Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M9112EST. P9112

Hometown Butcher

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Columbia, Kentucky, handling cattle, hogs, and sheep.

275 Jack Smith Road, Columbia, Kentucky 42728 · Adair County

Facebook page

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Listed by FSIS for both meat slaughter and meat processing at one site in Columbia, Kentucky.
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection, as reported to FSIS.
  • ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter, so farm-owned animals can be processed with Not for Sale labeling.
  • ·Reports retail-exempt sales, indicating direct sales to household buyers.
  • ·FSIS size class Very Small, with slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.

About Hometown Butcher

Hometown Butcher operates at 275 Jack Smith Road in Columbia, Kentucky, in Adair County, under USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service establishment numbers M9112 and P9112. The federal record lists the plant for both meat slaughter and meat processing, with a grant of inspection date on file of August 10, 2021. FSIS classifies the establishment as Very Small, and its reported slaughter volume falls in the lowest category, under 1,000 head per year.

Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales, which covers direct sales to household buyers at the establishment.

The website on file is a Facebook page, and no usable website text was available for this record. Third-party directory listings repeat the address and phone number but add no verified detail. Details beyond the federal record, including hours, pricing, booking lead times, cut and wrap options, and product lists, are not yet on file. Buyers and producers should call (270) 384-4024 to confirm current services.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • USDA-inspected meat slaughter
  • USDA-inspected meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animals owned by the customer
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssowslambs

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports both USDA-inspected slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, so a producer may be able to have animals harvested either under inspection for resale or on a custom basis with packages marked Not for Sale. Species reported to FSIS are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. FSIS lists the operation as Very Small with slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year, so capacity is limited relative to larger plants. Booking procedures, scheduling lead times, minimums, hanging weight or per-head fees, and cut and wrap details are not stated in the sources on file. Producers should call to confirm availability, as listed.

Hometown Butcher reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which generally indicates meat sold directly to household customers at the establishment. The sources on file do not state whether a retail counter is staffed, what cuts or bundles are offered, or whether halves and quarters, delivery, shipping, or online ordering are available. Households should contact the plant at (270) 384-4024 for current offerings.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Hometown Butcher

What animals does Hometown Butcher slaughter?
The species reported to FSIS are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. Poultry is not listed among reported slaughter species, though the establishment holds both meat and poultry establishment numbers, M9112 and P9112.
Can I bring my own animal for processing?
The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Scheduling, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources on file. Call (270) 384-4024 to confirm.
Can I buy meat directly from the plant?
The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which typically covers direct sales to households. The sources do not state retail hours, product selection, or whether shipping or delivery is offered.
What are the hours?
Hours are not stated in any source on file. Third-party directory listings reference opening hours but do not provide verified values in the material available.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
August 10, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Columbia