Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M2329EST. V2329

Harrison Harvesting And Processing LLC

Doing business as Bourbon Barrel Beef LLC

USDA-inspected beef and hog slaughter and processing in Carlisle, Kentucky, with a retail meat market.

1249 Maysville Rd, Carlisle, Kentucky 40311 · Nicholas County

harrisonharvesting.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptKentucky Proud (as stated on the company website)

At a glance

  • ·FSIS grant of inspection dated July 24, 2024, with slaughter and processing activities listed for cattle and hogs.
  • ·Very small plant, FSIS slaughter volume category 1, under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Offers both USDA-inspected and custom-exempt slaughter, per the federal record.
  • ·Retail sold under the Bourbon Barrel Beef name at Carlisle, Georgetown, and Maysville locations, with Richmond listed as coming soon.
  • ·The federal record lists phone (817) 715-6467; the website lists (859) 473-6016 for Carlisle.

About Harrison Harvesting And Processing LLC

Harrison Harvesting And Processing LLC, doing business as Bourbon Barrel Beef LLC, operates at 1249 Maysville Rd in Carlisle, Nicholas County, Kentucky, under FSIS establishment numbers M2329 and V2329. The federal record lists food inspection, meat processing, meat slaughter, and voluntary meat slaughter, with cattle and hogs reported as species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS classifies the plant as very small, with a slaughter volume category of 1, meaning under 1,000 head per year, and the grant of inspection on file is dated July 24, 2024. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale, as well as retail-exempt sales.

The company website describes Harrison Harvesting as a family-owned and operated, Kentucky Proud facility specializing in beef processing, built in Nicholas County and described as new. The site says the business grew out of the pandemic era, when the family saw limited access to local beef, and states that the family raises animals on its own local farm and harvests them on-site. The site names reliability, transparency, traceability, quality, and humane animal treatment as its stated pillars.

Retail is handled under the Bourbon Barrel Beef name. The website lists retail locations in Carlisle, Georgetown at 142 W Main Street, and Maysville at 414 Market Square Dr, with a Richmond location described as coming soon. Beef and pork lists are referenced for each retail location. The Carlisle plant address is the establishment on the federal record; the other retail addresses are not part of that federal listing.

Services

  • Beef slaughter and processing
  • Hog slaughter
  • USDA-inspected processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for customer-owned animals
  • Processing under a producer's own label
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Retail meat market

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogs

Products and retail

  • Beef
  • Pork
  • Kentucky Proud beef raised on the family farm

Hours as listed

Monday through Friday 9:00 am to 6:00 pm, Saturday 9:00 am to 4:00 pm, Sunday closed (listed for the Carlisle, Georgetown, and Maysville locations).

For farmers and ranchers

The website states that Harrison Harvesting serves Kentucky producers who want a USDA-inspected facility to butcher branded beef under their own label, as well as families who want beef they raised processed for their own freezer. The federal record confirms cattle and hog slaughter under inspection plus custom-exempt slaughter, where packages are marked Not for Sale. FSIS lists the plant as very small with under 1,000 head slaughtered per year, so scheduling capacity is limited. The site says the facility is centrally located to serve producers in Kentucky and in Ohio, Indiana, West Virginia, and Tennessee, and at the time the site text was captured it stated immediate cattle processing appointments were available. Kill fees, cut and wrap pricing, hanging weight terms, deposits, and lead times are not stated in the sources. Contact the Carlisle location at (859) 473-6016 to confirm current booking.

Harrison Harvesting And Processing LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

Retail is sold under the Bourbon Barrel Beef name, with the company's own locally raised, butchered on-site beef available at the store. The website lists retail counters in Carlisle at 1249 Maysville Rd, Georgetown at 142 W Main Street, and Maysville at 414 Market Square Dr, each with a beef list and a pork list, and notes a Richmond location coming soon. Halves and quarters, bundle boxes, online ordering, shipping, and delivery are not mentioned in the sources.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Harrison Harvesting And Processing LLC

Does this plant slaughter animals, or only cut and wrap?
The FSIS record lists meat slaughter, voluntary meat slaughter, and meat processing, with cattle and hogs reported as species slaughtered under inspection. The website describes on-site harvest and butchery, specializing in beef.
Can I bring my own animal for my freezer?
The federal record shows the establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale. The website also says families can have beef they raised butchered for their own freezer. Booking terms and fees are not stated in the sources.
Can I buy meat directly without owning an animal?
Yes, as listed. The website describes a fresh meat retail store operating as Bourbon Barrel Beef, with beef and pork lists at the Carlisle, Georgetown, and Maysville locations. The federal record also notes retail-exempt sales.
What does it cost and how far out is the schedule?
Prices, kill fees, cut and wrap charges, and scheduling lead times are not stated in the sources on file. Call the Carlisle location at (859) 473-6016 or email contact@harrisonharvesting.com to confirm.

Federal record

Activities
Food Inspection; Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
July 24, 2024
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.fsis.usda.gov/inspection/fsis-inspected-establishments/harrison-harvesting-and-processing-llc, https://www.harrisonharvesting.com/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Carlisle