Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M54271

Beef and Bacon

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Calhoun, Kentucky, handling cattle, hogs, and sheep.

2887 McGee Chapel Rd, Calhoun, Kentucky 42327 · McLean County

Facebook page

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·FSIS establishment number M54271, listed for both meat slaughter and meat processing
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection
  • ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals and retail-exempt sales
  • ·Very small plant, under 1,000 head slaughtered per year per FSIS volume category
  • ·Located at 2887 McGee Chapel Rd, Calhoun, Kentucky, McLean County

About Beef and Bacon

Beef and Bacon, listed in the USDA FSIS directory under establishment number M54271, operates at 2887 McGee Chapel Rd in Calhoun, Kentucky, in McLean County. The federal record shows both meat slaughter and meat processing activities, with cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported as the species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS classifies the plant as very small, and its reported slaughter volume falls in the category of under 1,000 head per year. The grant of inspection date on file is April 2, 2026.

Alongside federally inspected work, the establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it also reports retail-exempt sales. Secondary listings refer to the business as Beef and Bacon Custom Processing and describe custom beef and hog processing.

The website on file is a Facebook page, and no website text was available for this profile. Details beyond the federal record, including hours, pricing, cut and wrap options, booking lead times, and ownership, are not yet on file.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • USDA-inspected meat slaughter
  • USDA-inspected meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

steersheifersbullshogssowssheep

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb as species slaughtered under inspection, and the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, so animals owned by a farmer can be processed and returned in packages marked Not for Sale. Secondary listings describe custom beef and hog processing. FSIS places the plant in the smallest slaughter volume category, under 1,000 head per year. Booking procedures, scheduling lead times, minimums, kill fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources on file. Contact the plant at (270) 929-0280 to confirm availability, since no source states that it is currently accepting work.

Beef and Bacon reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which allows direct sales of meat to household buyers, but the sources on file do not describe a retail counter, bundles, halves and quarters, delivery, shipping, or online ordering. Because the plant also does inspected slaughter, meat sold to the public would carry the federal mark, while custom work returned to animal owners is marked Not for Sale and cannot be resold. Buyers should call (270) 929-0280 or check the Facebook page for what is available.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Beef and Bacon

What animals does Beef and Bacon slaughter?
The federal record lists cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb as species slaughtered under inspection. Poultry is not listed.
Can a farmer bring in an animal for personal use processing?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer and returns packages marked Not for Sale. Scheduling terms, fees, and minimums are not stated in the sources on file.
Does the plant sell meat directly to households?
It reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. No source on file describes a retail counter, bundles, shipping, or online ordering.
What are the hours?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file. The listed phone number is (270) 929-0280, and the website on file is a Facebook page.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
April 2, 2026
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Calhoun