Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M694EST. P694

Kansas State University

USDA-inspected university meat lab in Manhattan, Kansas, with slaughter and processing under M694+P694.

Weber Hall -- Rm. 104, Manhattan, Kansas 66506 · Riley County

Facebook page

USDA inspected

At a glance

  • ·FSIS grant date on file: July 29, 2021.
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection.
  • ·Poultry processing is listed among FSIS activities.
  • ·Very small plant, under 1,000 head slaughtered per year.
  • ·Reports retail-exempt sales; no custom-exempt activity reported.

About Kansas State University

Kansas State University holds federal grants of inspection under establishment numbers M694 and P694, with the inspected operation listed at Weber Hall, Room 104, in Manhattan, Riley County, Kansas. The Food Safety and Inspection Service records the plant's activities as meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing, and classifies it in the very small size category.

Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The slaughter volume category on file is 1, meaning fewer than 1,000 head per year. The grant of inspection date on file is July 29, 2021. The establishment reports retail-exempt sales and reports no custom-exempt activity, which means custom slaughter or processing for an animal's owner is not part of the federal record here.

The website on file is a general Kansas State University Facebook page, and no operational text for the meat lab was available. Details beyond the federal record, including hours, pricing, booking practices, product lists, and whether animals from outside producers are accepted, are not yet on file.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Poultry processing under federal inspection
  • Retail-exempt sales, as reported to FSIS

Species under inspection

steersheifershogslambs

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection, at a volume category of under 1,000 head per year. No custom-exempt activity is reported, so the record does not indicate custom kill and cut for an owner's own use. Whether the establishment accepts animals from outside producers, and any booking lead times, minimums, drop-off procedures, or cut and wrap fees, are not stated in the available sources. A producer should call (785) 532-1248 to confirm before hauling.

Kansas State University operates under a federal grant of inspection, so product from this plant can be sold anywhere in the United States, which matters if you sell online or across a state line. FSIS does not list a custom-exempt activity for this plant.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which generally indicates sales of meat directly to household consumers at the establishment. The available sources do not describe a retail counter, hours, product selection, halves or quarters, bundles, online ordering, delivery, or shipping. Buyers should contact the number on file for current details.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Kansas State University

Does this plant do custom processing for farmers?
The federal record reports no custom-exempt activity for this establishment. Whether it accepts outside animals for inspected slaughter is not stated in the available sources. Call (785) 532-1248 to ask.
What animals are slaughtered here?
Cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb are reported to FSIS as species slaughtered under inspection. Poultry processing is listed as an activity, but poultry slaughter is not listed.
Can households buy meat directly?
The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which generally means direct sales to consumers. No retail hours, product list, or ordering information is on file.
What are the hours?
Hours are not stated in any source on file. The only website listed is a general Kansas State University Facebook page, which contains no operational information about the meat lab.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing
Grant on file
July 29, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Manhattan