0, the high end of the agency's scale for annual head counts. Hogs are the only species reported slaughtered under inspection. No custom-exempt activity is reported, meaning the federal record does not show the plant processing animals owned by individual farmers or households for their own use.

The website on file is a Facebook page for the Storm Lake pork plant, and no website text was available for this record. Secondary directory listings describe the operation as meat processing and food products wholesale, and one page identifies it as the official page for the Storm Lake, Iowa Tyson Fresh Meats pork plant. Details beyond the federal record, including product lines, buyer contacts, and hours, are not yet on file. Note that the federal record gives the street as Richland Street while several directory listings give Richland Drive.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Hog slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Export certification

Species under inspection

hogs

Products and retail

No retail products on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record shows hogs as the only species slaughtered under inspection at this establishment, and no custom-exempt activity is reported, so the plant is not listed as doing custom processing where a producer retains ownership of the meat. FSIS classifies it as a large plant with a slaughter volume category of 4.0. Procurement terms, hog buying programs, scheduling, and any minimums are not stated in the sources on file. Producers would need to contact the plant at (712) 749-5238 to learn how it sources animals.

Tyson Fresh Meats, Inc. operates under a federal grant of inspection, so product from this plant can be sold anywhere in the United States, which matters if you sell online or across a state line. FSIS does not list a custom-exempt activity for this plant.

For households

Nothing in the sources indicates a retail counter, freezer bundles, halves or quarters, online ordering, or shipping to households. Secondary directory listings describe the business as meat processing and food products wholesale. Household buyers are more likely to encounter this plant's pork through retail and foodservice channels than by buying on site.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Tyson Fresh Meats, Inc.

Does this plant do custom processing for farmers?
The federal record reports no custom-exempt activity at this establishment, and the sources do not describe custom cut and wrap services.
What species are slaughtered here?
FSIS lists hogs as the species slaughtered under inspection.
Can households buy meat directly at this location?
Not stated in the sources. No retail counter, bundles, or shipping is described in the federal record or the available listings.
What are the hours?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file. Some directory pages list hours, but no hours were available in the material used for this record.

Federal record

Activities
Certification - Export; Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
September 11, 2020
Size class
Large
Slaughter volume
Large volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Storm Lake