Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M53877EST. P53877

Hat Creek Butchery

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Plains, Kansas, with a retail store in Liberal.

107 Ontario St, Plains, Kansas 67869 · Meade County

hatcreekbutchery.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Federally inspected for meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing under Est. M53877+P53877.
  • ·Reports slaughtering cattle and hogs; FSIS volume category 1, under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Offers custom-exempt processing of customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale.
  • ·Separate retail store in Liberal, Kansas, per the company website.
  • ·Website describes fresh cuts, bundles, and smoked meats.

About Hat Creek Butchery

Hat Creek Butchery operates at 107 Ontario St in Plains, Kansas, in Meade County, under USDA establishment numbers M53877 and P53877. The federal record lists meat processing, meat slaughter, and poultry processing activities, with a grant of inspection dated July 6, 2023. The plant is classed by FSIS as Very Small and reports slaughtering cattle and hogs under inspection, with a slaughter volume category of 1, meaning fewer than 1,000 head per year.

The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales. Search results describing the business state that Hat Creek Butchery has served Plains and surrounding communities since 2021 and that the owners are named Dwayne and Mark.

The company website describes premium meat processing in Plains and a retail store in Liberal, Kansas, offering fresh cuts, bundles, and smoked meats. The fetched page text was limited to that description, so operating hours, booking procedures, pricing, and cut and wrap details are not yet on file beyond the federal record and these summaries.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animals owned by the customer
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Retail store in Liberal, Kansas

Species under inspection

steersheifershogs

Products and retail

  • Fresh cuts
  • Meat bundles
  • Smoked meats

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists cattle and hogs as the species slaughtered under inspection, and the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale. FSIS classes the establishment as Very Small with a slaughter volume category of 1, under 1,000 head per year, so capacity is limited. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill day schedules, hanging fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources on file. Farmers should contact the plant at (620) 977-6001 to confirm species accepted and scheduling.

Hat Creek Butchery reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website describes a retail store in Liberal, Kansas, in addition to the processing facility in Plains, and lists fresh cuts, bundles, and smoked meats. The establishment also reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. Whether halves and quarters, online ordering, shipping, or local delivery are available is not stated in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Hat Creek Butchery

What species does Hat Creek Butchery slaughter?
The plant reports cattle and hogs as species slaughtered under federal inspection. Its FSIS activities also include poultry processing. Whether live poultry slaughter is accepted is not stated in the sources on file.
Can a farmer bring an animal for custom processing?
The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Booking details, fees, and scheduling are not stated in the sources. Contact (620) 977-6001 to confirm.
Can households buy meat directly?
The website describes a retail store in Liberal, Kansas, with fresh cuts, bundles, and smoked meats, and the plant reports retail-exempt sales. Online ordering, shipping, and bulk options such as halves and quarters are not addressed in the sources on file.
What are the hours?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file. The registry does not confirm whether the plant is currently open or accepting work.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing
Grant on file
July 6, 2023
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.hatcreekbutchery.com/, https://www.hatcreekbutchery.com/about) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Plains